Customer Reviews for

Reconstructing Amelia

Average Rating 4
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat a

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat and keeps you hooked all the way through. An ending you never saw coming and so many twists & turns. Outstanding!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

No "Gone Girl"

THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many...
THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many red herrings were put out there to mislead readers. Totally engrossed while I was reading, but when I reached the end I was let down.

posted by TinyFalsehood on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat a

    Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat and keeps you hooked all the way through. An ending you never saw coming and so many twists & turns. Outstanding!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Unique and fantastic!

    Every now and then you read a book that surprises you for just how unique it is. A story that sets itself apart from any other. This book was that for me. Some reviewers were disappointed with the end. I wasn't. I honestly don't think the end matters. This book is about relationships, about lost opportunities and forgiveness. It is about finding out who we are by learning about who the people we loved really were and still finding a way to live with our mistakes and the 'what if's'. A fantastic story, terrific writing, and a book and characters that keep you thinking. You cannot ask for more.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No "Gone Girl"

    THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many red herrings were put out there to mislead readers. Totally engrossed while I was reading, but when I reached the end I was let down.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Reconstructing Amelia is a story of Kate, a successful lawyer an

    Reconstructing Amelia is a story of Kate, a successful lawyer and single mom, and her teenage daughter Amelia who is smart, creative and athletic. The two have a close relationship despite Kate’s profession and long hours. Then, Kate receives a call from Amelia’s school saying that Amelia has been suspended for cheating. When Kate arrives, she learns that Amelia has jumped from the roof of the school in an apparent suicide. But one day, Kate receives a text that says that Amelia didn’t jump.

    Kate then sets out to reconstruct her daughter’s life and find out the truth which plunges the reader into the world of teenagers – social media, friendships and bullying. She uncovers a side of her daughter that she didn’t know. She begins to question how much she really knew her daughter, what she could have done to prevent this, and why Amelia didn’t come talk to her. 

    I was drawn into the novel from the beginning and couldn't put it down. The book alternates between Kate's perspective and Amelia's and also uses a number of narrative devices such a blog posts, Facebook updates, tweets and emails to tell the story which I found gave the story more texture by reflecting how we communicate and find out information today. The story is heartbreaking and it addresses many important topics such as bullying, sexuality, role of technology and social media in teen culture. Ultimately, it's about the complex relationship between children and parents and how much we truly know about our children. This is an incredible debut novel for Kimberley McCreight. 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Page Turner!

    Overall this was an enjoyable read that kept me turning the pages. The story does not seem to be realistic about how a police investigation would be handled and the author seems to want to hit every "hot topic". The characters are intriguing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Color me unimpressed. The setup for this book was great--overac

    Color me unimpressed. The setup for this book was great--overachieving, fifteen year old, straight A student, Amelia, commits suicide after being accused of plagerism. It's up to high-powered attorney and mom, Kate, to sort through text messages and emails to figure out what happened.

    The pacing is very good, making the book a page turner, but there are problems. Kate and Amelia don't come across as real people. In addition, Kate isn't particularly likable. She got pregnant in law school and elected to become a single mom despite her plans to pursue an intense legal career which left her little time for Amelia. Also, she never told Amelia who her father is, in fact, she's not even sure.

    By the end of the book I was rolling my eyes, thinking I'd stumbled into a Lifetime movie with endless plot twists in a game of "Who's Your Daddy?" Amelia's classmates are such over the top bullies they should be working as comic book villains. For a while I even suspected one of them, Dylan--Amelia's lover, as being a robot. Her behavior was THAT inexplicable. Not recommended.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    An extraordinary book. A compelling mixture of very fast-paced a

    An extraordinary book. A compelling mixture of very fast-paced action interwoven with a subtle exposition of the key relationship in the story: the one between the mothera and her daughter. Many twists and turns in the plot, this story just gripped my attention from the very beginning. A must-read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    0/10 preorder canceled

    0/10 preorder canceled

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Amazing!

    I don't know where to start... this book grabbed my attention and held it all of the way through. It's one of those great finds that make you read for hours to figure out everything and then when you finish you wish there was even more because you don't want to leave the characters behind. People in high school and older ( I'm 26) will be able to enjoy this book. I hope this author continues writing on this level. You will not regret picking this up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    fast paced and genuinely suspenseful. the characters are well dr

    fast paced and genuinely suspenseful. the characters are well drawn and speak in authentic voices. I was hooked at the start and never lost interest. highly recommend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    The writing was absolutely horrid. I couldn't stomach the way t

    The writing was absolutely horrid. I couldn't stomach the way the writer was trying SO HARD to sound like she knows how teens/young adults talk -- she missed the mark by A LOT. This is the last sentence I read and gave up (this is supposed to be a 24 year old IT guy who works at one of the top law firms in New York…but is also a stoner...): "...Because you don't want to like [sic] get into the deets of your kid's Facebook page. I mean, I'm twenty-four, and I'm a pretty scrubbed-up guy and whatevs, but my 'rents would stroke out if they saw my whole page. You've gotta filter it for ma and pa. I mean, who wants to see their kid doing body shots, like, ever?"
    There are grammatical and spelling errors riddled throughout the book, which drove me bananas. Sentence structure was that of somebody who has never written before. The plot could have been interesting, but the writing was just too much to get past. Also, this is definitely not a book that should be marketed towards adults. Her "trying-to-be-hip-and-with-it" lingo will turn off the younger crowd as well...Definitely not recommended.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    As far as mysteries go, this one had me flipping through trying

    As far as mysteries go, this one had me flipping through trying to figure out the ending.  That was good, and it IS a good book.  However, it had been compared to Gone Girl and it is not. that. good.  Enjoyable read though, and I liked reading it through the Mother's perspective as well as the daughters.  I would recommend it, but I  wouldn't say it was comparable to Gone Girl (If you haven't read that, you should!).  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awsome book, a must read!

    I LOVED this book. I read it in one day. Once you start this book you will not be able to put it down. I can't wait to see what they will do for the movie coming out in 2014. Nicole kiddman will play Kate, and thats exactly who I pictured as Kate. This is a fantastic representation of what a mother will do for her child. A must read for all mothers of daughters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really wanted to like this book, based on the overview, but unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. The book went at a good, fast pace but then the ending was so predictable, that I was completely left saying "Is that all there is"? Overall the book was fair.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Not for me

    Definitely YA chick lit

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    Interesting idea of a story but was overly complicated with char

    Interesting idea of a story but was overly complicated with characters/motives and ultimately felt rushed at the end. Was rather disappointed in the resolution of all the conflicts that  were built up throughout the story. Overall a solid read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Loved

    Amazing book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Couldnt '

    Best book I have read this summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    A page turner!

    Could not put this one down. After reading Gone Girl, I could not find another book I enjoyed as much until I found this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    One of the best books I've read in a long time. Grabbed it off t

    One of the best books I've read in a long time. Grabbed it off the shelf and could not put it down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10