Customer Reviews for

The Red Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Red Book

Barbara Lehman did a great job writing and illustrating, 'The Red Book.' This book was a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book and was well deserving of this honor. 'The Red Book' is a magical red book without any words. By the turn of each page you'll experience a new adventure...
Barbara Lehman did a great job writing and illustrating, 'The Red Book.' This book was a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book and was well deserving of this honor. 'The Red Book' is a magical red book without any words. By the turn of each page you'll experience a new adventure through a picture. Throughout the book you cross oceans and continents to bring a girl into a new world of possibility, where a she is going to meet a friend she has never met. This book is very good because it shows young readers you don't always have to have words to tell a story, they can fully understand the book through the pictures. I love it.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Red Book of Adventure

The Red Book is a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book. It is a picture book that captures a child¿s attention. It is filled with colorful illustrations and a very imaginative story. Without using any words a story unfolds in this book about a little girl who finds a little red...
The Red Book is a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book. It is a picture book that captures a child¿s attention. It is filled with colorful illustrations and a very imaginative story. Without using any words a story unfolds in this book about a little girl who finds a little red book one day. As she begins to look through the pages in the book she sees a little boy who is a the ocean. The we see that the little boy can see the girl in the city. Is it possible that their paths may cross in the near future? Will their journey ever really end? This is a fantasy book and is appropriate for children ages 4-8. I thought this book had great illustrations in it and contained a very creative story, although no words were written on the pages. This book is illustrated by Barbara Lehman who was born in Chicago and attended the Pratt Institution in Brooklyn. She now lives in New York. The inspiration for this book came from her longtime fascination with maps and the adventures that can await in faraway places.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Red Book

    Barbara Lehman did a great job writing and illustrating, 'The Red Book.' This book was a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book and was well deserving of this honor. 'The Red Book' is a magical red book without any words. By the turn of each page you'll experience a new adventure through a picture. Throughout the book you cross oceans and continents to bring a girl into a new world of possibility, where a she is going to meet a friend she has never met. This book is very good because it shows young readers you don't always have to have words to tell a story, they can fully understand the book through the pictures. I love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Red Book

    Barbara Lehman,born in 1963 in Illinois, and a graduate of the Pratt Institute. She did an amazing job on 'The Red Book.' 'The Red Book' is a book that I have never seen before. I know this might sound weird but I have never seen a book without words. The pictures in the book are what tell the story. The Red Book crosses oceans and continents, from snowy city streets to sun-baked sandy shores and back again, to deliver one girl into a new world of possibility, where a friend she's yet to meet is waiting. This wordless book leads readers on a journey. Being that I have never seen a book like this, it has become one of my favorites. This book was definitely deserving of the 2005 Caldecott Honor Medal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    The Red Book of Adventure

    The Red Book is a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book. It is a picture book that captures a child¿s attention. It is filled with colorful illustrations and a very imaginative story. Without using any words a story unfolds in this book about a little girl who finds a little red book one day. As she begins to look through the pages in the book she sees a little boy who is a the ocean. The we see that the little boy can see the girl in the city. Is it possible that their paths may cross in the near future? Will their journey ever really end? This is a fantasy book and is appropriate for children ages 4-8. I thought this book had great illustrations in it and contained a very creative story, although no words were written on the pages. This book is illustrated by Barbara Lehman who was born in Chicago and attended the Pratt Institution in Brooklyn. She now lives in New York. The inspiration for this book came from her longtime fascination with maps and the adventures that can await in faraway places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    a gread way to promote immagination

    Lehman Barbara, The red book, Houghton Mifflin company Boston new York picture book This is a fancy story written in picture form. It a wonderful picture book. It needs no words because in every picture the details are great and tell portray all of the information the reader needs. A girl finds a red book laying in the snow as she is walking to school. As she ventures to open and explore the book she is overwhelmed by what she finds. She sees in to the life a little boy who is looking back at her. The book took her on a journey to ware she is and the book reams behind for the story to continue. This would be a great book for a teacher to read to a class and teach creative writing and imagination. Kids this book will take you to a new place you have never seen before and if you use your imagination it can take you any ware you want to be. What would you do if you had a book that could let you see into another part of the world? What would your book show you? The author of this book Barbara Lehman has illustrated many books for children, including Moonfall (1993), for which she won a Parents Choice Award for illustration. Born in Chicago, Barbara attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, where she earned a BFA in communication design. A full-time illustrator, Barbara says that 'books and art have always held the strongest attraction for me. I have always felt drawn to 'commercial art' because of its ability to reach many people. I like the idea of being part of the media in a meaningful and thoughtful way, especially with children as the audience.' The Red Book is Barbara's first book for Houghton Mifflin. While living in New York City, she was looking at the skyline from inside a skyscraper one day, thinking how she'd like to create a story incorporating unique perspectives and fanciful adventures in faraway places. This idea, paired with her longtime fascination with maps, became the wordless journey of The Red Book. Barbara Lehman now lives in Claverack, New York.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Caldecott Winner!

    On the way to school a girl discovers a red book in the snow. When she opens it she sees a boy in another land discover a red book in the sand. The little boy sees the girl find a red book in the snow. The girl then uses balloons to try to get where the little boy lives. This book is a fantasy fiction. I feel that this book would easily confuse children. Age level for this book is 4-8. Lehman, Barbara. The Red Book. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company.2004.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My Review

    I can guarantee that you¿ve never read The Red Book. You ask me how I know such a thing ¿ because it has no words! In this picture book, a little girl sees the spine of a red book sticking up out of the snow while on her way to school. She tucks the book in her satchel and continues on her way. When she finally opens the book to see what¿s inside, it takes her on a magical journey to meet a new friend, or two, or three ¿ the possibilities are endless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE RED BOOK IS MAGICAL

    I am a speech-language pathologist. In the few short weeks since I discovered it, I have shared it with many ages, many ability levels, with children with many disorders, and with regular kids (whatever they are ;0)). I haven't found any who have not looked deep into the pages for the story they see. They look with amazement and with joy for a story they can "read". I liked it so much I ordered a copy of it for my youngest grandson, who is seven and I can't wait to see what story he finds in the pages. I discovered something in my last "read" that I didn't know was there and I think I am pretty smart! There is so much to talk about with THE RED BOOK, but I am not talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    delightful little book

    As a teacher I love wordless books because they encourage discussion with children that requires predicting and analyzing the pictures. The story illustrates a journey from reality to fantasy with an open ended ending....... fun for children to image where the story might go next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    The 'Magical' Red Book

    ¿The Red Book¿ is a 2005 Caldecott Honor book by Barbara Lehman, which was published in 2004. Lehman was born in Chicago, Illinois. She attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York and majored in illustration. Lehman has illustrated many children¿s picture books during her life. She currently lives in New York. ¿The Red Book¿ is about a little girl who is walking to school on a snowy winter day. While walking, she discovers a magical red book sticking out of the snow. She picks it up and carries it with her all the way to school. When she opens the book, she sees a map. While concentrating on the map, a beach comes into focus. The little girl then sees a little boy walking on the beach who discovers a magical red book just like hers. When he opens the book, he sees a city with tall buildings. While concentrating on the buildings, he sees the little girl sitting in her classroom through a window. Wow, the boy and girl can now see each other! They stare in surprise and then smile at each other. Soon after, school was left out and the little girl quickly left. She wanted to find the little boy, so she bought a whole bunch of balloons to fly to his island. While happily flying, she accidentally drops the red book. Does the little girl ever make it to the island to meet her new friend? What ever happened to the red book? This book doesn¿t need words to tell what is happening, each picture says enough. This book has wonderful illustrations. They are beautifully and creatively drawn. The watercolors brighten up each and every page. This book also allows a child¿s imagination to extend, which I think is grand. The age range for this book is 5 to 8 years, and the grade range for this book is K-3. Lehman, Barbara. The Red Book. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2004.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Inspiring Picture Book

    This book has no words just pictures, but words are not needed to love and understand it. The pictures tell the story about a magical book. Not only is the book magical, but also the whole story itself is truly magical. It makes the reader use their imagination to enfold the story. This book is very special and kids will love it. The pictures show how a girl finds a red book and how it takes her on an incredible journey. What a way to inspire kids to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    College Review for Class

    Would you like to take a trip to a tropical paradise? It seems that¿s what a little girl does in this children¿s picture book, ¿The Red Book¿ a 2005 Caldecott Honor Book. In this magical red book without any words, a girl is walking to school and spies a red book sticking out of a snow bank. Once at school, she peeps into her treasure and sees a map, then a single beach comes into focus, and as the picture becomes clearer, she sees a boy on a beach walking who finds a red book in the sand. When he looks into the book, he sees the city, and as the view comes in clearer, he sees windows and at last, then the girl in her classroom. Now the boy and girl see each other they stare in surprise, and then smile at each other. Wanting to find the boy, the little girl buys a bunch of balloons and sets sail for the boy¿s island. As she ascends, she drops the red book¿. To find out if the girl makes it to the island, you need to go though the magical pages of ¿The Red Book¿ by Barbara Lehman. Barbara Lehman was born in Chicago, Illinois, and grew up in New Jersey, very close to New York City. She attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, and majored in illustration. Lehman has illustrated many picture books, and usually works in watercolors with pen and ink. Other books you will enjoy by Barbara Lehman are: Say Boo! Museum Trip, and the Christmas Cookies. Lehman Barbara, The Red Book, Houghton Mifflin Company: Boston, 2004

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Wonderful!

    This book is so delightful. The illustrations do much more than words could for this type of story. The lines and colors are incredibly pleasing. It is a perfect 'read' for children and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1