Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage: An Episode of the American Civil War

Average Rating 3.5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good civil war book

This book takes you on an adventure. The author clearly describes the battlefield and at one point i felt as if i was in the book. There was some old sayings and some different words but it really isnt hard to figure out. I strongly recommend this book to any civil war ...
This book takes you on an adventure. The author clearly describes the battlefield and at one point i felt as if i was in the book. There was some old sayings and some different words but it really isnt hard to figure out. I strongly recommend this book to any civil war freak like me.

posted by 8993037 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

BORING!!

This book is the most boring book I have ever read. We had to read it in English class and then write a 5 page essay on it. I couldn't even write a page. It took me forever to read the book. How could the author have the ability to write such a boring book.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Good read-ish

    I read this book while in cyber school and i have to say it was confusing at first but once i got the hang of the whole storyline it actually is a good book. Although it does have like some good parts, it does get confusing with all the thought details llike what the main character is thinking about..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Bad Version

    The sentences are seprated by THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE almost every page. Wish i had a better one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Still reading.

    Still reading. Can not rate until I've read it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Hmmmmmm

    My 7th grade class is reading this book. Its okay but i have to read chapters twice to really understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    Slow Read

    This is a book more for a historian or someone who likes fiction about history. It's a slow read and talks about a young soldier in the Civil War and how he faces his fear of the unknown. Over the process of time he matures and becomes educated about world and conquers his fear. He finally decides to face the war and all that it holds for him and go through. The story follows him through the war and how he becomes a stronger person because of the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2001

    The Red Badge of Courage: Interesting as well as Entertaining

    The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane was a good book, but not the best that I have read. It starts out by introducing Henry Fleming or 'The Youth' as Crane likes to refer to him as throughout the novel. Henry tries to be a 'tough guy' in the beginning by saying that he loves war and wishes that he could go to battle right then and there. This story took place at the time of the Civil War, and Henry then enlisted in the Union Army a bit later on. He later realizes the harsh realities that war poses to humans. The first battle with the Confederates,Henry was overcome with fear, but he stays to fight with his regiment. The second attack by the Confederates is when Henry entered a state of panic due to his overwhelming fear. He saw that a number of other soldiers in his regiment were fleeing from battle, so he fled with them. When he stops running away, he hears that his regiment took a stand and won the battle that day. So overcome with shame, Henry decides to return to the war but he gets lost. 'The Youth' then runs into a group of people that have been injured and after asking them for directions they proceed to get into a fight. One of the men's guns cuts Henry on the top of his head. When Henry finally returns to the war he lies to all his friends and his Commander in Chief by saying that he received that wound by being shot during battle. 'The Youth' was then put back into battle to prove his courage. Henry Fleming's head wound becomes his Red Badge of Courage to everyone around him, but for Fleming it is bittersweet for he knows that his story from that point on has been a lie and will continue to be a lie until he comes clean. It is ironic how Henry Fleming receives this Red Badge of Courage, because it was due to his cowardice. This novel was enjoyable except for the fact that at few points it was boring and moved slowly. I felt that Crane did a good job in depicting the harshness of war as it has been told by many. It was described just as I have heard it been described before. Crane's descriptions were very detailed making it very easy for me and everyone who has read this book to follow along with it. I feel that Henry grew more than anything during the course of the novel The Red Badge of Courage. This is why I feel that Henry was called 'The Youth', to show the contrast between when we are young and uneducated as opposed to when we get older and wiser. When Henry was young and not exposed to war he was naive and excited for war and battle. Then when he was exposed to the harshness he grew up and realized that he had made a mistake. We all could learn from Henry's life during The Red Badge of Courage, that we need to look deeply into any endevours that we plan on taking so that we make all the best descisions. I would recommend this book to you if you like war stories and historical novels. It was informative and also entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    It was pretty good

    I read this book when I was 13 so I did not understand most of the language. At that age I was just interested in the action. Overall the book was pretty good, even though I didn't understand what was going on half the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    A well known classic, but not high on my reading list

    'The Red Badge of Courage' is a fairly well known Civil War book, but I can't say it was my favorite. It is the story on Henry Fleming, a young recruit, in the Civil War. The climax wasn't as exciting as I would have liked, but it was fairly informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2