Customer Reviews for

Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock

Average Rating 4
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must for all Red Heads!!! Love it!

I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. T...
I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. They are alot like all of us- human. You get a great visual picture of the music business. It brought back memories of the Van Halen concerts and the heartbreak when I saw the Samuri hair and the bizarre way Eddie was on stage the last concert I went to. Thanks Sammy for sharing with us!

posted by Longhornmom on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, but ...

RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to ar...
RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to areas to the book. (For example: it was sometimes hard to follow which "he" was being referred to in some instances and there were transitions in time that weren't set up.) Sammy is a remarkable man and his story is fascinating; it's a pity that the writing bogged down his story a bit.

That said, this is a fascinating tale from an engaging guy. From a very humble upbringing (to say the least) to his tireless pursuit of living his dream, RED is a good story with a happy ending.

posted by LuftWaffle on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Not happy

    Well not happy purchased sammy book then my nook had to be rrplace 3 times in a moth so purchased a different device now i cant reed the book i purchased

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Sammy

    I think its coohow god he is at what he does

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Good

    Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    SAMMY!

    I love Sammy Hagar! He is so cool and awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    quick read

    Wow!! Great book quick read. Sammy Hagar is a pretty cool guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great book

    Great book by one of the greatest rockers ever! Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book, great guy.....one of my favorite musicians!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Interesting

    After completing 'Red' by Sammy Hagar, I came away with an appreciation and respect for the former front-man of Van Halen. While the writing isn't great (both the editor and co-author should find other careers), the general story makes up for it somewhat. To have come from a difficult upbringing with essentially no father figure, Mr. Hagar made a success of himself, with a lovely family, happiness, and sense of self today. I was enthralled by many of his experiences, especially, of course, while he was in Van Halen. It didn't appear that anything was held back, but was laid bare for all to read, which made the book all the more interesting and, for lack of a better word, juicy, sans being catty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    I would strongly recommend it.

    I saw a Jimmy Kimmel interview with Sammy about his book and thought it would be an entertaining read. The book definitely lived up to the hype. It was a great behind the scenes look at the life of a rock and roller.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Great read!!!

    Wow! You really don't know people...... that's scary!! I loovveee Sammy Hagar, and always will!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    What a great good. I had a hard time putting this one down. It takes you behind the scenes of what happened during Sammy's days with Van Halen. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    great..keeps you interested

    great..you read it and you know sammy is telling the truth cause he actually says he was doing drugs and cheating and being honest..kept me interested whole book.saw sammy in 1982 at la sports arena saw ronald reagan jr at show as his dad was president then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Could not stop reading this!

    Sammy tells the story of his life and music career. Along with telling it like it is/was, especially with respect to Van Halen, he also gives credit where credit was due even if the experiences were not always pleasant. Thanks for giving the fans a window into your life Sammy. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Very Entertaining!

    I found this read to be enjoyable because Sammy has such a unique way of expressing himself.

    He can take a pile of dirt and seemingly effortlessly turn it into a gold mine. His business sense is both incredible and inspiring. Although it's significance may be inspiring, it may be lost on some.

    His continuous assessment of the Van Halen brothers, and his relationship to the band is one of constant tumult.

    He came from one of the poorest parts of California, growing up in the mid 1960's and has become a wealthy entrepreneur without employing greed or selling his soul.

    Sammy keeps it interesting by injecting humor wherever possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Great Story! Muet read for any fan of rock.

    Sammys' story is great. I remember so much of this stuff being in headlines, news, and theshows, oh the shows...... I would definetly recommend reading this book if you are a fan of music, a true fan of good music. Anyone can play an instrument, or learn to. You can't teacb the way it feels in your soul. Sammy expresses it well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Sammy Hagar Real Person, Real Rock Star

    This book only confirmed what I have known for 20 plus years. This guy is a standup, true to his word, authentic Rock Star! The only disappointment in this book was discovering that the Van Halen brothers were so bottom of the barrel.....karma is good and Sammy is reaping the rewards of being honest! Thanks for sharing Sammy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Great memoir, as always Sammy keeps it real...

    Sammy takes you by the hand and walks you through parts of his life that even his most devoted fans have not heard about before. His early family experiences, learning the ropes of the music world and the ups and downs of fame and riches helps you understand WHO Sammy is and how he has remained one of the most thoughtful and least egotistical stars out there. Thank you Sammy for sharing with us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    RED hot!! MUST READ!!

    This book tells the human side of the legend. What drives him, why he is driven, and where he drives to. Pride, family hardships, and CABO!! Highly recommended to every who likes music, like Van Halen, likes history, loves to rock, or just loves SAMMY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Enjoyable and Entertaining Rock Bio

    Reading this book gave me a much better appreciation for Sammy's place in rock history as well as fascinating insight into the inner workings of Van Halen, one of my personal favorite bands.

    I found the style to be very accessible and light, kind of like listening to a friend tell stories at a party. Anyone who likes 70's and 80's rock should enjoy this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    awesome

    great book Sammy...couldnt put it down. love ya and keep rockin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12