Customer Reviews for

The Reckoning (Darkest Powers Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1081 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(802)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!!!! NEED I SAY MORE!!!!! :)

This is the third book in the Darkest Powers series. It's an awesome book filled with action, adventure, and a lil romance. I'm not gonna lie though, I was a lil disappointed with the end, I think Tori should have gotten to know the big secret about her life,(you'll fin...
This is the third book in the Darkest Powers series. It's an awesome book filled with action, adventure, and a lil romance. I'm not gonna lie though, I was a lil disappointed with the end, I think Tori should have gotten to know the big secret about her life,(you'll find out what I'm talking about if you read the book) and we should have gotten to see that in this series.Also the cover didn't really fit the book too much, in this whole book her hair was dyed and not it's natural color strawberry blond like in the other books, I think they should have shown that, I'm too paticular with deatils like that LOL! Of course the rest of the book and the whole series at that is just plain awesome, there's no other word that can describe it so well to me. It's AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!!!!! You can probably see how much I like this whole series by now.Genetically altered Chloe the necromancer, Derek the werewolf, Tori the witch, and Simon the sorcerer are finally away and out of the clutches of the Edison Group. Now safe and sound, or so they think, they start to get suspicious and get answers to questions they seek. Derek completes the change into a werewolf, Chloe is being bothered by a pesky poltergeist and realizes she has feelings for Derek, and all the while the people they trusted to help them are showing their true intentions. Things start to go terribly wrong and people start to die.

posted by lilmudduckmuffineater on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

this books really isnt that good . . . . ..

this book doesnt really give that much of an ending to the series. I mean, what happens next? I wish i knew what happened to everyone because wat happens toward the end kinda hints that theres another book, but there isnt

posted by copengie4 on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nooo! I'm not ready for it to end! Just when things started to g

    Nooo! I'm not ready for it to end! Just when things started to get interesting between Chloe and Derek too. Hrrrmpphhhh (disgruntled noise)

    Again, Armstrong picks up right where book number two left off... literally the same night. Since it's the third book in the trilogy and I don't want to really give anything away by recapping what happens in this book. What I can say is that they are still getting chased by the Edison group and Chloe is still learning to control her powers. The only thing that changes is pretty much the setting and new characters are introduced. Oh and we finally get to see what happens when Derek's change is complete.

    I said this before and I will say it again, I was a Derek girl from the start. I don't know why but I was. I always was the type to root for the underdog. So I was really happy that in The Awakening the two of them started to get closer and even more so in this book. Although you can see that Derek is trying really hard to fight his feelings for Chloe since after all, his brother Simon is smitten with her. However, you can tell he notices the change in Chloe and how she is acting different around him and I think that makes him even more confused.

    I liked the addition of the extra characters. I thought they added a nice bonus to the story and I wonder if we will ever get a glimpse into the pack from Syracuse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Great Ending to the Trilogy

    Book 3 is as quick to read as the others in the trilogy. Armstrong has a way with pacing her stories so that there is always something happening, leaving the reader barely anytime to take a breath. (How great would these books translate to film?!?!) There is no lack of substance to the characters and we get to see all of the kids evolve even further as they are thrown through loop after loop. While this is a trilogy, the story of the kids is far from over and Armstrong could continue this tale on for many more books if she so desired. (And I would read them!)

    These are books that I want my son to read as well. There isn't much that's inappropriate for the younger of the young adult readers. And our lead characters are all strong and stand up for what you believe in and what is right types, which is great to see, especially when the lead female isn't standing around waiting for everyone else to do the heavy lifting. I will certainly be seeking out other writings by Armstrong.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Series!

    If you like supernatural stories you will like this series. Teenagers with supernatural powers and the way these things are covered up, the twists and turns as they find out the truth of who and what they are... finding love beyond looks and seeing the real person inside when others only see the danger. Good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Astounding!

    I just finished reading it in one day. I couldn't put it down. In short Chloe faces boy drama which brother will she choose? Can she save all her loved ones and not loose her mind in the process of being a necromancer. There is non stop action to either being on the run or planning an escape. Chloe, Derik, Simon and Tori find more about them selves and there powers. There is a twist at the end that I will not spoil. I would love for the series to continue since it tied up ends but not all. Great read for all ages and genders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    To the bad comments

    Just because you think kids should not read this because of bad decisions maybe you shouldn't let your kids read it than. Yea by the all kids make either good or bad choices, because of parenting or peer pressure. Not always from books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Good series

    I loved this series of books, the author draws you in from the first page. I loved the way she detailed the characters, I felt as if I was one of their group. The only complant I really have about the series is the way it ended. It was like she got tired of writing it and just ended the book. I wish she would have revisted some of the ghost she was talking too. Good book for action, and romance but if you looking for a nice tight ending then you are at the wrong place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    There's a series, well, trilogy that you hear good or bad things about. For this, I didn't really hear much. But it sounded like my kind of read but I was still a little hesitant, thinking what if t wasn't good and I was just over hyping it for myself. But alas, once I finally got around to reading this series, I was surprised and reminded myself to not pay attention to reviews all the time and read for myself to see whether I liked it or not. But it still, reviews on said book can be helpful and give you an idea on the book is like too. 4.5 for this one. The finale to the Darkest Powers series. And wow was it good. Close to being really really good but good enough. And good it was. And of course yay for some cute cute moments! Even if they kept getting interrupting. It was cute none the less. Also liked the growth of the characters from book 1 to book 3. Derek, Simon, Tori and especially Chloe. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    The best book of all life time.

    This book is the best book that anyone could pick. I can say anyone could read this book if they want to. The way how chloe and her friends had to really stick together even in the end. Plus how chloe had to pick the guy she wanted. When she picked the guy she was happy with her decision and she stuck with it. I am so glad i picked this book because anyone would love to read this book. I wish there was more to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I really, really loved the first two books in Kelley Armstrong's

    I really, really loved the first two books in Kelley Armstrong's Darkest
    Powers series, so I was excited and also a bit sad to come to the end of
    the trilogy. It took me a little bit just to get into the book because
    I wanted to make it last as long as possible. When I came to the end of
    the novel, I was sad but also very pleased with how it all ended.
    Reasons to Read: 1.Chloe's acceptance of her powers: Throughout the
    whole Darkest powers series, Chloe has been very apprehensive about her
    newfound power. She refuses to use it(not even for practice), so she is
    basically left defenseless, acting as the damsel in distress. By the
    time the third book rolls around, she is still scared about using it,
    but she comes to an acceptance of it. She finally comes to realize that
    it's okay for her to use her power. The change is gradual, but I really
    liked seeing just how much Chloe has come along from the first book.
    2.A twist! A twist!: I really think that Kelley Armstrong writes
    twists well. While they are not the most unique plot twists there are,
    I do fnd myself genuinely surprised when I come across them. There have
    been plot twists in the previous two novels, but I really liked the ones
    in this particular book. I thought that they made a lot of sense to the
    plot, and they added to the overall story very nicely. There aren't too
    many turns, so you don't become tired of them easily. There are enough,
    though, to keep a strong interest in the book. 3.The Open Ending:
    This book has one of those endings that you will either love or hate. I
    just happened to love it. Many of the loose ends are tied up at the
    end, but there are still a lot of questions that are left unanswered. I
    liked that the ending is left so open. We get to imagine where the
    characters go next, and how their lives turn out ourselves. Although I
    usually dislike this kind of ending, everything that I was hoping would
    happen, happened. So I was happy with that. It also left a space for
    another novel if the author did decide to write another book-even though
    this is only supposed to be a trilogy. Again, a couple of times Chloe
    did get a little bit annoying because of her refusing to use her powers,
    so she was basically useless. I was really glad that she did evolve a
    bit so she was not half as useless by the end of the novel.I think that
    fans of the Darkest Powers trilogy will really enjoy this novel. If you
    haven't read the Darkest Powers, I highly reccomend you do so. I'm sad
    that this trilogy is over, but I'm really glad that I finally gave in
    and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Love it!.......

    Im only giving four stars cause i loved the series but i think that you could have had one of the kids get caught like Chloe but you didnt so im bummed by that,plus you could have twisted everything up and had Derek and Chloe both captured then you would have had a another popular-selling book .but otherwise i thought it was great.Excellent, Creative Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Series

    My name is Chloe Saunders. I'm fifteen, and I would love to be normal. But normal is one thing I'm not. For one thing, I'm having these feelings for a certain antisocial werewolf and his sweet-tempered brother—who just happens to be a sorcerer—but, between you and me, I'm leaning toward the werewolf. Not normal. My friends and I are also on the run from an evil corporation that wants to get rid of us—permanently. Definitely not normal. And finally, I'm a genetically altered necro-mancer who can raise the dead, rotting corpses and all, without even trying.As far away from normal as it gets.

    Still on the run from the Edison Group, Chloe and the gang try to figure out the next move in their chaotic escape for a life that offers some protection from harm. Having figured out that they themselves were cruel experiments; they turn to the only safe place they have left - a friend of Simon & Derek's dad, Andrew . Having the chance to stop running, rest, and practice their frightfully emerging powers, Chloe (necromancer) and her friends Simon (sorcerer), Derek (werewolf), and Tori (witch) along with help from Liz (poltergeist) finally decide to fight for their right to live freely in the future.

    I read the first two books of this series quite quickly, so when this one came out, I dove right in as well. Even up until the end of the book, I had no idea this was a trilogy and sadly I wanted more at the last page. We were just getting to see the 'sun come out of the clouds' for these kids and finally Derek & Chloe were admitting their true feelings and more. The story moves pretty quickly, so you'll get caught up in the book from the beginning. I enjoyed the whole series and Armstrong's writing really helps the reader feel trapped or alone in the world when the gang gets stuck in tricky/deadly situations. Plus, she creates that perfect spook factor, which I just adore! Even though I'd love to read more about these guys, I'm satisfied how the Darkest Power's Trilogy ended. Overall, I'm still a fan of Kelley Armstrong (ever since I first feel in love with her writing through "Bitten") and will remain so.

    Likes: Derek & Chloe's growing romance and Derek's growth into his werewolf self.

    Dislikes: Still not a big fan of Tori, I had hoped she would change a little bit more throughout the series, but o'well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Enjoyable series

    I really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    GREAT SERIES!

    Despite all the hang ups, this was a fun journey. I love the sense of continuation, we are gifted with a great adventure and left with a taste that it still goes on but they will be okay throughout it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Highly Recommende

    I have read the entire series and hope it continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reckoning the end of the DP series!!!!

    The Reckoning is the culmination of the Edison Project subjects Chloe and her friends on the run journey.They finally find a safe house but is that place truly safe? Chloe still has problems with summoning ghost and that haunts her heavily. Her feelings grow for Simon,the charming sorcerer and Derek,the brooding werewolf.I totally approve of who she was with in the end-don't worry i won't spoil the ending for any reader of this review! She really got close to this guy because she shared his frightening and new experience that's a hint right there! As always The Reckoning is nothing short of intrigue much like of it's predecessors, The Summoning and The Awakening.There's more running and battles,more betrayal and deception and just everything you expect form a DP novel really. I enjoyed Reckoning for the increase,however small, in romance,it's about time Chloe and ...... moved from friends to that! I was waiting for that and it came up, well, really the perception of it came up in book 2 Awakening.The ending was a good closing to the series but we may see Chloe and her friends in Kelley's next series Darkness Rising,they may make cameos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great conclusion but leaves room for more

    ***possible spoilers***

    This was a fantastic conclusion to the series and I wouldn't know how to end it as good as this. I am glad some of the loose ends have been tied up, however there are still some that are left open. I wonder if there's going to be more to this (I hope!)

    The pace is slower than usual, but in return you get great character development Each of these characters had their own issues, and although the bickering still continues, each of them have grown up and matured. What I enjoyed reading was more into Chloe's gift as a necromancer. There is a lot more to her 'gift' and that provided some good interesting reading. What was also interesting was Tori. Although still snarky at times, she's kept that in check and even manages to help and defend Chloe when needed. I thought she grew up and matured the most. I started liking her a lot more as the trilogy unfolded, at first I used to hate her a lot, now she ended up being much more agreeable and likable.

    I was so happy with Chloe and Derek! I loved them both together. There was a sense of togetherness and they compliment each other so well. I loved how Chloe was so supportive of Derek and his 'condition', and Derek would protect Chloe by any means possible. I think they made a great couple!

    The story overall was good despite having some loose ends open and close. The writing was still excellent and there were still moments where you had the heebie jeebies. There were quite a few extreme tense moments (especially when you find out who's on who's side) and this was great to read, but what I enjoyed the most were the moments with Chloe and Derek. I really loved reading about them together. It was nice seeing these characters develop and grow as the story went along. The ending was really good with a few revelations revealed. Some might say it's not really an ending as it leaves things to be settled.

    I still say this was a great ending to this trilogy and I want to know if there's going to be more to it. Tori has become such a fascinating character all of a sudden that I wish there's going to be more on these great characters and how they're going to manage living on. It's a great series and not one to be missed! I absolutely recommend this for YA Paranomal readers out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    ?

    Is this the last book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Love it!

    It was a good book. I hate how derek and chole fall in love, that is why i gave it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    AWSOME Sereis.

    I Decided to give 4 out of 5 because there was a huuuggge lack of romance. I kept reading hoping for more. Also the auther is not very bright, making a 4th book and not including the same characters...... LAME! I dont care if it has the same concept it was a stupid idea. ANYWAYS overall I would say they were a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10