Customer Reviews for

Reconstructing Amelia

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat a

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat and keeps you hooked all the way through. An ending you never saw coming and so many twists & turns. Outstanding!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

No "Gone Girl"

THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many...
THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many red herrings were put out there to mislead readers. Totally engrossed while I was reading, but when I reached the end I was let down.

posted by TinyFalsehood on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Scary But Accurate

    This book hits the subject of teenage cruelty head-on. We have all been there, whether recieving or delivering the torture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Jaw dropping

    eBook read 3/5-3/6 4*

    Amelia Baron is dead. The report says "impulsive suicide". But her grieving mother Kate doesn't quite believe that her 15 year old daughter would do such a thing no matter what the circumstances point towards. There has got to be another explaination.

    The layers that Kate peels are sometimes ridiculous, sometime heart breaking, sometimes sad, sometimes angry, but full of the many secrets that people keep. And, only after the fact can she re-construct Amelie.

    This book was discussed by a blogger I read. She had said it was a tough book, and it is not a particularly well written. McCreight struggles with the different voices she writes in. Some become stronger, others go silent. Memories get re- awakened. And, overall, the story feels in spots as if it has too much crammed into it: sexuality, depression, lonliness, adequacy, jealousy and, above all, bullying. However, her uncomfort with the situation leaves us shaking our heads and wondering how we might react in the same way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Not me cup of tea

    I would not recommend it at all to any of my 75 year old friends.
    My mistake in not realizing what the subject matter would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Good fast read

    337 pages. It switches between the point of views between amelia and her mom. It was an ok read, ill probably read again. Didnt find the ending predictable, but i wish i knew the reason for one of the characters writing the gracefully blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    Stupid and unrealistic.

    I don't get the good reviews. It started off good but then it turned ridiculous. Like how everyone started texting Kate on the same day she went back to work. How Kate, a lawyer, didn't know who the father of her daughter was and didn't care to get DNA results of the men she had sex with. How this ridiculously expensive private school allowed the gRaCeFULLY website to make gun of the students attending. How Amelia eould befriend some guy, Ben, that started texting her out of the blue without meeting him in person. The police would never have allowed Kate to interview suspects with the detective.

    In real life, Zadie would never had outed her mother to the police or said the things she said in front of the police and Kate. No one would have contacted Kate in anyway after the suicide of her daughter to bring attention to themselves.

    Carter and his parents would have sued Kate, a grown woman and lawyer, for slapping Carter especially with all those witnesses.

    The story just got so ridiculous I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    Good book

    This book was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    Loved it

    I stayed up all night to finish it. It was shocking the way it ended. It was a jaw dropping suspense roller coaster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    very unusual plot

    I enjoyed this book but it is a little too contrived and dark for my tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Not an enjoyable read.

    Too much of the story was disconnected. I actually skipped over most of the writings by Amelia skipped over the last few paragraphs, too wordy for me. The story line was good but should have been writen differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    Great book!

    Really enjoyed this book. Thought plot was great and the characters well fleshed out. Absolutely recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Anon

    A truely amazing book. Maybe one of the best social mysteries I've ever read. The high school dialogue was spot on, the grief well played but not over done. The intensity builds throughout the story until you can't read fast enough to find out the who, the what and the why of it all. It was so realistic I wonder if the story is true. This book is a keeper. Read it! Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Great read

    Interesting storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Great book!

    The book eas good enough to keep me reading but i knew what happened not even halfway through the book. I would still read it again though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Must read

    Wow. Def gets your attention and never lets go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    It was okay

    It was interesting enough to keep you reading and the characters were well rounded, but some of the themes were a bit cliche and the plot was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    This novel had such an amazing plot, it was just written so poor

    This novel had such an amazing plot, it was just written so poorly. I struggled so many times trying to get through Amelia's sections of the books because the author made teens sound like complete idiots. I mean, come on, no teenage girl ever talks like that. This novel would have been worth more stars, as I said, if the plot were executed properly and if McCreight didn't exaggerate Amelia being a teen almost to the point where it was unbearable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Good read, hard to put down

    Seems as though this book is based on an actual event I remember reading about. Poignant, how little we really know our children beyond a certain age, especially in the busy world we live in, & juggling families with jobs, etc. Touches on so many parental emotions, from the unconditional love, to the fierce protection & the guilt and regret we feel in between. I found it hard to put this down, as a mother, and once a teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Page Turner

    I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. Yes, some twists I figured out early, but not all of them which caused the suspense! I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    Eh

    It was good but I have read better.

    And I did not really think "Gone Girl" deserved all the hype either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    Horrible writer What a total let down.  No real ending. I hate

    Horrible writer

    What a total let down.  No real ending. I hate when writers do that.
    Every story needs a beginning , middle and end, you learn that in middle school for goodness sakes!

    NOT recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12