Customer Reviews for

Red

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    YA Bound

    I LOVE werewolf books. I'm probably the last reviewer/blogger of my kind. An endangered species. I will never get tired of authors finding different, original ways to shake up the werewolf scene. And Kait Nolan has done just that. When I first learned that this was kind of a retelling, I was a little discouraged. I'm not big on the whole fairytale thing. I've seen books do this well, but overall; I just want an original concept. But Nolan really impressed me. I didn't feel like I was reading a fairytale. This story was original and of its own, and the characters were awesome.

    Elodie is a fantastic character. I think she is one of the most believable characters in YA right now. Sure there's some melodrama with the queen bees at school, that same old tired hierarchy-I'm just not a fan of that scene, I'm more about the fantasy-but it's short and doesn't way the story down as it quickly moves on. And Elodie faces some pretty difficult stuff. I think the way she rationalizes the issues and problems in her life is clever, and she's a smart, tough girl. I heart her big time. Get it girl!

    Sawyer. Swoon, baby, swoon. I love me the tough and broody protective type. It must be the season for this type of character, and that's fine with me. I've read a few books lately with this type of dude. But that's all good, because I can't get enough. Sawyer and Elodie have that instant attraction/connection, but I didn't mind that with them. They're a different species, after all. And it felt right between them. I think it would be unbelievable for the story if they didn't. My only complaint, I want more! I didn't want the story to end, and I wanted the chemistry between them ratcheted up. I'm hoping this will become a series. I recommend this to anyone who, obviously, like werewolf books, Paranormal Romance, and wants an action-packed read with a little romance, and lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. Great Read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Pretty good read!

    This book started off quite depressing and melancholy, almost too much so, but by the third chapter that mood is taken down to a much more bearable level and the plot lengthens, becoming more interesting as the pages go by. I loved this book by the end, and wish there was a sequel of some sort. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it

    If you are a fan of werewolf related books, this is def worth your time. Kait did a great job. Entertaining from beginning until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book! It was absolutely fantastic, a must read for

    I LOVED this book! It was absolutely fantastic, a must read for werewolf fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Loveeeee

    I loved this book!!!!!!!! I was easily sucked into the book. The writing was nice and fluid . I just ...LOVED IT READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great read!

    I loved this book. There was just enough romance and just enough action. Great balance to the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Love Werewolves!

    Kait Nolan did an excellent job writing this. It was so good I was crying at the end because I thought he was dead. Man I'm such a softy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST!

    A must read. I knew this was suppose to be some kind of a take on Little Red Riding Hood and I was afraid it might be cheesy, but the reviews were good so I chose to take the risk. So glad I did awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best YA I've read in a while

    The premise of this one so intrigued me that I picked it up, even though I've been feeling a bit glutted with YA books lately. I'm glad I didn't pass it up. YA heroines often leave me feeling empty, as if they're a bit shallow (some of that just being the effect of youth rather than bad writing.) But Nolan did a great job of giving us a scarred and complex heroine paired with a similarly scarred and complex hero and making their struggles and developing relationship utterly realistic (for werewolves.)

    I was drawn right in and couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great!!!

    I couldn't put it down. Had great flow and the romance wasn't overdone or chessy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!

    I love Kait Nolan! I wish she had more books available.

    This is a well thought out story with great charaters. I love the tie in to Little Red Ridding Hood in the book, that was a nice touch. I found myself unable to put this book down. The story moves quickly enough to keep the reader interested but slow enough that you don't feel rushed. There are some good plot twists to the story that kept me surprised and wanting to find out what was going to happen. If I had one critisizum it would be how the story ends. I won't give away the ending for those of you reading this that have not read the book yet. I would have liked a little bit more to the ending it sort of just jumps forward.
    GREAT READ, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL WEREWOLF FANS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a Werewolf Lover Now!

    I cannot say enough good things about this book. A survivalist YA love story with fairy tale roots. It's epic. I do not usually like werewolf stories. Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver was the single exception for a long time, but no more! Shiver has a friend- Red! And that's some of the highest praise I can offer- Nolan takes a sub-genre that's not my favorite and makes me not only love the book, but kind of turns me on to the subject of werewolves in general. All that's missing is the warning: Werewolf haters beware, because this book will convert you. Also loved the unique spin on the Red Riding Hood legend. There's just enough of it, and it's so uniquely done, that it adds a wonderful spice to the whole novel. I really liked the way the book was told with alternating 1st person POVs. I found Elodie to be exactly the kind of strong supernatural heroine I love, but she wasn't so tough as to be unapproachable or hardened. One of my favorite scenes with her is of her cooking over a campfire- and breaking out a package of spices to make a really excellent meal. To me, that's kind of the essence of her character: prepared, ready to deal with anything, but insists on having the things that are important to her. In this scene, it's spices, but in the bigger picture, it's things like honor, morals, and independence. Nolan manages to craft a unique male heroine with Sawyer. He's protective and possessive, but reigns in his werewolf instincts enough to respect Elodie's independence. Unless she's in danger- which happens a time or two. But being rescued by Sawyer isn't something Elodie (or anyone else) would complain about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous, fun read!

    Red is the latest novel from Kait Nolan, not part of the Mirus series, and I think it just may be my favorite so far! The story had a little bit of everything: romance, twists and turns, teen drama, action, unexpected villians. Loosely based on the Red Riding Hood tale, Elodie and her father have lived on the edge of society for the last several years after learning about a curse that has been passed for centuries along the femaie line. When nothing happens as the curse says it should, Elodie begins to question the truth of the curse. But eventually, things begin to change in her, things that can only be explained by the curse. Meeting Sawyer, and falling for him, seemed to happen at the worse possible, especially when it becomes clear that someone is trying to kill her,

    Elodie is such a strong character, and I love that. She accepts her fate and the responsibility that comes with it, always putting those she loves ahead of herself. Sawyer has problems and secrets of his own, but is inexplicably drawn to Elodie. The two together are a great couple, lots of romance, without being overly steamy. Sawyer is strong, but never overbearing, a fine line that is often crossed in YA romance. Instead, his strength is in the form of support and guidance, a refreshing change.

    One of the things I love most about Kait Nolan's books is that, while the paranormal is the main thrust of the plot, there is so much more to the story. Elodie's problems with Amber had nothing to do with the paranormal side of the story, but was a really emotional subplot that had me feeling for Elodie. The back and forth between Elodie and her dad and between Sawyer and his dad were also a huge part of the story, even without being focused on the paranormal.

    The action is non-stop, and the twists and turns are fantastic. The unexpected bad guy completely threw me and I loved that! Definately pick up this book and give it a read! It was FABULOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Fantastic YA Werewolf title

    I read this book right after it came out, and since then I've been trying to come up with something negative I could say about it, to add some balance to this review. Not happening. If the premise interests you, read it. This is a fantastic YA werewolf title that I'd gladly hand to friends.

    Elodie is a girl who believes she's due to become a werewolf, a ravaging monster, due to a family curse. Sawyer is a hereditary werewolf who's fighting his own demons for the recent death of his mother.

    Making things work out between them is difficult enough--and someone might be trying to kill Elodie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great Book!

    I've been waiting for this book to come out for a long time. I have to say it was worth the wait. Ms. Nolan has a gift with storytelling. She writes a very good twist to an old fairy tale but at the same time it's not just a re-telling of the tale. The characters were very believable. It is very interesting how the author lets you in on the different perspectives of the characters by switching between the main two teenage characters point of view. Ms. Nolan does a good job of drawing you into the lives of these two teenagers and how they deal with their budding relationship and the fight for their lives of being chased by a madman on the hunt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I have really enjoyed all of the books I have read by Kait Nolan and Red is no exception.

    The story is wonderful as are the characters. I hope this is the first of many books. I would love to see the story continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entranced

    I absolutely loved this novel! Once again Kait Nolan whisked me away to a world that held me captive and left me wanting more. Kait has quite the talent when she builds her characters and the worlds they live within. I felt like I got to know Elodie and Sawyer well and empathized with them as they struggled, grew, and conquered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    If I said this was one of the best books I've read this year, I would feel like I was making an understatement. Even giving it five stars seems like an understatement. It's that good. I've waited for this book to come out for a long time, and it was definitely worth the wait. I was pulled into the story from page one, and I could barely make myself stop reading long enough to do things that needed to be done. You know, like go to work. Very well written, exciting, romantic...these are just a few words to describe this story that wove it's way into my heart. I won't write a synopsis because some of the other reviewers have already done that. I'll just say that if you want to be completely blown away by a good story, whether you're a young adult or an "older" adult, you have to buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Red is a true gem in YA Romance!

    Goodreads Book Synopsis Every fairy tale has a dark side... Elodie Rose has a secret. Any day, she'll become a wolf and succumb to the violence that's cursed her family for centuries. For seventeen years she's hidden who and what she is. But now someone knows the truth and is determined to exterminate her family line. Living on borrowed time in the midst of this dangerous game of hide and seek, the last thing Elodie needs to do is fall in love. But Sawyer is determined to protect her, and the brooding, angry boy is more than what he seems. Can they outsmart a madman? And if they survive, will they find a way to beat the curse for good? Excerpt: I was thirteen when I found out why my mother left me. It seems important to start my story there. The moment when everything changed and my life became a nightmare. The moment when my mother's madness began to infect my father. Infect me. The letter that came on my birthday that year was such a shock to my poor dad. So many times, I've wished I'd thrown it away. That I'd never let him see it. But at thirteen, I couldn't wrap my brain around the enormity of what my mother was imparting. I thought it was a joke at first. A cruel one. Dad didn't. Instead of believing that she was mad, he took her words as the cold, hard truth. That I am a monster, just waiting for the proper catalyst to be unleashed. That I am cursed as she was. Today I know it's true. My Thoughts Author Kait Nolan has documented the entire process from the first idea for the book to the actual editing and publishing process on Twitter and her blog, I have followed along waiting for the day when Red became a reality. The wait was more than worth it! The stories pace was perfect, it went smoothly from start to finish. The two main characters of Elodie and Sawyer just seamlessly flowed together like I had known them forever. It was a bit daunting at first from chapter to chapter to have first one POV than the other but by the time I read the first couple of chapters did not even notice as was caught up in what was going on and enjoying the give and take between everyone too much. For those who are like myself and enjoy quite a bit of action you will get more than enough in this story. Along with the action you get to watch one of the best relationships between two young adult characters develop that I have had the pleasure of reading in quite some time. I told Kait after I finished the book that I likened Sawyer to my all time favorite male romance hero Jamie Fraser from author Diana Gabaldon Outlander series . Even without the Scottish accent young Sawyer Grant is quite a force to be reckoned with! If you think you have read every werewolf tale out there and there is nothing that is fresh, exciting or new to be found just wait until you open this one up! Red threw out some rules and broke the mold of this genre and as a debut YA Paranormal author I feel that Kait Nolan has a bright future ahead of her if she continues as strongly as she started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Bottom line. Loved this book.

    Elodie has spent her teenage years thinking that because she's a werewolf, she's cursed and has no future. But when she meets Sawyer, also troubled and headed in a downward spiral, something changes. They have an instant connection that helps bring some peace to all the baggage they're carrying around. Unfortunately, there's a hunter in town who will do whatever it takes to kill Elodie. When it becomes clear there's no escape, Elodie, along with Sawyer, go on the offensive and bring the fight to this monster. Fans of Kait Nolan's Mirus series will find all the things they love in her YA debut: romance, action and a strong female lead in Elodie. If this is your first Kait Nolan, your timing couldn't be better because this story is completely independent of her Mirus series. Be prepared to be moved because Red has some serious emotional DEPTH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3