Customer Reviews for

Reclaiming Lily

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

very good

having an adopted daughter named Lily I was interested in the book...thought she is not from China. This was a very interesting book...enjoyed the emphasis on telling kids the truth all along...and learned a lot about China and their culture. Very enjoyable

posted by 9625894 on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reclaiming Lily

I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first half of 'Reclaiming Lily' covered just one day and was very slow moving. It would alternate between the present day and the stories that Kai would tell about her life in China. However, about two-thirds into the...
I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first half of 'Reclaiming Lily' covered just one day and was very slow moving. It would alternate between the present day and the stories that Kai would tell about her life in China. However, about two-thirds into the book the story really got interesting, and I found myself rushing to reach the conclusion. The last twenty or so pages were especially moving, although abit abrupt, and left me guessing until the very end - literally until the last paragraph!

The story of Kai's life in China was so vividly written. I have heard of China's one child policy, but this story drives home how difficult that policy really is. Kai's mother had three daughters before the policy was put in place, but shortly after it goes into effect she finds herself pregnant again. Fearing what the government might do, her husband demands that she get an abortion, but she refuses to kill her child. Knowing that she can't keep her baby, she makes the heart breaking decision to leave her baby (Lily) at an orphanage (because a healthy child that was left at an orphanage would be taken care of), with the hopes of one day reclaiming her. But it would not go as planned.

When Lily was ten years old Pastor Andrew and Gloria Powell, an American couple, adopted her, changed her name to Joy and brought her home to Texas. Kai was there when they took her from the orphanage, watching from a distance horrified that her baby sister was being taken away and helpless to stop it.

The Powells have raised Joy to believe in God, but lately she has been rebeling against them at ever turn. Joy turns against a God that she at one time claimed to believe in and not only that but she acts out in so many different ways, that they never know what to expect from her anymore.

When Kai brings the news to them that Joy might have Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), they are wary of Kai at first, but she soons endears herself to them. PKD is an hereditery disease, and Kai and Joy's mother had had it. The only treatment is dialysis or a kidney transplant and Kai wants her tested for it right away.

I didn't like how long it took for me to get into the book and how when it got to the more crucial parts of the story it would jump ahead - sometimes by years. I felt that for a book that has 384 pages, it seemed rushed at the end, like the story was getting to long and so was just quickly finished.

Overall, I found 'Reclaiming Lily' to be an enjoyable book, but not one that I would be quick to recommend and likely won't be a book that I will read again.

*** I received a complimentary copy of this book through Litfuse to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done. ***

posted by -Megan- on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    very good

    having an adopted daughter named Lily I was interested in the book...thought she is not from China. This was a very interesting book...enjoyed the emphasis on telling kids the truth all along...and learned a lot about China and their culture. Very enjoyable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    This is a very touching book. It deals with some of the harder issues of adoption that arise especially from adopting from a foreign country. What have the children been through, what are the health and mental issues the children might have? Are there family members that might come after the kids at a later date and if so what are their purposes- to help the adoptive people or to reclaim family members?
    In Reclaiming Lily the adoptive family are really struggling with their adoptive daughter with health issues as well as with her wondering where she comes from and why she was not wanted. The Pastor and his wife are trying to handle it the best way that they can with pray, understanding and just trying to show the daughter all the love that they can.
    On the other side of the story the sister of the adoptive daughter is trying to find her. She has been looking as she was one of the sister that was left to take care of all the problems that arose with the family being torn apart in China. As the story flows from Lily and her current problems, the sister tells the story as to what happened and what decisions were made before the family adopt "Lily". She shows the hard decisions that her and the other sisters had to make as there world was torn apart at such an early age.
    It is a very good story and shows that very hard life decisions can be made with all good intentions and yet issues can arise. I would recommend this story to people that have adopted as it does show the positive side of things as well as the reality that we all have a history and that history is not always beautiful and easily handled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Serious story, hitting real life and death issues

    Joy - a teenager in rebellion, Gloria - her insecure adoptive mother, and Kia - a mysterious birth sister come together for a emotional story in Reclaiming Lily. The themes of the book revolve around China, adoption, cutting, rebellion, trust, and PKD (polycystic kidney disease). Also, some questions are continually asked/implied, such as, ¿Who is this Christian God and what does He want with me?¿ (as Kia might say).

    To say I ¿enjoyed¿ Reclaiming Lily seems inappropriate. This book is not an ¿easy, feel good¿ read. It is a serious story, hitting serious life and death issues. The book was written well, but did have a rhythm that I had to get use to, like following the story in and out of flashbacks. The characters felt real and full with changes as life happened. God was a big part of the story, but intertwined in their lives, actions, and thoughts, as He should be. Oh, and are you confused who the Lily is that is mentioned in the title, well... read the book! :)

    This was my first book by Patti Lacy, but it will not be the last! I would encourage you to check out this book, Reclaiming Lily.

    Disclosure: I received book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers¿ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This one will tear at your heart

    Gloria and Andrew, residents from Texas, anxious to become first time parents travel to China to adopt a little girl whom they named Joy. As they meet and take their daughter to their awaiting vehicle they are being watched from a distance by a girl on her bicycle named Kai. Years later Kai is insistant on locating Joy whom is her sister Lily to inform her of their families genetic disease history. What Kai finds when she is introduced to their adoptive parents is a cold and unwelcoming mother. Gloria is frightened that Kai will take Joy away from them. Kai confronted the hostility and brought them into her world, one of a tortuous past in China. Joy now a teenager is having trouble fitting in with her peers. Can Gloria listen and follow her heart to trust Kai? Can Kai fulfill a dying mother's wish?

    This novel has excellent dialogue and scenery and is a tear at your heart kind of book. I did not have trouble getting into the storyline but felt that more character development was needed. Going from the history to the present was excellent. The overall message was inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. This is an entertaining novel I will recommend! Thank You to Bethany House Publishers for providing this complimentary copy for me for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You can't put it down.

    I was shocked and ashamed of myself when I realized I must have had my head stuck in the sand to not know how bad things were in China. The author took the blinders off of me and it was not a pretty sight. It broke my heart to read about the things Kai Chang and her family had to endure. The family was force to endure the unimaginable. They were forced to put Lily, the fourth young daughter of the family in an orphanage. Kai promised her family, especially her dying mother, that she would never stop searching for Lily in order to reclaim her for the Chang family.

    Lily Chang, now Joy Powell was adopted by Andrew and Gloria Powell from Fort Worth, Texas. Kai finds Lily and her adoptive parents. Joy has become a rebellious teen, almost uncontrollable for her parents. All of this is so stressful for Lily's parents not knowing why Kai has chosen to come into Joy's life. Then to top it off they all face some bad weather and I mean a tornado barreling down on Fort Worth with one purpose, to destroy.

    I could go on and on about this novel but then you wouldn't have to read book.
    The book was slow going the first couple of chapters but I am glad I stuck with it. Because the words starting flying off the pages and I didn't want to put the book down.

    I definitely recommend this book .

    I rate this book a 4 out of 5.

    Disclosure:
    I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse. This is my honest opinion and was in no way compensated for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1