Customer Reviews for

Recollection

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing KD Lang

    I was shopping in Barnes and Noble and heard a beautiful song and asked who it was. I had a feeling it was KD Lang, but wasn't sure. It was her newest album and it was really great. There are a few songs from other albums , but some new songs as well as some cover songs.
    Her voice is like a breath of fresh air and her style is so unique. I really enjoy driving while listening to her.
    My favorites are: You're OK and The Valley. Wonderful songs to sing along to! I mostly have been listening to CD 1. Oh, did I mention there are two CD's inside? It's a great value for KD Lang fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    k.d. lang and "Hallelujah

    I bought this CD collection after hearing k.d. lang sing "Hallelujah" at the recent Olympics. The original version is on one CD and the new version is on the other. Both are extraordinary. Many of the other songs are also very well done. This is the first k.d. lang CD I've ever purchased and I would recomment it to anyone who enjoys her. If you like the song "Hallelujah", you might want to give this CD a try. Perhaps it will open you up to this artist as it has done for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    K.d. Lang recollections

    I loved this album so much I bought a second one for my sister!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hallelujah

    I had lost touch with K.D.Lang. Then I heard her at the winter Olympix. Wow. It brough many goos memories. So naturally I got her next album. I am very happy with it. Her soulful voice makes everything she sings special. Even songs originally done by other artists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth the Wait!

    The songs are soulful and beautifully done by a beautiful woman with an astounding voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    recollection - New To Me

    I initially purchased this CD for "Hallelujah" after hearing kd perform it at the opening ceremonies of the 2010 Winter Olympics and I'm glad I did. Hallelujah, or the numerous other songs on the jam-packed CD, did not disappoint! This is a departure from the music that I typically listen to (Country) but I enjoyed just about every song on the disc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful to listen to over and over again.

    kd lang has a wonderful, rich voice and this album has captured all that is good about listening to her sing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    k.d.lang's voice is extraordinary

    I missed most of k.d.lang's output the first time around, but was so thrilled by her voice at the Winter Olympics' Opening Ceremony that I had to buy her new Recollection album. It is spectacular, lush, gorgeous. I absolutely love it, like few recordings I have ever heard. She is a singers' singer--the arrangements are beautiful, but it is her vocal quality and control are what it is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Recollect

    k.d. has done it again! Such an emotion filled, soulful singer. Have this cd in my car; plays everytime I'm "on the move". Bring on more of k.d. lang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    k.d.'s Best!

    For k.d.lang fans this album is wonderful. A new Hallelujah
    and such depth and beauty in every piece. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    k.d.lang is awesome!

    k.d.lang takes you away to a soulful place and let you land ever so softly.
    Each song is performed with the utmost attention to the mood and temper of the song she is singing.
    Her range is bar none!
    Keep singing and entertaining us k.d.!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    She's BAAAACK! WOW!

    K.D. Lange is such an exceptional artist that I actually check for new material from her everytime I hit the music racks at B&N. This collection is a great addition. Her unique voice sets her apart as does the passion she pours into her performance! Please don't wait so long, K.D.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific

    Terrific old and new songs by this incredible voice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hallelujah

    How fitting that k.d.lang exquisitely performs Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah twice in this double CD treasure. That's the gist of my review of Recollections.... hallelujah, hallelujah!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I honestly can't stand this album

    Now maybe I'm going crazy listening to this because it plays at work every single day and maybe since we only play Disc 1 I am biased...but I want to pull my hair out every time this cd comes on. K.D. Lang scoops every single note to where she can't actually stay on one note for any period of time before drooping along to another. She's flat...a lot...and uses the scooping to somehow compensate for this. It drives me up the wall. She does this on every song and somehow the songs seem like they all focus on the same grouping of notes to where it sounds like 13 or however many songs that are all the same, scoop-filled awfulness. Her version of "Hallelujah" is horrendous. I did my K.D. Lang impression for some customers the other day and they thought it was pretty amusing so maybe it was fairly accurate. I wish I could remove it from the in-store play. Bah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    K.D. LANG STIRS YOUR SOUL WITH TIMELESS RECOLLECTION!

    As Tony Bennet once said K.D. Lang had a destiny to be named with great artists like Billy Holiday and Hank Williams and this recording could be his proof.
    Along with hits like "Contant Craving" "Summerfling" "Trail of Broken Hearts" and "Crying (w/ Roy Orbison)" her handling of songs by Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Cole Porter and Leonard Cohen is masterful and showcases her limitless range and depth of emotion. She holds her own in duets with Roy Orbison and Tony Bennett while showing her respect for these great artists. It was as entertaining then as it is now.
    The songs on this recording touch the heart and soul of romantics of all ages. The songs are timeless sung by a voice that is immortal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    K. D. Lang

    Ms. Lang has a vocal range that is accomplished and nicely presented in this two set CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    d shonk

    If you have ever loved a k. d. Lang song buy this! So smooth, so great, so musical, so gently to liston to. Makes your remember what you really liked about her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2