Customer Reviews for

Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock

Average Rating 4
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must for all Red Heads!!! Love it!

I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. T...
I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. They are alot like all of us- human. You get a great visual picture of the music business. It brought back memories of the Van Halen concerts and the heartbreak when I saw the Samuri hair and the bizarre way Eddie was on stage the last concert I went to. Thanks Sammy for sharing with us!

posted by Longhornmom on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, but ...

RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to ar...
RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to areas to the book. (For example: it was sometimes hard to follow which "he" was being referred to in some instances and there were transitions in time that weren't set up.) Sammy is a remarkable man and his story is fascinating; it's a pity that the writing bogged down his story a bit.

That said, this is a fascinating tale from an engaging guy. From a very humble upbringing (to say the least) to his tireless pursuit of living his dream, RED is a good story with a happy ending.

posted by LuftWaffle on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    A Must for all Red Heads!!! Love it!

    I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. They are alot like all of us- human. You get a great visual picture of the music business. It brought back memories of the Van Halen concerts and the heartbreak when I saw the Samuri hair and the bizarre way Eddie was on stage the last concert I went to. Thanks Sammy for sharing with us!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    True To Life Sammy...a must read

    Sammy presents his life, in a way that only he could, from beginning to present day. While it may not be a Whiting Award nominee, this book quickly rose to become one of my favorites. My only regret was that the last page came too quickly. If you're a Red Rocker fan - or even just curious - you'll need to read this to hear it from the man himself in his own words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    RedRocker Rules......

    If you like the RedRocker (Sammy Hagar), Van Halen or Chickenfoot.... This book is great, I could not put it down. Love his bio, so honest and a all around Great Guy ..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This book was an amazing look behind at the life and career of Sammy, from Montrose through Van Halen and Chickenfoot. If you're a fan of Sammy this is a must read. There are spelling and grammatical errors but it's written as if he were telling the story himself rather than through a separate writer. He writes songs not novels so I cut him some slack. Excellent read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Loved this book and now i am in love with Sammy!!

    Excellent book that i had a tough time putting down! It made me want to go back and listen to his music. Definitely worth the money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Read!!!

    I'm not a big Sammy Hagar or Van Halen fan but this is a great book. Sammy Hagar is a surprising character and a great business man and entrepreneur. What a surprise!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Dsnny

    How am i a cheater?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Jace

    Perhaps four down? I'd rather not get flagged by a bunch of preteens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Nichole to jayson

    Wat you doing im doing nothing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    A good read.  Sammy gave a very good insight into the glam and n

    A good read.  Sammy gave a very good insight into the glam and not so glam side of rock and roll.  
    What I mean is he gave it a human side that even though he's a rock and roll star along with the Van Halan
    brothers and montrose they all make mistakes like everyone else.  Felt like I got to hang out with 
    Sammy Hagar for a few hours.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Sammy

    I think its coohow god he is at what he does

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Good

    Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    SAMMY!

    I love Sammy Hagar! He is so cool and awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    quick read

    Wow!! Great book quick read. Sammy Hagar is a pretty cool guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great book

    Great book by one of the greatest rockers ever! Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Great read!!!

    Wow! You really don't know people...... that's scary!! I loovveee Sammy Hagar, and always will!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    What a great good. I had a hard time putting this one down. It takes you behind the scenes of what happened during Sammy's days with Van Halen. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    great..keeps you interested

    great..you read it and you know sammy is telling the truth cause he actually says he was doing drugs and cheating and being honest..kept me interested whole book.saw sammy in 1982 at la sports arena saw ronald reagan jr at show as his dad was president then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Could not stop reading this!

    Sammy tells the story of his life and music career. Along with telling it like it is/was, especially with respect to Van Halen, he also gives credit where credit was due even if the experiences were not always pleasant. Thanks for giving the fans a window into your life Sammy. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Very Entertaining!

    I found this read to be enjoyable because Sammy has such a unique way of expressing himself.

    He can take a pile of dirt and seemingly effortlessly turn it into a gold mine. His business sense is both incredible and inspiring. Although it's significance may be inspiring, it may be lost on some.

    His continuous assessment of the Van Halen brothers, and his relationship to the band is one of constant tumult.

    He came from one of the poorest parts of California, growing up in the mid 1960's and has become a wealthy entrepreneur without employing greed or selling his soul.

    Sammy keeps it interesting by injecting humor wherever possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6