Customer Reviews for

Red-Headed Stepchild (Sabina Kane Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great start to a new series.

My thoughts...Welcome to the world of Jaye Wells where the humor witty humor flows freely, the sexual tension is strung tighter than a violin and the action keeps you up at night. Jaye introduces us to Sabina Kane, a kick-butt heroine who's half-vampire/half-mage blood...
My thoughts...Welcome to the world of Jaye Wells where the humor witty humor flows freely, the sexual tension is strung tighter than a violin and the action keeps you up at night. Jaye introduces us to Sabina Kane, a kick-butt heroine who's half-vampire/half-mage blood makes her the perfect weapon. She is a trained assassin who is sent to do her bloodthirsty Grandmothers dirty work. Sabina's character is fun to read. She showed significant growth by the end of the story which made her more memorable. Her potential love interest, Adam, is everything readers will want out of a hero. Sexy, hexy, and tough but very secretive. I do have my reservations about him, I think I may change my opinion as the series progresses. Another memorable character is Giguhl, the demon. I think we may see more of him in future installments.

Red-Headed Stepchild kept a steady pace until about three-quarters of the way through when everything turned up a notch. This was also about the time when some secrets were revealed and the potential romance heated up. While readers learn a lot about Sabina's vampire side, little is revealed about her mage half. Book two in the series, The Mage In Black (April 2010) should explore her abilities more. I look forward to seeing where her adventures take her.

This book will appeal to UF fans. There are enough paranormal elements to keep it interesting, it is fast-paced and it offers the right amount of romance. That being said it has not hit the list as one of my favorites, YET. I am going to keep reading to see if Sabina Kane can set herself apart from the others of her kind.

posted by EllzReadz on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

A good book, but don't read it if you dislike foul language and sexual scenes. An interesting new take on vampires.

posted by Kari13 on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Interesting

    A good book, but don't read it if you dislike foul language and sexual scenes. An interesting new take on vampires.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting concept...

    but just wasn't as good as the back cover led me to believe. Hopefully, the second book in the series will be a little better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    Ok...

    Seemed alittle slow, had to keep coming back to read. Not a bad story - just ok

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I picked up this book not knowing anything about it. It was a little slow in the beginning but worth following through with the entire book. The end leaves you hanging and waiting for the next book so it's not a stand alone novel. I bought mine and donated it to the library. I will probably read the next book in the series once it comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    OK book

    This book is OK,but not the best. It's hard to really be sympathetic for the main character. She just seems kind of generic compared to othet Urban Fantasy series. Only buy this if it's on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    YA/teen interesting light read.

    The reader who would enjoy this book is someone who reads other young adult/teenage books or someone who likes fluff pieces. I would read Jaye Wells' other books because I fall into the 'fluff' category. However, I would not buy any other books in this series written by Wells. I would borrow them from my library. I would not recommend this book for a book club book. There are too many character decision-making inconsistencies and there's no larger message that can be delved from this book. It's literary popcorn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    An entertaining and quick read. I like the more detailed story behind where vampires came from - and how all vampires are redheads [and any redhead humans have vampire in their heritage - very clever!]. The plot and the characters are interesting enough for me to want to find out what happens next, so we'll see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Fun read.

    Enjoyed the book. It was a fast read and will probably read other books in the series. I loved the "cat"/demon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Anomynous

    I thought that this book was just okay, I guess I am just more of a fan of the classics when it comes to vampire novels. Pardon me if this next statement offends anyone, but this seems like the author was putting the term "gingers don't have souls", which is annoying. Yes, there is strong language and sexual parts, so I recommend it for high school and up, but it isn' t the worst you could read regarding those issues. All in all it was not a bad buy, but I will have to think about continueing,sorry if that's spelled wrong, on with the rest of this series. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Fast easy read

    Enough said

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Well-written and intense

    I bought this book because it was one of the Nook Daily Deals and it was definitely worth it. An interesting and complex plot; despite all the warnings the heroine stubbornly clings to the "evil" of the warring groups agenda because she they are supposedly family. It is frustrating at times that she can't see what is right in front of her face, but luckily it does end better then it begins and there are lots of little twists to pull you through. I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Um......

    Hello my peeps

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Quick read. Ok book.

    Good book. Quick read. I found myself rolling my eyes throught it due to the overusage of slang words. It took away from the storyline. Nobody really uses "smoked him" as a synonym for killing. The author really could have done better without.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Inappropriet??

    Is it? At all?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3