BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Helmet

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Homer Hickam's best book ever!

    RED HELMET is a riveting,romance/adventure story that captures the true spirit of the West Virginia coal miner and the courage and skill of mine rescue teams everywhere. It's a real page turner that will have the reader laughing out loud in some parts and in tears in others. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Love this new Homer Hickam book!

    Homer Hickam's latest novel takes him back to a familiar place the coalfields of West Virginia. And, the homecoming is sweet. In Red Helmet Hickam is right in the pocket with the tale of a small mining town, a big city out of towner stirring things up, action, adventure, romance and humor. If you liked his 'Coalwood' series, which included the now classic 'Rocket Boys' which became the good-but-not-as-good-as-the-book movie 'October Sky', you'll really love this modern day peek into the lives of these folks. Plus, if you're a fan of popular musician Jim Brickman, he makes a cameo in the book. How cool is THAT? I loved this book...couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Homer Hickam returns to his roots with a thrilling tale of contemporary West Virginia

    Readers clamoring for fast-moving, absorbing books of either fiction or non-fiction can certainly find both in the works of Homer Hickam. Besides his internationally acclaimed 'Rocket Boys' memoirs, Hickam has written a gripping narrative about German U-boats along America's Atlantic coast during World War II ('Torpedo Junction'), a riveting techno-thriller sure to please any science fiction buff ('Back to the Moon'), eloquent and heartfelt words of 'strength and courage' inspired by the events of September 11, 2001 ('We Are Not Afraid'), and three action-packed World War II novels featuring the swashbuckling Josh Thurlow ('The Keeper's Son,' 'The Ambassador's Son,' and 'The Far Reaches'). With his latest novel, Homer Hickam returns to his roots and the coal mines of West Virginia that he knows so well. And in the pages of 'Red Helmet,' with its focus on contemporary Highcoal, West Virginia, you'll become familiar with them too, as well as the problems and issues that residents daily--and unflinchingly--face head-on. And throughout the story, which showcases beautiful, hard-nosed New York businesswoman Song Hawkins and the equally tough manager of the Highcoal mine, Cable Jordan, are interwoven thrilling subplots of intrigue, romance, murder, and sheer nail-biting suspense. It all makes for a page-turning tale, one that will captivate the millions of devoted fans of this best-selling author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Loved this book!

    I like all of Homer Hickam's books but I'm tickled he has decided to return to what made him famous in the first place with this story of life in the Appalachian coalfields. The difference is this time his story has a contemporary setting with all the problems and challenges of life in today's world. I loved his main character, the plucky Song, a rich New Yorker who marries a West Virginia coal mine manager. Cable's his name and coal mining's his game and nothing, not even love for his rich, new wife, is going to get him to leave the mountains and mines. Naturally, it doesn't take too long before the marriage is in trouble. Cable's a great character, too, but he is so typically MALE. I liked it when Song decides to put on the red helmet of the novice coal miner and show Cable what she's truly made of. Pretty soon, I was cheering her and her fellow 'red caps' on. There's also a mystery to be solved and a murder or two, not to mention a big finish with a mine explosion and a rescue attempt that makes all the big television news programs. I know women readers are going to love this story and I bet men will, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Just finished the Advance Reading Copy and loved it

    Another great book by Homer Hickam. A romantic look at modern coal mining USA. After his wildly successful 'Coalwood' series - Rocket Boys/October Sky, etc. - Hickam has written a stirring, very satisfying novel set in modern Appalachia. He pulls no punches. Song, a beautiful New Yorker, and Cable, the manager of a coal mine, love each other but Song hates West Virginia and the people in it. Meth and oxycontin are part of the culture now and Hickam includes it along with the otherwise lovable people of Highcoal. Ultimately, Song has to put on the red helmet of a new coal miner and face the coal mine which she naturally detests. But there, she finds of all things love. The book is dedicated to mine rescue teams everywhere so I don't think it gives too much away to say that Hickam has also written a 'mine rescue procedural' here. Ever wonder what's going on behind the scenes during a mine rescue? Hickam provides it. All this plus his trademark subtle humor 'yet, I laughed out loud several times', Hickam may be back with a book that could approach even October Sky in sales. We booksellers are always looking for a book to stimulate sales post-Christmas. I think we have one here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1