Customer Reviews for

The Red Garden

Average Rating 3.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not to be missed.

When one goes through a bit of a reading slump it's always a delight to be pulled back into the love of literature by one of your go-to, favorite authors. You know you'll never be disappointed, and I was not when I picked up Alice Hoffman's latest release, The Red Garde...
When one goes through a bit of a reading slump it's always a delight to be pulled back into the love of literature by one of your go-to, favorite authors. You know you'll never be disappointed, and I was not when I picked up Alice Hoffman's latest release, The Red Garden.

A self-proclaimed love letter to Massachusetts, The Red Garden is a compilation of linked short stories revolving around the town of Blackwell. From the day Blackwell is founded, it becomes a town like no other. Whether the death of a small girl, the planting of an apple orchard, or the fish-like woman who stalks the shores of the Eel River, each story introduces a character we come to know intimately. Each glimpse into their lives is, albeit brief, entirely whole and endearing.

Hoffman's stories range from the lighthearted and mischievous, to the eerie and sinister. Without straying from her classically magical prose, each tale is mythologically simplistic, yet haunting and sensual. We meet a hunchback who falls in love with the prettiest girl in town. We meet a woman living in solitude, afraid to admit to others her true desires. We meet two brothers, as different as night and day, traveling by foot through the woods with nothing but apple seeds and each other. It became a delight to finish one story and turn the page to the next, wondering what tale Hoffman would come up with.

True to form, as delightful as every full novel I've read by her, The Red Garden is classic Hoffman in a fresh package. Though she has written story collections in the past, The Red Garden feels different; it feels like Hoffman truly invested a piece of herself in this one. For skeptics wary of the short story collection, take it not for granted. Hoffman shows us why this art form can be as extraordinary as a full novel. Not to be missed.

posted by TheCrowdedLeaf on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

I want to read this book.

But almost 14.00 for a Nook book? I can get the same on Kindle for 9.99 and I can get the hardcover book from them for 15.00. I'm really disappointed that BN has upped their Nook prices like this! I can see why some of my friends no longer buy books on their Nooks and o...
But almost 14.00 for a Nook book? I can get the same on Kindle for 9.99 and I can get the hardcover book from them for 15.00. I'm really disappointed that BN has upped their Nook prices like this! I can see why some of my friends no longer buy books on their Nooks and only use library books on them instead.

posted by english_teacher_39yrs on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Pass

    This book sounded promising and the story it weaved over a centuries time would have been good if it had an ending that tied it all together. I kept reading (even through the chapters where I had no connection with the characters) because I thought the story would have been tied up in a nice package at the end. It was a big let down. Stick with Sarah Addison Allen for a story with a good ending.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    review

    Would be nice if someone actually did a review of the book instead of complain about the price

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No stars..

    I should have paid more attention to the reviews. I caught a few stories published free and thought eh, they must tie together eventually. For convenience I bought the book... very disappointing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Worst A. Hoffman book I've ever read.

    I'm sorry but I found this book so boring. Each chapter a short story with many years between. I don't write book reviews so I don't really know all of the proper ways to say boring except boring. A real snoozer zzzzzzz. Uninteresting people leading uninteresting lives in an uninteresting town. I couldn't wait to be done with it and not happy that I paid to read this garbage. Don't waste your money.
    Also, did everyone think they were going to get their ebooks free? You can get free e-books in other places and they are always adding free ebooks on B&N. You can get free reading material at smashwords. You just have to look around. It may not be all the bestsellers but there are lots of good things to read. You just have to side load them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    prices

    I concur with earlier comments - $10 for an electronic copy of a book seems excessive- defeats the object of buying an e reader- does not encourage more reading, rather a sense of resentment with each purchase.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Rating related to price NOT the book

    It seems to me Barnes & Noble has an opportunity here to capture the market with pricing. I want to by the Nook and I already have several books for Nook I read in my IPod. But I am starting to be dismayed by the increase in pricing. Just because you think you have a market that doesn't mean we cannot change our minds and platforms! I will have to put the book in wish list because I also like Alice Hoffman a lot!

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    $$$$

    I too am getting irritated with BN pricing. I haven't had the Nook long but I have only bought 2 books so far, one being a classic so it was $2. I actually look to see if the hardcover is cheaper before I consider buying the ebook, which defeats the purpose of getting a ereader. I only read one book at a time but whenever I download a sample, I feel less intrigued about the rest of the book once I see the price. BN might crush the market if it had better prices.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Love Alice Hoffman, but.....

    I love Alice Hoffman but I am quite disappointed in the price of this ebook. I am saddened that BN has chosen to raise the rates of their ebooks. I have always told my friends that I felt like I had chosen wisely when purchasing my Nook V. The Kindle but I am beginning to question that as a $5.oo difference in price between companies on ebooks adds up. The main reason for purchasing my Nook was for convenience and it looks like now I will have to go to the library to enjoy this book. I hope that BN will respond to their customers concerns by reevaluating and adjusting prices accordingly. Most people have to comparison shop for extras in today's economy and unfortunately purchasing books has become an extra. I do believe that BN has always provided good customer service but not listening to their customers on this one will cost them.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Thumbs down

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    What Reviews????

    I understand everyone's frustration over price but it would be nice if SOMEONE would have actually written a review about the book. It is difficult to get a popular opinion of the story line when everyone is complaining about price and saying nothing about the content. The best way to show your contempt for the pricing is to dump BN altogether and let their bottom line give them a hint?????

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2