Customer Reviews for

The Red Hat Club Rides Again

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    all of Haywood Smith's books are great.

    Haywood Smith writes books that have such hysterically funny portions that I laugh out loud and my husband wants to know what is funny, so I read him portions of the books and he always laughs, too. All of these books are eagerly awaited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    WHERE IS HAYWOOD SMITH'S WEBSITE?

    When I click on author's website, it appears that this author's website is no more (same goes for keying in author's website directly). Does anyone have any additional info on what's going on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Things that make you go 'hmmmm'...

    Is it me, or does the author tries just a bit too hard to make this book as funny and hard-to-put-down as the first one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Disappointed In This Sequel

    After reading The Red Hat Club I was anxious to continue reading about what has transpired with the characters Georgia, SuSu, Teeny, Diane, and Linda. I was very disappointed in this sequel. I think Haywood Smith went too far out on a limb with Teeny having all that money and treating the 'girls' to extravagances. The Vegas kidnapping was funny but the one-month, carte blanche plastic surgery cruise that she arranged for them all was unbelievable and really ruined it for me. The internet dating part was good, the pregnancy test hillarious but it's just that gosh darned extravagance with Teeny is hard to take. Not a world that we the readers can relate to. The party at the end also was unbelievable and far fetched. I was very let down after having finished this book. Is there a sequel? If so, I hope it will be more down to earth than this one. I'm still a fan of Haywood Smith and the Red Hat Girls, I hope I can get caught up in the lives of these women again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    EVERY WOMAN NEEDS A RED HAT!

    Most are familiar with the historic warning cry, 'The Redcoats are coming! 'The Redcoats are coming!' Today, according to author Haywood Smith (born Anne Haywood Pritchett), the rallying cry should be 'The Red Hats are coming! The Red Hats are coming!' What is it about Southern women (Steel Magnolias, Being Dead Is No Excuse, etc) that makes them such fascinating protagonists? Don't know what their secret is - just that it works. 'The Red Hat Club Rides Again' is a tribute to all women in midlife who have suffered a few setbacks and bounced back. (It's a bit like the bravado song 'I'm Still Here.) Of course, not all in that age group are fortunate enough to have a multi millionairess gal pal who can grease any number of wheels and make life a lark. So, reality isn't an issue here. If you enjoy an imaginative romp, give a listen to this group as they set sail for a plastic surgery cruise and jet off to Las Vegas to rescue a friend. Cynthia Darlow deserves a sequin embroidered red hat for her entertaining voice performance - never too much drawl, always pinpoint articulation and timing. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Good read.

    I picked this up as a followup to the first book. While I did enjoy it, it does not stand out among the better books I have read. Probably better for an older crowd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine contemporary tale

    Though the membership are all in their fifties, the Red Hats still meet every month for lunch though their choice of locale has changed somewhat since Teeny has twenty million earned during the Clinton stock market boom to waste. Instead of always a high class Atlanta area location, the group also meets elsewhere incuding the Bahamas though that was part of a month long plastic-surgery extreme makeovers cruise.--- When member Pru breaks the substance abuse tenet of the twelve commandments, her southern sisters (Georgia, SuSu, Diane, Linda, and of course Teeny ¿ someone has to pay for this extravaganza) ignoring tradition 5 of minding your own business, converge on Las Vegas. Sin City is not prepared for the invasion of the Red Hats who plan to intervene and kidnap Pru so that they can take her to clean herself up in the Rockies at an exclusive rehab center, but first they must play the slots.--- The Red Hat Club once again proves that life begins at fifty as these Southern steel magnolias refuse to allow time or family relationships to interfere with their long time friendships. The current tale is intriguingly deep yet irreverent as the members satirically assault anything in their way, just ask Elton John, who will surely wear a red hat in his next public appearance. Haywood Smith provides a warm delightful tale of strong friendships that mean helping one another live life to the fullest.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1