Customer Reviews for

Red-Headed Stepchild (Sabina Kane Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great start to a new series.

My thoughts...Welcome to the world of Jaye Wells where the humor witty humor flows freely, the sexual tension is strung tighter than a violin and the action keeps you up at night. Jaye introduces us to Sabina Kane, a kick-butt heroine who's half-vampire/half-mage blood...
My thoughts...Welcome to the world of Jaye Wells where the humor witty humor flows freely, the sexual tension is strung tighter than a violin and the action keeps you up at night. Jaye introduces us to Sabina Kane, a kick-butt heroine who's half-vampire/half-mage blood makes her the perfect weapon. She is a trained assassin who is sent to do her bloodthirsty Grandmothers dirty work. Sabina's character is fun to read. She showed significant growth by the end of the story which made her more memorable. Her potential love interest, Adam, is everything readers will want out of a hero. Sexy, hexy, and tough but very secretive. I do have my reservations about him, I think I may change my opinion as the series progresses. Another memorable character is Giguhl, the demon. I think we may see more of him in future installments.

Red-Headed Stepchild kept a steady pace until about three-quarters of the way through when everything turned up a notch. This was also about the time when some secrets were revealed and the potential romance heated up. While readers learn a lot about Sabina's vampire side, little is revealed about her mage half. Book two in the series, The Mage In Black (April 2010) should explore her abilities more. I look forward to seeing where her adventures take her.

This book will appeal to UF fans. There are enough paranormal elements to keep it interesting, it is fast-paced and it offers the right amount of romance. That being said it has not hit the list as one of my favorites, YET. I am going to keep reading to see if Sabina Kane can set herself apart from the others of her kind.

posted by EllzReadz on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

A good book, but don't read it if you dislike foul language and sexual scenes. An interesting new take on vampires.

posted by Kari13 on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Poo

    I think I can tell that the girls hair is faux anyone else?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I do not recommend this book to anyone.

    I do not recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    good read

    started off a little slow but as you read on it picked up and kept me interested. Will start on #2 to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    The five star book

    Ok,yes this book is another vampire book.but,damnnn!!!!!!!! ITS REALLY GOOD.especially the clubbin and the way the main character talks. Also,how her freind tries to warn her but she still has to kill him.THATS HARD!!!!!!!.Thats some reallife drama right there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great read, cannot wair ro read sexond part Great read ,cannot wait to read second part

    Loved the characters, especially the cat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    ?.. ...

    Looks like a good book...... should i get it? Please answer.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Recommend

    Really enjoyed this book on my way to the next and the next : >

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good series

    Strong storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    So Good!!!!

    This is the first book I read by this author and I loved it!!!! I can't wait to read the next one in the series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great read

    The series is interesting and well thought out. The characters grab you. The writing is simple and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Sabina Rules

    This is the start of a great new series in the urban fantasy genre. If you are a fan of the Elemental Assassin series (Jennifer Estep), Void City serier (J. F. Lewis), or Diana Rowland's Mark of the Demon books you will probably love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    breath of clean air

    ive read the anita blakes and after the down hill ride was happy to find this vamp/mage!!!if you like vamps youll love this one i did. so why not give it a try? it has a edge to it thats just so yummy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    pulls you in

    i just read this on my nook and it was good. i have been having a hard time finding books i like

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I picked up this book not knowing anything about it. It was a little slow in the beginning but worth following through with the entire book. The end leaves you hanging and waiting for the next book so it's not a stand alone novel. I bought mine and donated it to the library. I will probably read the next book in the series once it comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Sabina is Awesome!

    This chick is racking up there with one of my all time butt-kicking female faves. A fast paced fun adventure that leaves me waiting for the sequel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    red-headed stepchild isn't one

    This is the story, of this reality horror genre, that needs to be a movie, tv series, something. it plays out so solidly. the deamon is my fav character in the book. i eagerly await the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Now this I liked.

    i just love finding a new favorite author, don't you? ms wells has created a universe that we all can enjoy. i really loved it. vampires, witches and hybrids all living, loving, hating, fighting together. i can't wait for mage in black.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Mediocre at best

    The writing was very sub-par, the plot predictable and the characters either one dimensional or taken straight from the vampire sterotype list.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Red-Headed Stepchild

    I am new to the fantasy books I started with the twilight series and now I have started this one. I really enjoyed it and can't wait to find out what happens in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18