Customer Reviews for

Reckless Abandon (Stone Barrington Series #10)

Average Rating 3
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend you read this one

Its a very good read. Stone Barrington and Holly Barker are a matched pair. Always getting out of trouble helping each other.

posted by dcalNC on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So, so

I've been reading Stuart Woods (Stone Barington) in the order written, which by the way, I recommend. Generally they are fun and easy to read, as well as, entertaining. Reckless Abandon was one of Woods' weaker books in the series. Most Stuart Woods books tend to end...
I've been reading Stuart Woods (Stone Barington) in the order written, which by the way, I recommend. Generally they are fun and easy to read, as well as, entertaining. Reckless Abandon was one of Woods' weaker books in the series. Most Stuart Woods books tend to end abruptly, as if he stops when he gets to the 225-250 page limit. I have become used to this but, with some books, I was hoping for more. I was somewhat thankful, however, when the end had come for this one. Reckless Abandon is OK, but certainly not what I expect from Woods. It's so so.

posted by Big_byrd on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So, so

    I've been reading Stuart Woods (Stone Barington) in the order written, which by the way, I recommend. Generally they are fun and easy to read, as well as, entertaining. Reckless Abandon was one of Woods' weaker books in the series. Most Stuart Woods books tend to end abruptly, as if he stops when he gets to the 225-250 page limit. I have become used to this but, with some books, I was hoping for more. I was somewhat thankful, however, when the end had come for this one. Reckless Abandon is OK, but certainly not what I expect from Woods. It's so so.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Highly recommend you read this one

    Its a very good read. Stone Barrington and Holly Barker are a matched pair. Always getting out of trouble helping each other.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    To people looking for Streakfeather

    Add three.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Quite Boring

    I have been reading all of the Barrington series in the order they were written and when I was reading this book, I began to wonder if this is the kind of material I will be reading in the future, should I quit while I am ahead. This was by far the worst book I had read in this series. Holly seemed to be dragging Stone by the nose (or whatever) during the whole book in the endless, humdrum search for one man. I would not recommend this book to anyone. I have to say, it is a good thing I went ahead and read the next book because it was back to the Barrington we all know and love.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste Your Time with This!

    I have to admit I did not finish reading this book. But after getting about halfway through it, I thought, "what's the point?" It is basically "talking heads"...and not much action...except for those verbalized by the characters. The main character, Stone, is self=absorbed and not all that appealing. Holly, for a woman heading up a police department, comes off like a teeny-bopper in her dealings with Stone especially. This was a real disappointment. And I still have not figured out why the character, Dino, was needed for.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Egl.trwyb


    O sl
    Dgcbc

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs up for another good Stone Barrington read

    Nice combo of Stone Barrington and Holly Barker

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely not my favorite of Woods

    I'm a fan of Stuart Woods Stone Barrington series - albeit as far fetched as sometimes they seem to be. But this one hammered the search for Trini way too much. I like the Barrington series because they are a good escape - not too heavy in the drama area, but this one could have used a lot more drama and less of Holly & Stone getting personal...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    great book

    this book was a grat book to read. It was hard to put down. the fastest i have ever read a book of that length.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Disappointing - at best

    I've read nearly all of Stuart Woods' books, including the Holly Barker series, but this one was very disappointing. I enjoy both characters, Stone Barrington and Holly, but they don't work together. Did flying to NY change Holly's intelligence and personality? She came across as unprofessional and unintelligent. Go back to Florida, Holly, and take care of business there! Evidently NYC has a debilitating effect on you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    A disappointing effort...

    I'm not sure what Stuart Woods was trying to accomplish by writing this book. Was he under contractual obligations and just rushed something out to meet a deadline? I've been a fan of the Barrington and Barker series', and while neither have been groundbreaking stories, they were always fun to read. This is just excruciatingly horrible. In fact, I couldn't even force myself to finish the book, a rarity for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Readable, but barely...

    I have read everything the author has ever published, but this one will probably be my last. Holly Barker WAS a likeable character. Too bad she left Orchid Beach. Upon arrival in the Big Apple, Holly seemed more like someone from Sex in the City, than a cop. Stone has also lost much of his appeal, and become a boring, nouveau riche, snob. Enough about hanging out at Elaines'! He refers to a FBO (which I believe is a 'fixed base operation')...I wonder how many of Wood's readers who are not pilots or owners of private planes, knew what he was talking about. By the middle of the book, I really didnt care what happened to any of the characters. I just wanted them all to be doomed to flying commercial and eating fast food for the rest of their unbelievable careers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Simply supeerb

    When Holly Barker, Chief of the Orchid Beach Police in Florida travels to New York to apprehend a fugitive, she contacts Stone Barrington who invites her to stay at his home. They met when Stone witnessed a bank robbery in which Holly¿s fiancé was killed. Trini Rodriguez, who is part of the Mafia, is wanted in the murder of over a dozen people after he bombed a church. Holly couldn¿t keep him behind bars because Trini was a very important informant who the FBI put in the Witness Protection Program.............................. Holly hopes to find him in New York City and arrest him on a fugitive warrant but the FBI wants her to hold off on serving it until Trini¿s infiltrates an Arab terrorist cell so the government can arrest them on information the thugs delivers. After the cell is broken up the FBI spirit Trini away with Stone and Holly trailing them all over the country to hand down the warrant. While perusing Trini and company, Holly and Stone begin a hot and steamy affair that gets her mind off of her obsessive need to find her criminal............................ In RECKLESS ABANDON, the FBI comes across as bumbling idiots who can¿t shake a tail or keep their informant hidden. The fact that they are willing to protect him after he killedg over a dozen innocents will enrage readers as much as it does Holly. The teaming up of the protagonists from Stuart Woods¿ two series works so well together, it is to be hoped that they will pair up in future novels.................. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reckless Abandon - Not My Favorite Stuart Woods Book For a more

    Reckless Abandon - Not My Favorite Stuart Woods Book

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!




    Goodreads lists this book as book #4 in the Holly Barker series, however, it is mainly listed as Book #10 in the Stone Barrington series. As I was preparing this review, I found that if you look on the Stuart Woods website, he only has this book listed under the Stone Barrington series, and not at all under the Holly Barker series, which really makes sense given that the whole time I was listening to this book, I kept telling myself, man this book is more about Stone than Holly, and getting agitated with that fact.




    I found myself not really liking this story. Now I've never read any of the Stone Barrington books, so maybe if I had a little more background of him, I may have enjoyed it a little more, but I haven't, so I didn't. Even though I didn't care for Reckless Abandon, it won't stop me from finishing the Holly Barker series. It appears that the last two books in the series are back to Holly, and she is a character that I have really come to like, so I'm glad to hear that!




    Previous Holly Barker books have had two narrators, a male and a female, but Reckless Abandon did not. I did not care for that at all! I believe that book 1's narrator was a single female, and she did fine, but having a single narrator as a male, in a female series book, just didn't work out well, in my opinion. It wasn't that Tony Roberts was a bad narrator, because he wasn't, but I didn't feel that he tried at all to distinguish between the characters, especially the different gendered characters. I was disappointed with this audio version.




    The plot was different from which I am used to reading, so it was nice to have the uniqueness, however, I feel like the story drug on quite a bit. I almost think that this could have been a novella and still equally entertaining. There just didn't seem to be much to work with. There were also other sub plots going on that took the lime light away from the main plot at hand, finding Holly's fugitive from justice. I just didn't feel like that particular part of the story developed very well!




    Overall, I really didn't care for this nearly as much as I have the past three Holly Barker books, but I do look forward to book 5, Iron Orchid, and hope that it focuses more on Holly! I don't typically read male author's, and I feel that the plots and characters always have a more masculine feel to them, but change is good and I have come to appreciate the writing of Stuart Woods. I believe that Reckless Abandon could have solely been a Stone Barrington series book, so I look forward to getting back to more Holly Barker soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3