Customer Reviews for

Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock

Average Rating 4
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must for all Red Heads!!! Love it!

I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. T...
I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. They are alot like all of us- human. You get a great visual picture of the music business. It brought back memories of the Van Halen concerts and the heartbreak when I saw the Samuri hair and the bizarre way Eddie was on stage the last concert I went to. Thanks Sammy for sharing with us!

posted by Longhornmom on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, but ...

RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to ar...
RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to areas to the book. (For example: it was sometimes hard to follow which "he" was being referred to in some instances and there were transitions in time that weren't set up.) Sammy is a remarkable man and his story is fascinating; it's a pity that the writing bogged down his story a bit.

That said, this is a fascinating tale from an engaging guy. From a very humble upbringing (to say the least) to his tireless pursuit of living his dream, RED is a good story with a happy ending.

posted by LuftWaffle on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    A Must for all Red Heads!!! Love it!

    I've had a thing for Sammy Hagar and Eddie Van Halen since I was 15. If you love the Red Rocker as much as I do, this is a must read. It's well written and has great pictures. It gives the reader the sense that the life we envy of the Rock Star isn't always glamorous. They are alot like all of us- human. You get a great visual picture of the music business. It brought back memories of the Van Halen concerts and the heartbreak when I saw the Samuri hair and the bizarre way Eddie was on stage the last concert I went to. Thanks Sammy for sharing with us!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Enjoyable, but ...

    RED is a great behind-the-rocker story and will be appreciated by Hagar fans. I have to say that the writing could've been a lot better. A good editor should've caught the misspellings (David Gilmore? Really?) and punctuation problems and added some needed clarity to areas to the book. (For example: it was sometimes hard to follow which "he" was being referred to in some instances and there were transitions in time that weren't set up.) Sammy is a remarkable man and his story is fascinating; it's a pity that the writing bogged down his story a bit.

    That said, this is a fascinating tale from an engaging guy. From a very humble upbringing (to say the least) to his tireless pursuit of living his dream, RED is a good story with a happy ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    True To Life Sammy...a must read

    Sammy presents his life, in a way that only he could, from beginning to present day. While it may not be a Whiting Award nominee, this book quickly rose to become one of my favorites. My only regret was that the last page came too quickly. If you're a Red Rocker fan - or even just curious - you'll need to read this to hear it from the man himself in his own words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Confusing but good

    I enjoyed reading and watching the videos. I found that following the time lines confusing. They were going back a forth for different stories, so I wasn't sure when somethings were happening. I had a problem with one video not playing. I archived the book, then unarchived, that cured the problem.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    RedRocker Rules......

    If you like the RedRocker (Sammy Hagar), Van Halen or Chickenfoot.... This book is great, I could not put it down. Love his bio, so honest and a all around Great Guy ..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This book was an amazing look behind at the life and career of Sammy, from Montrose through Van Halen and Chickenfoot. If you're a fan of Sammy this is a must read. There are spelling and grammatical errors but it's written as if he were telling the story himself rather than through a separate writer. He writes songs not novels so I cut him some slack. Excellent read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read!

    I started this think it was just another jumble of some rock star, but I was wrong. This was actually a pretty good read. It explains his life as well as his stardom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Loved this book and now i am in love with Sammy!!

    Excellent book that i had a tough time putting down! It made me want to go back and listen to his music. Definitely worth the money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Read!!!

    I'm not a big Sammy Hagar or Van Halen fan but this is a great book. Sammy Hagar is a surprising character and a great business man and entrepreneur. What a surprise!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. Sammy's writing style was a little offputt

    I enjoyed this book. Sammy's writing style was a little offputting to me at first - I don't like to read profanity unless it is in dialogue. It just seems a little too much like the writer is trying to impress me with how rebellious he is or something. Still, getting over my initial dislike of his style, I stuck with it and it really is enjoyable reading about his solo years as well as his years with Van Halen. I think Duff McKagan's book (gave that one 5 stars) is better but this book is also quite good. Would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Really liked this book.

    Great read. Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Awful!

    Waste of time n money!don't buy this book!turn bsck now while you still can

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Good book from one of the nice guys of Rock and Roll

    Sammy is a very personable guy and it comes through in this book. He is one of those guys that has his hands in a dozen things at a time and brings energy and charisma to everything he touches. I get the impression that many of his former bandmates and collabirators are imtimidated by that, hence his many struggles with Montrose and VH. I feel bad for Eddie already, but some of Sam's insight makes me feel worse for him. Eddie seems like a real Howard Hughes now. Anyway the book is a good read and a look into the life of an actually nice guy rock and roller and an underated vet of the industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Dsnny

    How am i a cheater?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Jace

    Perhaps four down? I'd rather not get flagged by a bunch of preteens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Go Sammy

    Easy read. Nice depiction of his high values life in the music business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Nichole to jayson

    Wat you doing im doing nothing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    A good read.  Sammy gave a very good insight into the glam and n

    A good read.  Sammy gave a very good insight into the glam and not so glam side of rock and roll.  
    What I mean is he gave it a human side that even though he's a rock and roll star along with the Van Halan
    brothers and montrose they all make mistakes like everyone else.  Felt like I got to hang out with 
    Sammy Hagar for a few hours.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am a Sammy fan and a rock fan. I looked forward to reading hi

    I am a Sammy fan and a rock fan. I looked forward to reading his story and finished the book quickly. I had always thought of Sammy to be someone us "regular" folk can relate to, but was a little let down in that regard. I think he did a really good job of painting a positive picture and casting a golden glow over his life experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Not happy

    Well not happy purchased sammy book then my nook had to be rrplace 3 times in a moth so purchased a different device now i cant reed the book i purchased

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12