Customer Reviews for

A Red Herring without Mustard (Flavia de Luce Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Rate the book...not the price!

    It's unfair to go on here and give a bad rating because you don't agree with BN pricing. (and it is 9.99)On that note...
    Please read this book! If you loved the other books in this series...you won't be disappointed! They say don't judge a book by it's cover...in this case, DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ONE PERSONS UNFAIR RATING!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Review the book - not Kindle prices

    I have read all other books in this series, but have not yeat read this one - based on the previoius two I'll go out on a limb and give it four stars. I also own a Kindle. The reviews should be limited to the book, don't slam the book due to B&N business practises. I agree it's ridiculous to pay more than paperback (and 25% more than a competitor's price) - but that is not under the author's control!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific post WWII whimsical amateur sleuth

    In Bishop's Lacey, England the Gypsy looks into her crystal ball to inform eleven year old chemist and amateur sleuth Flavia de Luce her future. However, the hag tells her she has never in her life seen a darker future. Flavia is not one to be concerned as the child deals with an odd household on their Buckshaw Estate. Her widowed father the Colonel lives for his philately collection; her oldest sister Ophelia "Feely" loves her music; and the middle sister thirteen years old "Daffy" Daphne hides in her books. Flavia, who never met her mother Harriet (outside the womb that is), uses her late great-Uncle Tarquin's fully loaded chem lab as her escapism into the savory world of poison.

    Soon after the dark reading, Flavia finds the corpse of the ancient Gypsy. Someone stabbed the woman to death in her wagon. Flavia on her bike Gladys investigates the homicide while she contemplates that the murder appears to be one of passion perhaps vengeance; similar to what she thrives for against her older siblings though not with murderous malice. Instead of solving this killing, Flavia finds a second body. Her inquiry leads to an intriguing clue to what she considers the key mystery.

    This is a terrific post WWII whimsical amateur sleuth as Flavia follows the murder clues while eluding the demands of her older sisters and her father is to busy with his stamps. As with her previous cases (see The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag), the tweener keeps the story line focused as she investigates two homicides in which the clues twist into something personal.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Flavia de Luce is at it again

    It's the third book I've read in the Flavia de Luce series, so obviously I do love something about these books. However, I think emotion bled into some of my star rating. It's just so hard to dislike 11 year old Flavia and this series is the perfect escape when that's exactly what you're looking for.

    I do a lot of willing suspension of disbelief in these books, but possibly a little more in this one. Flavia's intellect is clearly superior and her knowledge of chemistry is remarkable...a little too remarkable at times. At eleven she can't possibly know every single reaction and chemical makeup of all things in the Universe, and yet she apparently does. I really could have done without knowing the elements of the skin on top of a cold mug of formerly hot chocolate and I think everyone else could have done too. It added nothing to the story.

    What does add to the story for me is the believable torment from her sisters, both of whom must miss their mother so much that they have misdirected their grief by taking it out on Flavia, who was only one year old when their mother died in a mountain climbing accident and does not remember her. And additional tension is created from the financial difficulties of their father, who appears poised at the precipice of bankruptcy at all times. What I don't understand is how they have not yet resolved his wife's estate after ten years.

    There is also a fair bit of contrived plot in this, but when did that ever stop Bradley before? I still enjoy watching Flavia dart about the countryside on faithful old Gladys (her bike) and she does move the story forward with her sleuthing in a convincing way. Never mind that bodies seem to litter Buckshaw's grounds like confetti throughout Flavia's short career as a detective. It is still fun and eminently readable. Bradley is an engaging author and Flavia is an adorable protagonist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Love flavia

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    First rate for the episode

    The child who took down license plate number to the master chemist she is becoming is absolutely delightful, thrilling, informative, well set with characters that unfold and is a good read.
    I read these books because I like Agatha Christie and good mysteries. This one is a cliffhanger. So many questions unanswered but some are answered. I do question the recent inclusion in many of these continuing stories, the Harry Potter series for one, that the past books summaries appear on pages of the books throughout as part of the story.
    I just wonder why the third story with all it's content could not be written like the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Enjoyable and engaging

    Situations are constantly moving with questions left to answered when more information is gathered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    great read

    Love the characters, especially when Flavia talks to her beloved bike! Can't wait for the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved it!

    Glacial is such a fun character, and her sleuthing is entertaining. This series is an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Love It!

    So Sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    F y yrrfb fdfhddhfry vx

    Vn ettuduct Vmbm dht tis yr y ccu ruj h h rdhurur

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Flavia is special

    Flavia continues her feud with her sisters and learns a little mire about her mother and father. She also discovers a surprise that Harriet was planning to give Father when she was to return after the last expedition when she disappeared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Absolutely delightful

    Charming and unforgetable characters and wonderful use of lsanguage makes you hunger for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great Series

    This is the third book in the series and it did not dissapoint. It was fun to see what mischief Violet gets into this time. Start with the first and second book if you have not read them already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A Red Herring Without Mustard

    Befriending a gypsy after burning down her tent seems to be the beginning of Flavia de Luce's mystery and troubles. She knows her father will not welcome the gypsy on their land, but feels the obligation to see to her ailing new friend. When she goes to check on the old lady, Flavia finds the first part of the mystery, someone has tried to murder the gypsy.
    Inspector Hewitt joins the tale and is not overly pleased with Flavia's involvement in another of his cases. Flavia fills the inspector in on most of the story, omitting details she wants to investigate herself. During her investigation, she stumbles onto another body and it just happens to be someone she knows was up to no good. Inspector Hewitt insults her by cutting her out of the investigation.or so he thinks.
    In the midst of the investigation, Flavia's father tells her and her sisters they will be losing the house they grew up in. We learn a lot about her chemistry obsession and family dynamic, including two sisters who love to torture their 'baby' sister. Flavia even gets a knife held to her throat by an unknown girl.
    A wonderfully written mystery that is perfect for reading anytime. Once you start this book, you will feel you know the characters and are a part of the story.

    Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Flavia at it again!

    Flavia is a wise Beyond her years 11 year old, can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6