Customer Reviews for

Recovery Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

edgy and compelling

Recovery Road is the story of two teens, Madeline and Stewart, both with blemished pasts and a brand new opportunity for a fresh start from rehab. At the lowest point in their lives, Madeline and Stewart fall for one another, giving them a sense of togetherness in a voi...
Recovery Road is the story of two teens, Madeline and Stewart, both with blemished pasts and a brand new opportunity for a fresh start from rehab. At the lowest point in their lives, Madeline and Stewart fall for one another, giving them a sense of togetherness in a void of confusion, but when they're released, reality strikes back. When Madeline is released, she's determined to get her life back together, and she's excited for Stewart to join her in healing after rehab, but when he's released, it's clear the darkness is still there, and they're spiraling downwards together. Again.

I've been dying to read Recovery Road for a long time now, in large part because of the captivating premise and simplistic cover. Blake Nelson has created a story where the characters are every bit as addicting as the addiction itself, spinning you along on a path of destruction, self-discovery and, ultimately, the desire for redemption. The beauty if Recovery Road lies in the realistic portrayal of the devastating nature of addiction, whether it be to drugs, attention, or companionship. Addiction, in itself, becomes a character, making it a raw and real adventure.

Madeline is one of those characters that I wasn't sure I was going to be able to relate to but somehow could. She has rage issues, drug dependency and a desperate desire to find fulfillment somewhere and, frankly, anywhere. Stewart is presented as your typical bad boy, but there's an endearing edge to him, as well, making him someone you love to hate and hate to love. Throw in a few secondary characters with their own issues, and Recovery Road is a rollercoaster ride of emotion. I have to say that the plot was strong for Recovery Road, but the characters were strong, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. It's almost as though one fuels and tempers the other, making the pacing strong and steady. The only real issue I had with the book was the chapter length. They were only a few pages apiece, and I prefer medium-length chapters. Luckily, however, it didn't affect the pacing, so that's just personal preference.

All in all, Recovery Road was a fabulous, fast-paced ride in which you feel for the characters every step of the way. I give it a very strong 4.5 out of 5, and I'd recommend it to all fans of YA, especially those who like edgy stories and contemporary fiction, specifically.

I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.

posted by iswimforoceans on February 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book recovery road is a very good book. I really liked it b

This book recovery road is a very good book. I really liked it because it was a real life topic because there is lots of teens who go to rehab to recover there issue they have with drugs or alcohol. I really liked the part that Madeline and Stewart met. I believe that r...
This book recovery road is a very good book. I really liked it because it was a real life topic because there is lots of teens who go to rehab to recover there issue they have with drugs or alcohol. I really liked the part that Madeline and Stewart met. I believe that really helped them through there rough life time at rehab. This book didn't bored me at all i enjoyed reading it, im glad i read this book . I recommend this book to anyone who likes reading good interesting books.

posted by j0316 on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    edgy and compelling

    Recovery Road is the story of two teens, Madeline and Stewart, both with blemished pasts and a brand new opportunity for a fresh start from rehab. At the lowest point in their lives, Madeline and Stewart fall for one another, giving them a sense of togetherness in a void of confusion, but when they're released, reality strikes back. When Madeline is released, she's determined to get her life back together, and she's excited for Stewart to join her in healing after rehab, but when he's released, it's clear the darkness is still there, and they're spiraling downwards together. Again.

    I've been dying to read Recovery Road for a long time now, in large part because of the captivating premise and simplistic cover. Blake Nelson has created a story where the characters are every bit as addicting as the addiction itself, spinning you along on a path of destruction, self-discovery and, ultimately, the desire for redemption. The beauty if Recovery Road lies in the realistic portrayal of the devastating nature of addiction, whether it be to drugs, attention, or companionship. Addiction, in itself, becomes a character, making it a raw and real adventure.

    Madeline is one of those characters that I wasn't sure I was going to be able to relate to but somehow could. She has rage issues, drug dependency and a desperate desire to find fulfillment somewhere and, frankly, anywhere. Stewart is presented as your typical bad boy, but there's an endearing edge to him, as well, making him someone you love to hate and hate to love. Throw in a few secondary characters with their own issues, and Recovery Road is a rollercoaster ride of emotion. I have to say that the plot was strong for Recovery Road, but the characters were strong, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. It's almost as though one fuels and tempers the other, making the pacing strong and steady. The only real issue I had with the book was the chapter length. They were only a few pages apiece, and I prefer medium-length chapters. Luckily, however, it didn't affect the pacing, so that's just personal preference.

    All in all, Recovery Road was a fabulous, fast-paced ride in which you feel for the characters every step of the way. I give it a very strong 4.5 out of 5, and I'd recommend it to all fans of YA, especially those who like edgy stories and contemporary fiction, specifically.

    I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This book recovery road is a very good book. I really liked it b

    This book recovery road is a very good book. I really liked it because it was a real life topic because there is lots of teens who go to rehab to recover there issue they have with drugs or alcohol. I really liked the part that Madeline and Stewart met. I believe that really helped them through there rough life time at rehab. This book didn't bored me at all i enjoyed reading it, im glad i read this book . I recommend this book to anyone who likes reading good interesting books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    It was wonderful Like words cant express it. I seriously think e

    It was wonderful Like words cant express it. I seriously think everyone should read this book. It made me cry. It was powerful and amusing and just overall AMAZING . 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Recovery Road was one of the best books i've read. It tells the

    Recovery Road was one of the best books i've read. It tells the story of 2 teenagers that got put into rehab because of the use of drugs and alchohol. They both fall in love with eachother during the time they spent together in Rehab. Stewart gets released before Madeline but promises to wait for her until she gets out. Once Madeline gets released, she's excited to start new and get her life back to the way it was. On the other hand, Stewart went back to his old ways.and Madeline still stayed with him to try and help him until she couldnt take it anymore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Hi my name is rebecca.really god book.

    Awsome!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Love this book

    You have to read this book. So many unexpected twists d turns that will hook you. I cant stop thinking about the end thouh. Suh a great book. Definitly one of the best books i have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Amazing!

    So amazing! Kind of like a more twisted version of the fault in our stars...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Why.

    This book really was inspiring, although some twists in the story made me think about the plot of the rest of the story. Maddie stays strong and clean.. but Stewart is just a hot mess. When I read about him finding another girl while they were still together ripped my heart out of my chest and was stomped on. To think that Maddie stayed clean for Stewart and they really had love for each other. I almost threw my Nook across the room. This book was a good read, I hope there is more to the fate of Stewart and Maddie. D;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Recovery Road is a book about two teenagers who find themselves


    Recovery Road is a book about two teenagers who find themselves in rehab in Spring Meadows. Madeline and Stewart. This is where she first finds her first true love. But one of the rules is not to have contact with boys because it can be a distraction. The two meet on movie night, which happens every Thursdays. They both find that they have something in common and soon fall in love. As they spend time in rehab and movie nights, Madeline is soon released and graduates rehab. Since Stewart is still in for another month, they promise to both wait for each other and begin something new together. Madeline finishes her senior year or high school and tries to succeed and go to college. Since she was gone for a long time from rehab, she doesn’t have many choices for college and has to take summer classes. Stewart moves with his father to Portland and tries to start fresh also. Madeline on the other hand, finishes second semester of high school with straight A-s and gets accepted to the University of Massachusetts.  Many bumps in the road with her relationship with Stewart such as trying to control staying sober, separating for a period of time, and dealing with issues as it is. Madeline risks not going to college for Stewart down in Portland who hasn’t been staying sober, but she will do anything she can to help him. He seems to not be on track with his life as he promises he will be, but he attends AA meetings twice a week to help him stay focused and clean. Madeline flies off to UMass to start her new life in college.  She succeeds in her new lifestyle but finds that Stewart has gotten himself into trouble. When she is on break, she immediately flies herself back to find him, but cant seem to find him anywhere in sight. She searches for days and finally sees him like once again an addict on the street with his friends just like he used to be. Madeline offers help, but he refuses, yells, and just tells her to leave. She does so and claims to call him as her “ lost prince “ who she will always be there and look out for. She also claims he is “ her first and true love “.  Both separate and continue their lives separately. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down ,i finished the book in 3 days. The ending did leave me hanging not knowing what happened with Stewert. The book was different and this was a differen kind of book that i have never read before and it was written very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    This book was good :)

    This book was good, but not whatbi expected. I picked up this book expecting intense, sweaty, hot, sexy love scenes. I also thought there would be heart thumping drug scenes too. But no. This book didnt show anything good about drugs, it just showed how crappy they really are. In my oppinion this wasnt even a love story ( dont get me wrong, romance does play a major part in the story though). This book was so real it actually seems like a memoir. Almost evreything that happened in the book would happen in real life and its kind of like a slap in the face. But it is what it is and evreybody needs a slap in the face at some point. I would reccomend this book to really anybody especially people that are older. I dont mean to be annoying, im not one of those people who are going to be like "this book was sooo inappropriete!" In fact i didnt find it inappropriete at all but i just feel that older people will appreciate it more. READ!

    (Please excuse my terrible spelling)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Dumb

    This was a waste of money. Def not worth reading. It was slow with nothing interesting. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    great book

    loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1