Customer Reviews for

Red

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    AMAZING

    I cried after I read this book, and I have been a die-hard horror fan all my life, so a horror novelist such as Jack Ketchum writing a book like this came as a pleasant surprise. The characters are made so real to the reader, that you want to reach in and strangle the antagonists yourself and then stand up and cheer when the protagonist begins to gain the edge. I would recommend this book to anyone, even those who do not read horror, because this book is SO much more than that, and really very mild, especially compared to typical works by Jack Ketchum(if anything he writes can be called that)Do not pass up this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    RED a good READ to be READ...

    I have come to enjoy JACK KETCHUM and consider him a force in the horror genre. After reading OFF SEASON I was repulsed that JACK would thoughtlessly slaughter almost every main character - but hey, his style is gutsy and unique - I like that. RED takes us on somewhat of a pilgrimage in that an old man wants nothing more in life but than to quietly run a small store and enjoy some fishing with his dog RED by his side. When a few punk teens take out RED in a vicious attack RED's owner sets out on a unique corse of redemption. I was blown away by how much I really cared about the main character and the 'rightous' path he embarks upon to make things right. You will find yourself cheering, laughing, crying and even wondering what you would do and how far you would go to get a point across. A remarkable story about the human spirit and one that will certainly stay fresh in my mind for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    A recommended read

    I think people get the wrong impression about the book right off the bat. It makes it sound in the synopsis as if the old man brutally hunts down and kills the teen-age hoodlums who killed his faithful pooch, Red. Instead Ludlow lets things develop, leading to a big showdown at the end. All summed up, Red had an exceptional plotline nothing spectacular however. I think it was a good read that kept my interest (I finished it over the course of two days), and had its share of exciting parts. The ending was reasonable and a bit mushy after a climax of violence, but otherwise the book kept my interest--i wish it was a bit longer however. Ketchum wasted three quarters of the book with a wild novella titled The Passenger. I rushed through this violent story that was too 'out there' anyway. Raped girls, simple killers, and a satanic night club/bar isn't my idea of a good thriller but 'eh! I'm not Ketchum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Leads You Exactly Where You Think It Will

    This is the first Jack Ketchum book I have read and, if this is a model of his best work, then I will certainly pass on his other novels. In a nutshell: A young, wealthy teen kills an old man's dog for the heck of it...and the rest of the 200-page book does nothing but lead up to the inevitable confrontation. There is no plot or story arc or evidence of character development/progression anywhere. Characters come and go, with no real purpose or dimension to add anything to the proceedings. Couldn't at least the climax have given horror fans what they want: lots of bloodletting and gore?? But NO...even that's a complete let-down, like Ketchum knew what a waste of time this story was and hurriedly washed his hands clean of it. And then on to the obligatory warm, fuzzy conclusion. Forget it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    OK, NOTHING GREAT

    The story line of this book should have been changed because it just didn't keep my attention. It wasn't that bad, but it wasn't that great either. Was suprised of how Mr. Ketchum could keep my attention for most of the time ,though. A decent read, but nothing great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    A Story Neatly Told, but...

    I bought Red after reading the notes on the back. The story is well paced. I just did not see the horror,or the itense violence as advertised. The main guy trys to get some sort of justice for the killing of his dog.OK. He seems to be quite a lady's man, because he gets a reporter to sleep with him right after he meets her. He keeps the revenge thing going until some shooting starts.OK. I just never felt any creppiness. I felt sorry for the guy, but he was little obsessed with the whole deal. I can't say that I would recommend this for someone expecting a nail biter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Don't mess with a dog that some grumpy old guy owns!!!

    What happens when you mess with Avery Ludlow's dog? Well, if you don't appoligize he'll be looking for revenge.If you insult him, and try to burn down his property he'll probably kill you.Thats the problem with a couple of young guys.After thinking that blowing Red's(old man's dog)head off for a good laugh they didn't realize that an old man that they pissed off could do much harm.They made a big mistake!Now they must somehow deal with him.In this book you'll probably feel sorry for Ludlow since his dog was his best friend and you'll probably want to grab the shotgun yourself and blow off the heads of the ruthless guys that did that to him. Expect lots of great action as Ludlow hunts down the the idiots.You just can't put down the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Something to Get the Bile Going

    Red is one of those books that plunges you into the deep pit of hate and lets you crawl back out along with the character as he struggles for retribution. Anyone who has ever lost a pet unnecessarily will grit their teeth as they wind down memory lane, but those gritted teeth will form a salivating smile as everything is cut loose for the grand finale. I myself lost a dog named Red to a car, so I felt an affinity right off the bat. Animal lovers will find a great balance here between human kindness and cruelty, and the unquestioning devotion of man's best friend. The second part, The Passenger, is also a gripping, though much more violent and disturbing tale about a lawyer brought into a horrible situation involving an old schoolmate and a couple of unwitting killers. Very disturbing, but with excellent twists and the satisfying ending that only Ketchum can provide. This one comes highly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    WOW!!!

    If I had to sum this book up in one word it wood be WOW! This book makes you want to strangle the punk kids that kill the old man's dog. (no I didn't just give away a part of the story its' right on the back) He's one of the best writters since stephen king, in fact i wouldn't be surprise if he is the next stephen king. I couldn't put it down, and every time I tried, I picked it right back up and read it some more. Jack Ketchum leaves you wanting more. If you read one new author read Red.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    WHAT A STORY

    Very few authors can grip you in the first 7 pages. JACK KETCHUM is so great I challenge you to be able to set this book down once you start it. Descriptions of people and places are so vivid it's like a movie running in your head. KETCHUM will bring out every emotion within you anger,compassion,sorrow forgivness and you will never be dissappointed in any of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Read It!

    If you read a lot, you know what it's like to read a novel that you really hate to put down. This is one. This novel has two seperate stories, Red and Passenger. Both are great. In Red, Jack Ketchum shows his own knowledge of a person's feelings for their pet. Again, in Passenger, he shows his knowledge of good and bad. I don't think I read one paragraph that was a bore. Both stories stand high in my standard. I read a short story by this author once, and I knew then he was one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1