Customer Reviews for

The Reckoning

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I read all three of the books. The Reckoning was by far the most

    I read all three of the books. The Reckoning was by far the most moving of the trilogy. I really appreciate all of the historical detail that Penman includes throughout the book. I feel , at the end of reading any of her stories, that I have learned so much and thoroughly enjoyed a story. The novels are based primarily on true historical events. It is amazing things that happened once upon a time in the world. But Penman can tell the story beautifully. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Wow..compelling...a must read

    Amazing conclusion go the Welch princes trilogy. I so loved Llewelyn and Ellen... their story was do tragic...their time together too short. I so wanted a happy ending but it was not to be... at times I wanted to kill Davydd with my bare hands..This series is a must read if you like historical romance. It will not dissapoint.. just be prepared to cry as much as you laugh...enjoy the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Another awesome read!

    Llewyellen, the grandson, and his adventrues resisting English domination of his homeland. The story is very interesting and captivating with family friction to rival the greatest Shakesperian drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reckoning -- A Powerful Finish to Penman's Welsh Princes Series!

    I easily gave Penman's 3rd book in the Welsh Princes Series five stars. The first 2 books in the series captivated me and introduced 16th and 17th century Wales to my historical fiction library in a romantic yet dramatic way. When starting the 3rd book, I was a little skeptical that the new characters being introduced (Ellen de Montfort and Caitlyn) would catch my interest as much as Joanna, Llewelyn Fawr, or Simon de Montfort--these new characters definitely were easy to relate to and made the book fly by.

    After the last page, I was relieved to find out how some of the characters met their fates, both good and bad. I only wish there could be a 4th or 5th book to the series to see the continuous fate of Wales.

    I would recommend the entire Welsh Prince Series, as well as any historical fiction book that Sharon Kay Penman has written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Penman is the best...

    Someone's previous review said "gripping"....that's just one word to describe this entire trilogy. I simply did not want it to end. Penman gives each of the historical people in her novels such character - brings them to life. Reading the Eleanor of Acquataine trilogy and the Welsh princes' triology gave me such a better understanding of the people and events during that time. I strongly recommend both trilogies....Penman has an excellent writing style that places you at every seige, betrayal, battle and bedchamber - I would re-read all of these books in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    The best of the Welsh Trilogy

    Here Be Dragons was good. Llewelyn was a good hero. Falls the Shadow was even better. Simon de Montfort is an exciting character, a man of action, intelligent and honorable. I'm 160 pages into The Reckoning, and I can honestly say that it is the best of the series. Right now Ellen, Simon's daughter, has just been taken prisoner on the high seas of the coast of Cornwall by pirates commissioned by the newly crowned king Edward. Wow, so much has happened, so much action, tragedy, joy, betrayal! This is the best book of a remarkable series. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Gripping

    Penman's "The Reckoning" has got to be one of the most thrilling historical novels I have ever read. The last of her trilogy (1st two: Here Be Dragons, Falls the Shadows), this is the final conclusion and tells with such mastery the aftermath of such an enduring age. There were times where I was absolutely beside myself with laughter, and other times that I could not stop crying, so real were the tragic characters portrayed that my heart broke for the real historical people who's lives were so dramatically touched. Anyone who reads The Reckoning will not help being drawn into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    not the average cut throats

    When i picked up this book i thought that it would be another dry history but i really got into the whole scene and the charachters loyalty, i.e. Hugh to the de Montforts, and how some of the characters seem to overcome the people who hold them back. I ended up getting attached to a some of the characters(Ellen, Caitlin) which rarely ever happens when i am reading. This book keeps the history real and makes you feel as if you are involved in their lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2