Customer Reviews for

The Reckoning (Darkest Powers Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1078 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(802)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!!!! NEED I SAY MORE!!!!! :)

This is the third book in the Darkest Powers series. It's an awesome book filled with action, adventure, and a lil romance. I'm not gonna lie though, I was a lil disappointed with the end, I think Tori should have gotten to know the big secret about her life,(you'll fin...
This is the third book in the Darkest Powers series. It's an awesome book filled with action, adventure, and a lil romance. I'm not gonna lie though, I was a lil disappointed with the end, I think Tori should have gotten to know the big secret about her life,(you'll find out what I'm talking about if you read the book) and we should have gotten to see that in this series.Also the cover didn't really fit the book too much, in this whole book her hair was dyed and not it's natural color strawberry blond like in the other books, I think they should have shown that, I'm too paticular with deatils like that LOL! Of course the rest of the book and the whole series at that is just plain awesome, there's no other word that can describe it so well to me. It's AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!!!!! You can probably see how much I like this whole series by now.Genetically altered Chloe the necromancer, Derek the werewolf, Tori the witch, and Simon the sorcerer are finally away and out of the clutches of the Edison Group. Now safe and sound, or so they think, they start to get suspicious and get answers to questions they seek. Derek completes the change into a werewolf, Chloe is being bothered by a pesky poltergeist and realizes she has feelings for Derek, and all the while the people they trusted to help them are showing their true intentions. Things start to go terribly wrong and people start to die.

posted by lilmudduckmuffineater on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

this books really isnt that good . . . . ..

this book doesnt really give that much of an ending to the series. I mean, what happens next? I wish i knew what happened to everyone because wat happens toward the end kinda hints that theres another book, but there isnt

posted by copengie4 on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1084 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!!!!! NEED I SAY MORE!!!!! :)

    This is the third book in the Darkest Powers series. It's an awesome book filled with action, adventure, and a lil romance. I'm not gonna lie though, I was a lil disappointed with the end, I think Tori should have gotten to know the big secret about her life,(you'll find out what I'm talking about if you read the book) and we should have gotten to see that in this series.Also the cover didn't really fit the book too much, in this whole book her hair was dyed and not it's natural color strawberry blond like in the other books, I think they should have shown that, I'm too paticular with deatils like that LOL! Of course the rest of the book and the whole series at that is just plain awesome, there's no other word that can describe it so well to me. It's AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!!!!! You can probably see how much I like this whole series by now.Genetically altered Chloe the necromancer, Derek the werewolf, Tori the witch, and Simon the sorcerer are finally away and out of the clutches of the Edison Group. Now safe and sound, or so they think, they start to get suspicious and get answers to questions they seek. Derek completes the change into a werewolf, Chloe is being bothered by a pesky poltergeist and realizes she has feelings for Derek, and all the while the people they trusted to help them are showing their true intentions. Things start to go terribly wrong and people start to die.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read series!

    The Summoning and the Awakening were incredible! I could NOT put them down.I cannot wait for the next one,The Reckoning to come out. I must have it! Kelley Armstrong is an amazing writer and I recommend reading this series :) I soo think that Derek and Chloe should be together. Their a perfect match!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!

    I loved this book. It was sooooo good. This whole series was great and this was, in my opinion, the best one. I can't believe she ended up with Derek. Wow! I mean if someone told me that she would be with him while I was reading the first book I would have laughed. It was so entertaining and I can't wait until 'the gathering' comes out. This was truly a remarkable series. I absolutely recommend it along with the rest of the series!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this books really isnt that good . . . . ..

    this book doesnt really give that much of an ending to the series. I mean, what happens next? I wish i knew what happened to everyone because wat happens toward the end kinda hints that theres another book, but there isnt

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Obviously, this was great. I was slightly disappointed with the fact that some very minor things were left unexplained. But overall, this book was the best of the series. It was kind of sad at some times, though. But still. Amazing book. This was definitely the best of the trilogy. ;D

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This is one of my favourite Kelley Armstrong's books. The story is fantastic. The characters well developed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    I love this whole seires but this one so far is my fav. Im sad that is the last one in the seires. i wish there were more because some of the issues were not solved.:(. me and my friend made up a team called TEAM DEREK because we think he is just so awsome!! thumb up if u r a team derek person

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I <3 Derek

    Omg Omg Omg I love this trilogy I so know that Chloe is going to end up with Derek I mean Simon is cool to but still its DEREK he is the Best. O so yes Kelley Armstrong writes older books I have not read them because im only a teenager but, I have read over 78 series of books im a freak I know, but this series has a lot of suspense rather than romance but the romance is super mind blowing when it comes which is what is best about this book YOU MUST READ IT!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Anybody else think there should be another book? Click 'yes' if you do.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Blown Away!

    I'm not sure if I can find the words to describe how I felt about this book, but I'm going to try anyway. From the moment I picked it up, I was hooked once again. My love for the series intensified by the time I got halfway through the novel. The nail-biting suspense was next to non-stop, and the budding romance had me squealing with delight at the end. I had tears in my eyes at parts, and at others I was so mad at the characters I wish I could have hit them. The fact that Kelley Armstrong can invoke so many emotions in me within one novel says a lot about her writing style. She is a breath of fresh air in the young adult world, where the standards of writing have been lowered since the publishing of that-book-that-shall-not-be-named that has teenagers going gaga. She develops her characters nicely and the plot moves along at a fast but enjoyable pace. This series is up at the top of my list with Harry Potter and A Great and Terrible Beauty, and I'm looking forward to the next book Armstrong decides to write. :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    Awsome series

    i love this series. I haven't exactly read this one because it hasn't come out yet, but i will get it asap when it does. Anyway, people, you should read it if you like a good mystery and adventure. It kept me begging for more after I finished the second one. I wouldn't read the second one first though. It wasn't as good not knowing what it was about without reading the first. It's just not as good to me. Well, that's about it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good Story

    I found this series by accident and found that I really love the characters and the story line. I bought all the books so that I can keep rereading them on a rainy day.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Summoning Series

    This series makes you keep guessing whats happening next. The story setting is in New York with stuff in there that could really happen other than all of the supernatural things. I love them and I recomened the series for anyone who loves an adventure.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I love this series!

    Dont read this unles you have already read the book.there is some spoilers...
    This is such a good series. Except i dont like how it ended with them on the run but not hunted by the St. Clouds, yet. Kelley Armstrong should make a joint series or more mini novels with all of the same characters where the St. Clouds finally found them. Still, it is a really awesome series.
    -The Girl With The Glasses

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Luv this!!!!!

    Okay just take my and evryone elses word for it and read it mmkay? Ya know actually im gonna go read it agan rite now cuz its that awesome. So seriously. I wish they let us rate more than five stars. And that new supernatual ka series is gonna bring thse characters back into the mix so b on the lookout for that too like at the last book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    My opinion on the first ten chapters

    ok, i love the Darkest Power Series, i like the Reckoning the most so far, it scared me on one part -which im sure i will have nightmares about. im not that good at describing without telling about what happens but all i can say is that I LOVE The Reckoning!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    The Reckoning

    As the Darkest Powers series comes to a close Chloe and her friends must find out what secrets their society of supernaturals, specifically the Edison Group, is hiding. Chloe and her friends have had one heck of a week, after running from Lyle House and then the Edison Group they have finally found a place where they are safe. At least for now. As Chloe, a ghost seer or necromancer will exceptional powers, starts to uncover the secrets of the house they are staying in and the people they are beginning to trust. The group, Simon, Damon, and Tori, must decide who is telling the truth, while dealing with the uncertainties of their accelerated powers. Friendships and loyalties are tested as traitors are revealed. Ultimately, Chloe and the rest must find a way to overcome their differences and figure out the story behind all the secrets.

    The Good: The Reckoning is an exciting, action-packed conclusion to a series I have enjoyed immensely. Chloe is an ambitious, stubborn, witty character that makes this story come to life. Damon, on the other hand, is loud and overbearing, but is always trying to put others first. Both of their inner struggles develop them into dynamic, relatable characters that are a joy to read. This story continues to unravel and then form new secrets and twists that keep you turning the pages. And though the first two novels had little romance this one does. And let me just say it's intense. Romantics will not be disappointed. The end of the story is wrapped up very nicely leaving no loose ends unanswered, which most people enjoy at the end of the series. Overall this novel has good flow and style with adventurous characters and enough twists to keep our minds guessing.

    The Bad: This novel was very hard to find something negative about it. I found a certain decisions made by the characters unrealistic, even for a paranormal novel. But this novel was my favorite of the trilogy and was an interesting, suspenseful read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Edge of your seat ending

    She really pulls this book together at with the last of a series. The action adventure and unexpected romance were really well laid out.

    Highly recommend this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reckoning

    Chloe Saunders used to be a normal girl-that is, until she saw her first ghost. Then she was sent to the Edison Group, a house for people with "special problems." And it turns out that the kids at the house really do have special problems; they not only are super naturals, but they have also been genetically altered by the Edison Group. Now the child-like necromancer Chloe (who is learning to NOT be so child-like), the irritable but extremely powerful witch Tori, the over-protective werewolf Derek, and the amiable sorcerer Simon have finally reached a safe house. But is the safe house really safe?
    This group has a lot of problems going on. Chloe is trying to grow up, which is hard when she is constantly assaulted by ghosts, some of who don't have very good intentions for her. Tori is definitely the least-trusted and most-difficult of the group, but she can be reassuring at times too. Derek is growing ever closer to his big change, but everyone still wonders if he will really make the full change to wolf. Chloe and Derek come head to head often, and she even starts to think about what people say. Are werewolves and humans too different to be close? And what will this mean if she has to make a choice between the two boys? Will she choose Simon, the perfect boyfriend, or his best friend Derek, who never makes things easy but nevertheless makes Chloe's pulse race every time she sees him?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the Darkest Powers Series!

    I am not a teen but love Kelley Armstrong and have read her Otherworld series. I picked this first book to the Darkest Power series and was hooked. Kelley Armstrong is a terrific writer and she captures your mind and takes it to a different world. I would suggest this book to anyone, even those who aren't teenagers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1084 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55