Customer Reviews for

The Red Hat Club

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Southern humor

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book and the Atlanta references since I live here. I just recently discovered Haywood's books and have already begun the "Red Hat Club Rides again."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Really fun book

    This book was a real fun book. It's like Lucy and Ethel plus a couple more ladies. The situations they get into are hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    LOVED THIS BOOK BUT WHERE IS HAYWOOD SMITH'S WEBSITE?

    I wanted to know more about character so I got the Red Hat Club Rides Again! Would like to see more sequels.

    HOWEVER -

    When I click on author's website, it appears that this author's website is no more (same goes for keying in author's website directly). Does anyone have any additional info on what's going on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    This is one of the more amazing books that I have read about the friendships of older women. This book captures the affections and the sympathies perfectly. I wish every struggling older woman could read this, just for laughs!! The betrayals and the independence from men are great! And not to mention the best ending ever!!! I couldn't put this book down and I can garentee that you won't either!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    GIRLFRIENDS TIP THEIR HATS TO THE RED HAT CLUB!!

    As a [highly stressed out] professional woman approaching mid-life, I thoroughly enjoyed the Red Hat Club! The story was delightfully refreshing, and made me long to get together with my best girlfriends. So much so, that I was inspired to ask them all to read it and we planned a much needed girl friend get away to discuss the book. Hats off to the author for such a wonderful easy reading book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    LOVED IT!

    I loved this book. I hated when I had to put it down to get back to reality of my life. It is a quick, easy read, but VERY entertaining. I am in my 20's, but I love reading 'womens' fiction. I love the story telling. I hope that someday I too can still be friends with my girlfriends now. These women have so much it is an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Too young to be a Red Hatter, but loved it!

    I am in my late 20s and enjoy all kinds of fiction. I found this book to be a great read, even though I am a bit younger than the Red Hatters. In fact, this doesn't have much to do with the actual Red Hat Society, though the same poem 'Warning' was an inspiration. The characters start out as Mademoiselles (an illegal sorority), and as they age, the women rename themselves the Red Hat Club. They meet once a month, but share a long history of adventure and tradgedy, from their childhoods on. The book features episodes from their past, but focuses on present events as the women grow into their 50s. Stuck between youth and old age, each one discovers something new and meaningful about her life and the meaning of friendship. I couldn't wait to get to the end and look forward to the next one. Smith has a wry and sarcastic sense of humor, but there is also love and affection in her book. I loved the 12 traditions and wish everyone could adhere to them as faithfully as the characters in this book. This would make a great gift for your own special friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    A Warm, Fuzzy And Funny Book

    I have always enjoyed books about the south and since I have just joined the Red Hat Society this book's title intrigued me. I was immediately caught up in the lives of the six ladies (main characters). Each character had their personalities that were easy for me to follow and identify with. I laughed at their antics and I could identify with how each of the six ladies viewed the problem and how they dealt with it. The romance 'teaser' was wonderful and believable. The solution to the problem was amazing, creative and absolutely enjoyable. I hated to put this book down. This is a warm, fuzzy, funny book that every womean should read (if not for fun then for knowlege). I'm looking forward to reading Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch and Ladies Of The Lake also by Haywood Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Haywood Smith makes you PROUD to be a Southern Lady!!!!!

    The Red Hat Club, is a fast paced, can't put down, page turning book. I picked it up on a Saturday and was through with it by Sunday afternoon. I laughed all the way to the end. I grew up in the same area that the book was set in, so it made it all the more worth reading. Overall, an outstanding read, one that every women in the south would truly enjoy!!! You may even find yourself laughing at your youth and the things that you did as a young girl growning up in the South. And as always, I read it with a glass of sweet tea!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    HAYWOOD SMITH has done it again!

    After QUEEN BEE OF MIMOSA BRANCH, can it get any better? This gifted word-weaver proves that it can. THE RED HAT CLUB is a feisty, delicious ~ at times a bit naughty ~ romp, you won't want to miss. Move over Dorothea Benton Frank and share the spotlight. What joy each of you bring (with your equally extraordinary talents), to those of us who love the written word, and enjoy a good laugh along with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1