Customer Reviews for

Reconstructing Amelia

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat a

Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat and keeps you hooked all the way through. An ending you never saw coming and so many twists & turns. Outstanding!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

No "Gone Girl"

THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many...
THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER...I read a review that compared this to "Gone Girl"....but if you're expecting that kind of blow-you-away twist ending, you'll be disappointed. Great writing, round characters, but I was disappointed by the resolution, and I felt like too many red herrings were put out there to mislead readers. Totally engrossed while I was reading, but when I reached the end I was let down.

posted by TinyFalsehood on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat a

    Definitely a MUST to read! Leaves you on the edge of your seat and keeps you hooked all the way through. An ending you never saw coming and so many twists & turns. Outstanding!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Reconstructing Amelia is a story of Kate, a successful lawyer an

    Reconstructing Amelia is a story of Kate, a successful lawyer and single mom, and her teenage daughter Amelia who is smart, creative and athletic. The two have a close relationship despite Kate’s profession and long hours. Then, Kate receives a call from Amelia’s school saying that Amelia has been suspended for cheating. When Kate arrives, she learns that Amelia has jumped from the roof of the school in an apparent suicide. But one day, Kate receives a text that says that Amelia didn’t jump.

    Kate then sets out to reconstruct her daughter’s life and find out the truth which plunges the reader into the world of teenagers – social media, friendships and bullying. She uncovers a side of her daughter that she didn’t know. She begins to question how much she really knew her daughter, what she could have done to prevent this, and why Amelia didn’t come talk to her. 

    I was drawn into the novel from the beginning and couldn't put it down. The book alternates between Kate's perspective and Amelia's and also uses a number of narrative devices such a blog posts, Facebook updates, tweets and emails to tell the story which I found gave the story more texture by reflecting how we communicate and find out information today. The story is heartbreaking and it addresses many important topics such as bullying, sexuality, role of technology and social media in teen culture. Ultimately, it's about the complex relationship between children and parents and how much we truly know about our children. This is an incredible debut novel for Kimberley McCreight. 

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Unique and fantastic!

    Every now and then you read a book that surprises you for just how unique it is. A story that sets itself apart from any other. This book was that for me. Some reviewers were disappointed with the end. I wasn't. I honestly don't think the end matters. This book is about relationships, about lost opportunities and forgiveness. It is about finding out who we are by learning about who the people we loved really were and still finding a way to live with our mistakes and the 'what if's'. A fantastic story, terrific writing, and a book and characters that keep you thinking. You cannot ask for more.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    An extraordinary book. A compelling mixture of very fast-paced a

    An extraordinary book. A compelling mixture of very fast-paced action interwoven with a subtle exposition of the key relationship in the story: the one between the mothera and her daughter. Many twists and turns in the plot, this story just gripped my attention from the very beginning. A must-read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Amazing!

    I don't know where to start... this book grabbed my attention and held it all of the way through. It's one of those great finds that make you read for hours to figure out everything and then when you finish you wish there was even more because you don't want to leave the characters behind. People in high school and older ( I'm 26) will be able to enjoy this book. I hope this author continues writing on this level. You will not regret picking this up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awsome book, a must read!

    I LOVED this book. I read it in one day. Once you start this book you will not be able to put it down. I can't wait to see what they will do for the movie coming out in 2014. Nicole kiddman will play Kate, and thats exactly who I pictured as Kate. This is a fantastic representation of what a mother will do for her child. A must read for all mothers of daughters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Lovely

    Loved reading this book.. while i wasnt crazy about the switch from past and present and chapters from different character perspectives, it kept my full attention and was suspenseful and thrilling. Twists and turns kept it exciting. It provoked thought and emotiin as a mom reading about a mom's relatiinship with her daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    It was amazing!

    The way this story is formatted is a bit confusing at first but then once you get into it it is amazing. I could not put it down, even in class. It was absolutely amazing. It is totally fast paced and it will keep you on your toes wondering what happened to Amelia until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    Loved it

    I stayed up all night to finish it. It was shocking the way it ended. It was a jaw dropping suspense roller coaster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Anon

    A truely amazing book. Maybe one of the best social mysteries I've ever read. The high school dialogue was spot on, the grief well played but not over done. The intensity builds throughout the story until you can't read fast enough to find out the who, the what and the why of it all. It was so realistic I wonder if the story is true. This book is a keeper. Read it! Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Great read

    Interesting storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Great book!

    The book eas good enough to keep me reading but i knew what happened not even halfway through the book. I would still read it again though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Must read

    Wow. Def gets your attention and never lets go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Page Turner

    I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. Yes, some twists I figured out early, but not all of them which caused the suspense! I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    excellent book

    amazing book so hard to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Outstanding, a true literary art

    I've never read a book that left such an astounding impact in its wake. The story line is so well written, the reader feels as though they are taking part in it themselves. Truly heartbreaking in ways only a mother can understand and equally heartbreaking in ways one couldn't fathom. The idea that growing up is hard to do will take on new meanings after discovering this novel. I will never forget this story and I will never forget Kate and Amelia. This is a MUST read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    This is one of my favorite books I have ever read.  It's well-wr

    This is one of my favorite books I have ever read.  It's well-written, realistic, and a great mystery/thriller.  Leaves you interested from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2014

    For how  much I love to read, I am actually pretty picky. I love

    For how  much I love to read, I am actually pretty picky. I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. You will love it. The twists and turns remind me of Gone Girl. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    I LOVED this book. It had you on the edge of your seat not wanti

    I LOVED this book. It had you on the edge of your seat not wanting to stop reading. Im 13 and i loved this book. Even tho it probably was not the most appropriate book to read for my age i still loved it.You have to be careful who you buy it for tho. they need to be an experienced reader of bad words and gruesome things.  This is an adult best seller to me. Get the book you will love it im telling you!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Must Read!!!

    I was a little disappointed in the end/ resolution. However, it was a pg turner and I really enjoyed it. I really wish there would have been a better epilogue at least, to answer some of my questions in the end. It was definstely similiar to gone girl...it was just as good and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6