Customer Reviews for

Reclaiming Lily

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

very good

having an adopted daughter named Lily I was interested in the book...thought she is not from China. This was a very interesting book...enjoyed the emphasis on telling kids the truth all along...and learned a lot about China and their culture. Very enjoyable

posted by 9625894 on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reclaiming Lily

I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first half of 'Reclaiming Lily' covered just one day and was very slow moving. It would alternate between the present day and the stories that Kai would tell about her life in China. However, about two-thirds into the...
I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first half of 'Reclaiming Lily' covered just one day and was very slow moving. It would alternate between the present day and the stories that Kai would tell about her life in China. However, about two-thirds into the book the story really got interesting, and I found myself rushing to reach the conclusion. The last twenty or so pages were especially moving, although abit abrupt, and left me guessing until the very end - literally until the last paragraph!

The story of Kai's life in China was so vividly written. I have heard of China's one child policy, but this story drives home how difficult that policy really is. Kai's mother had three daughters before the policy was put in place, but shortly after it goes into effect she finds herself pregnant again. Fearing what the government might do, her husband demands that she get an abortion, but she refuses to kill her child. Knowing that she can't keep her baby, she makes the heart breaking decision to leave her baby (Lily) at an orphanage (because a healthy child that was left at an orphanage would be taken care of), with the hopes of one day reclaiming her. But it would not go as planned.

When Lily was ten years old Pastor Andrew and Gloria Powell, an American couple, adopted her, changed her name to Joy and brought her home to Texas. Kai was there when they took her from the orphanage, watching from a distance horrified that her baby sister was being taken away and helpless to stop it.

The Powells have raised Joy to believe in God, but lately she has been rebeling against them at ever turn. Joy turns against a God that she at one time claimed to believe in and not only that but she acts out in so many different ways, that they never know what to expect from her anymore.

When Kai brings the news to them that Joy might have Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), they are wary of Kai at first, but she soons endears herself to them. PKD is an hereditery disease, and Kai and Joy's mother had had it. The only treatment is dialysis or a kidney transplant and Kai wants her tested for it right away.

I didn't like how long it took for me to get into the book and how when it got to the more crucial parts of the story it would jump ahead - sometimes by years. I felt that for a book that has 384 pages, it seemed rushed at the end, like the story was getting to long and so was just quickly finished.

Overall, I found 'Reclaiming Lily' to be an enjoyable book, but not one that I would be quick to recommend and likely won't be a book that I will read again.

*** I received a complimentary copy of this book through Litfuse to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done. ***

posted by -Megan- on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reclaiming Lily

    I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first half of 'Reclaiming Lily' covered just one day and was very slow moving. It would alternate between the present day and the stories that Kai would tell about her life in China. However, about two-thirds into the book the story really got interesting, and I found myself rushing to reach the conclusion. The last twenty or so pages were especially moving, although abit abrupt, and left me guessing until the very end - literally until the last paragraph!

    The story of Kai's life in China was so vividly written. I have heard of China's one child policy, but this story drives home how difficult that policy really is. Kai's mother had three daughters before the policy was put in place, but shortly after it goes into effect she finds herself pregnant again. Fearing what the government might do, her husband demands that she get an abortion, but she refuses to kill her child. Knowing that she can't keep her baby, she makes the heart breaking decision to leave her baby (Lily) at an orphanage (because a healthy child that was left at an orphanage would be taken care of), with the hopes of one day reclaiming her. But it would not go as planned.

    When Lily was ten years old Pastor Andrew and Gloria Powell, an American couple, adopted her, changed her name to Joy and brought her home to Texas. Kai was there when they took her from the orphanage, watching from a distance horrified that her baby sister was being taken away and helpless to stop it.

    The Powells have raised Joy to believe in God, but lately she has been rebeling against them at ever turn. Joy turns against a God that she at one time claimed to believe in and not only that but she acts out in so many different ways, that they never know what to expect from her anymore.

    When Kai brings the news to them that Joy might have Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), they are wary of Kai at first, but she soons endears herself to them. PKD is an hereditery disease, and Kai and Joy's mother had had it. The only treatment is dialysis or a kidney transplant and Kai wants her tested for it right away.

    I didn't like how long it took for me to get into the book and how when it got to the more crucial parts of the story it would jump ahead - sometimes by years. I felt that for a book that has 384 pages, it seemed rushed at the end, like the story was getting to long and so was just quickly finished.

    Overall, I found 'Reclaiming Lily' to be an enjoyable book, but not one that I would be quick to recommend and likely won't be a book that I will read again.

    *** I received a complimentary copy of this book through Litfuse to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done. ***

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Amazing story...but

    Initially didn't like the book...had some confusing parts I thought...but once I pushed passed the hard paragraphs the story unfolded more clearly. I would have liked to have given more stars but there were too many holes that should have been filled in...and the jump to the surprise ending left me on empty. This is a very unique and precious story, but just needed more. Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Slow at first, but glad that I read the book.

    For me this started out slow and I couldn't get into the book, but I was bound to finish it.
    It is a good book. I am glad that I did read the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Darkdream/Lightcloud

    Darkdream flew through the air, a determined look in her eyes. 'You seem eager to get your body back.' Lightcloud noted. Darkdream smiled and nodded. She flew over a sparkling lake, 'Almost there!' Darkdream thought. A few minutes later, Darkdream dropped to the ground and found herself in a beautiful forest. "Wow!" She meowed. Her shadowy wings disappeared and she began padding through the forest. Birds were chirping and the sun was shining through the trees. 'This is beautiful!' Lightcloud said. Darkdream squinted and saw the outline of a large tree, "We're here!" She purred. She ran over to the tree. It was a large oak tree with a hollow opening which appeared to lead to a cave. She smiled and padded into the trunk. Within it was a cave. Darkdream trotted through the long cave untill she found herself at a sparkling pool of water. She leaned down and lapped some of it up. Her eyes closed and she fell asleep. Her eyes opened and she was in a large starry clearing. She was then alarmed to find herself in her own body. She looked to her left and saw Lightcloud with the same alarmed look on her face. They looked at each other and purred. "Greetings Lightcloud and Darkdream." A voice said. A pretty white she-cat appeared. "My name is Moonstar." She meowed. Darkdream's eyes widened, "You are in charge of wishes and guiding cats to StarClan!" Darkdream exclaimed. Moonstar purred and nodded. "Indeed I am." She meowed. "And... you're here to grant us a wish?" Lightcloud meowed. Moonstar nodded, "Yes. Now, what is your wish?" She asked. Darkdream didn't hesitate to answer, "I wish we were back to our original bodies!" She meowed. Moonstar's eyes began to glow, "It shall be done.." She meowed. A flash filled the air and the two jet-black she-cats were at the pool again, in their own bodies. "It worked!" Lightcloud exclaimed. Darkdream nodded and smiled, "Now, lts head back to camp!" She announced. ~Thirty minutes later~ The two she-cats padded along a lake. Suddenly, Darkdream stopped walking. "Are you okay?" Lightcloud asked. Darkdream shook her head, "I smell badger!" She hissed. A looming figure then rose up behind Lightcloud, "Lightcloud, watch out!!" Darkdream yowled. Lightcloud spun around, but it was too late. The badger raised a paw and slashed at Lightcloud's neck. She colapsed to the ground, blood pouring from her neck, "LIGHTCLOUD!!!!" Darkdream shrieked. She unsheathed her long red claws and leaped onto the badger. She was much stronger in her original body, so she took the badger down easily. Darkdream raced over to her fallen companion and picked her up by the scruff. She then summoned her shadowy wings and flew back to camp as fast as she could.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1