Customer Reviews for

Red Country

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good addition

The book was pure Abercrombie: dark and violent, with that odd twist of hope thrown in.

posted by 6532680 on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Had someone else written Red Country, it would doubtless be a hi

Had someone else written Red Country, it would doubtless be a highly entertaining blend of fantasy and western. Gritty, bloody and unafraid of violence - even for its own sake - Red Country could have been a good book. Perhaps even more than that.

But Abercrombie is th...
Had someone else written Red Country, it would doubtless be a highly entertaining blend of fantasy and western. Gritty, bloody and unafraid of violence - even for its own sake - Red Country could have been a good book. Perhaps even more than that.

But Abercrombie is the author of The Heroes. Coming on the heels of that master work, Red Country is little more than a disappointment. Its Red alright, but only because that's what seems to sell when you put Abercrombie's name on a book. This time the extremes of violence serve no purpose other than to make ridiculous characters ridiculous. There are no moral lessons here, and no compelling characters such as those that graced the pages of The Heroes.

Red Country is a hard read, without much in the way of narrative to move it along. Cosca is irritating, as usual and the return of Logan is so under-stated - and his character so sparing in his appearances - that this alone does not make the book worth reading. On the contrary I felt the return of Logan should have been given far more focus than this tale offered and was all the more disappointed for the lack. If you're looking for violence for violence sake this book is for you. But the dedication is wrong; this isn't for Clint - its for Arnold.

posted by BlackCompanyFan on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Good but nit Good

    Not as good as the others but abercrombie is becoming more diverse with his writing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome

    Not quite as well developed as other books but still very good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Fun sequel, don't e0 Fun, worthwhile, don't expect the first law epicness

    Gotta love the bloody nine, and it's a pretty good story. Abercrombie makes the pithy banter a bit overpowering- sometimes felt like Catch-22.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good book

    Abercrombie is a solid author, and this is one of his better books, in my opinion. If you don't know Logan Ninefingers and the previous books, you can still enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Excellent read

    Would have got five stars if he hadn't killed off one of my favorite characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite Shy South has

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    Shy South has already had a tough life. She is caretaker of her siblings by default when her mother dies. Shy works side by side with her cowardly stepfather Lamb on the family farm; it is a tough life but they manage to survive. Her world is completely unraveled, though, when her siblings are stolen and young family friend is hanged from a tree. She and Lamb set out across the frontier, banding with gold-hungry travelers who don't belong on the trail and face daily battles against nature and ghosts. The town in which they are destined is completely out of control. Murder, prostitution, ruthlessness and never actually being safe are the threats of the ever-growing community. They discover their children's whereabouts and must face their own personal demons along the way.

    I found this audio book to be very captivating! However, there are some who might be quite offended by the crass behavior and language of the characters, the graphic violence and sexual scenes. I spent a lot of time reflecting about this and, frankly, this is the atmosphere the story must be in to be true to the plot. It is definitely not for some and surely not appropriate for even young adults, but I believe there is certainly an audience. The action is swift, the characters are solid and the story line quite believable. The way the author transforms the characters from what we see in the beginning to what they become is brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Where I come from we got a different way of doing things.¿ ¿ La

    “Where I come from we got a different way of doing things.”
    – Lamb

    I think what separates Joe Abercrombie’s characters from so many others we see in fantasy fiction (and real life, for that matter) is the incredible self awareness each character possesses, from the primary protagonists all the way down to the lowliest henchman. Abercrombie’s greatest strength is creating these world-weary characters who just don’t have the energy to sugarcoat things any more, and this unflinching honesty not only extends to the world and the people that surround them, but to their own faults and inadequacies.
    In RED COUNTRY, Abercrombie actually introduces two characters that, with the possible exception of the Dogman from previous novels, seem the least likely to engage in sociopathic tendencies. Shy South, a woman whose younger brother and sister have been kidnapped, has a past that includes theft and murder, but those days seem to be in her past. As we get to know her during the events covered in the novel, she’s capable, but she’s often shocked by the violence of her compatriots and the wasteful deaths that plague her rescue efforts.
    Meanwhile, Temple, a self-professed coward who admits to taking the easy way out whenever it’s available, actually isn’t that bad a person. He’s cowardly, but his heart’s generally in the right place. That makes him a tremendous deviation from many of the other characters Abercrombie has introduced us to over the years, especially the apparent good guys that often prove just as bad as their adversaries.
    Unfortunately, I didn’t find Shy and Temple to be as interesting as some of the other, less sane characters from previous Abercrombie novels. Fortunately, many of my favorite sociopaths return, including Caul Shivers, Friendly (possibly my favorite character in the Abercrombie-verse), Nicomo Cosca and Lamb, a nine-fingered Northman who’s new name certainly won’t fool readers who have read Abercrombie’s previous works — though interestingly enough, the character’s real name is never actually mentioned.
    The fantasy western conceit works well with Abercrombie’s strengths of playing with common tropes and utilizing the aforementioned world-weary characters. (Perhaps I like my characters slightly insane.) The plot moves a bit slowly and I didn’t find these characters as gripping as I have in Abercrombie’s previous books, but the POV characters’ voices still provide the story with a sturdy backbone that makes it better than most everything else out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    recommend

    Good characters. Good read. Interesting and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Great book! Another dark & bloody tale, not as good as his

    Great book! Another dark & bloody tale, not as good as his others but still good! Mr. A weaves a tale where hope is just that, hope & reality hits you hard in the face. As always there are enough turns & twists to keep your guessing & not wanting to put the book down! Spolier: The Bloody Nine is back! Red Country didn't have as many "I didn't see that coming" moments & some of the characters seems a little forced, such as our actor. The meeting between Shivers & "Lamb" was anit-climatic, while there was no need for a fight, the meeting ending up being very lame. Over all a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Bloody Country

    Red Country may not be Abercrombie's best work, but that didn't stop me from loving it! The return of the Bloody Nine wasn't what I was hoping for either, but still.... I couldn't stop reading it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    A really enjoyable read

    Strong female characters, men with varying degrees of emotions and flaws and the coomon ordinary everyday struggles to survive. Add in a spalsh and dash of blood and magic and you have a great adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1