Customer Reviews for

The Red Dahlia (Anna Travis Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Anna Travis

    Having just finished this book, I'm pleasantly reminded how much I enjoyed, 'Prime Suspect'. Strong female leads and broken but human characters. Looking forward to the next Anna Travis novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Keep up the great series and write another one please I am going

    Keep up the great series and write another one please I am going through withdrawl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Good Book

    I very much enjoyed this book. I felt it was slightly more realistic than most police novels in that they were unable to identify a serial killer until recieving a tip off from somebody known to him. I also liked the fact that they took time to investigate the claim, questioning those around him, putting him under surveillance etc instead of just marching up and arresting him on the spot - the evidence was hard to find and wasn't handed to them on a platter. Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dahlia

    Red Dahlia
    Very interesting read from start to finish, very detailed and great character development.Travis the main detective has a sound personality and interesting situations which she comes across during a highly publicized murder investigation. Travis doesn't always make the right decision and gets burned for it, which was a pleasant change from perfect investigators in most other books. Her supporting cast is quite diverse and entertaining and the suspects and witnesses she interacts with round out a very good line up. Some of the subject matter in the book was more than I would normally have liked to know but helped heighten the need for closure and resolution in the case. I think it would be easier if I knew people didn't really do the things described in the book, but there are sick-o's out there which do and that truly terrifies me. Regardless great book: A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    The Red Dahlia

    I could not put the book down, it kept me interested and wanting to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In London a young woman is found brutally slaughtered near the Thames. Former lovers, Detective Inspector Anna Travis and Detective Chief Inspector James Langton are assigned to investigate although neither are fully comfortable working together and because of the level of brutality that the victim suffered at the hands of her raging culprit when still alive and even after she died.---------- Both DI Travis and DCI Langton fear this will prove not to be the first such horrid homicide and their concerns prove right when a second battered female is found. Soon afterwards, letters begin to arrive similar to what haunted Los Angeles five decades ago when the unsolved Black Dahlia murder occurred. As the vicious killer scorns the two sleuths as being pathetic losers, Travis and Langton know number three is coming if they continue to fail to uncover the identity of the Red Dahlia Avenger.---------- The second Anna Travis English police procedural (see ABOVE SUSPICION) contains an interesting premise that grips the audience from the start. The story line focuses strongly on the police work in sub-atomic levels of detail that some will feel overwhelming while others will appreciate what a cop must do to solve a well publicized case. Travis is the star but she is not Jane Tennison as readers will feel the lead investigator is too professionally detached from the murders showing little disgust, anger or any emotion. Still this is a fine whodunit with the inspectors struggling to find a Prime Suspect.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1