Customer Reviews for

The Red Badge of Courage

Average Rating 3.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good civil war book

This book takes you on an adventure. The author clearly describes the battlefield and at one point i felt as if i was in the book. There was some old sayings and some different words but it really isnt hard to figure out. I strongly recommend this book to any civil war ...
This book takes you on an adventure. The author clearly describes the battlefield and at one point i felt as if i was in the book. There was some old sayings and some different words but it really isnt hard to figure out. I strongly recommend this book to any civil war freak like me.

posted by 8993037 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BORING!!

This book is the most boring book I have ever read. We had to read it in English class and then write a 5 page essay on it. I couldn't even write a page. It took me forever to read the book. How could the author have the ability to write such a boring book.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Good civil war book

    This book takes you on an adventure. The author clearly describes the battlefield and at one point i felt as if i was in the book. There was some old sayings and some different words but it really isnt hard to figure out. I strongly recommend this book to any civil war freak like me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Awsome!

    Its the best book i've ever read and i'm only 7!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great piece of war literature!

    This novel puts a great emphasis on it's protagonists thoughts and feelings throughout the battles which makes it easily readable and a great choice for literary essays. The work is an essential American classic and I would recommend it to any adult or teen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    boring

    The whole book was just about what he was thinking. There was was no excitment whatsoever. There was nothing interesting in my point of view.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Dull as dishwater

    Glad I didn't have to read this in junior high or high school. It's as dull as "Great Expectations."

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Chevy 1500

    This is a great book my friend with his orange truck sya he likes it to

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    The Red Badge of Courage Review

    I had to read this book for my english class and boy, was it boring. I can understand that if you're someone who enjoys war novels, this book would be perfect for you. However, if you're just an average person looking for a great read, I do not recommend this book unless you want to waste your money and fall asleep reading it.


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Good book

    If you want a book that you and the main character both can learn from, this is it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No glorification of war, read it b4 reviewing

    This is a story for an artistic mind...painters will instinctively be moved by it. I creates emotions in the reader that most will never come close to experiencing in their lifetime. Veterns of combat say its right on the experience. I do not know these emotions first hand...thanks to the sacrifice of my relatives who fought in the Civil War, WWll and Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Please Read!

    Lord in heaven, people, please stick to giving book reviews. There are so many other avenues to speak to each other. Facebook Twitter Blogs by the dozens. Please go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Long and about war

    Long and about war

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Could be so much better

    I had to read this book as part of a school assaignment, and most books I'm given to read are somewhat good. But in this case, I couldn't enjoy this much. I ended up being lost in the language, and I've gotten through Shakesphere and the Oddysey without trouble. The book took me almost a month and a half to finish, and being only 100 pages long, that was pathetic. It took so long because I couldn't stay interested for more than 5-10 minutes at a time. If the book was an easier read, it might have been better. I really don't suggest you pick this book up unless you want to read a classic, or you want to challenge yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Amazing!!!!

    Amazing. Just amazing. At first I thought this book was extremely boring, but after a Couple of chapters i was just sucked into the splendid detail and compelling vocabulary this book has that no other can even compare to. I give this a well deserved 5 stars. No other author can make such a genius novel as this one, that manages to make me laugh and cry and ponder how the characters feel all in one hour. This book has truelly touched my heart and makes me wonder why so many people havent read it. ~<3~ Emery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Linger

    Hi! May l join? *she asks.* ((My bio is at 'glaive' 2nd res. It got 7 messed up.))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Cassi

    It was.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Swift

    Yeah, anyway, I thought SL's original thing was cruel, anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Always wanted to read this book and now I'm glad I did. You are

    Always wanted to read this book and now I'm glad I did. You are right in the middle of the front lines in combat during the Civil War. Very, very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Bad Version

    The sentences are seprated by THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE almost every page. Wish i had a better one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Bad read

    Im into the Civil War but i did not like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Hate it

    Dont like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11