Customer Reviews for

Red Hot Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hot, thrilling, and romantic, Red Hot Dragon was an amazing para

    Hot, thrilling, and romantic, Red Hot Dragon was an amazing paranormal romance novella! I really enjoyed this lovely romance.

    Avani and Griffin were great characters. Both were strong, likable, and wonderful. Avani was a heroine that knew what she wanted and wasn't afraid to go for it. She was awesome. Griffin was super sweet and dedicated to his job and his loved ones. I really liked both of them.

    The romance was hot. Like, you might need to fan your face a few times. But, it was also sweet seeing Avani and Griffin go from a business deal to falling in loved. I thought they were a lovely couple.

    The plot was fast paced. I was kept interested the entire way through. There were thrills that kept me hooked. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

    Red Hot Dragon was a fantastic, super hot romance novella. Loved this book! If you want a hot romance that keeps you hooked, then this is a book you'll want to read.

    *I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    One thing that I'm certain of is that I'm quickly becoming a fan

    One thing that I'm certain of is that I'm quickly becoming a fan of Lolita Lopez and her alter ego under the pen name of Roxie Rivera. While I had some issues with the first installment of the Dragon Heat series, Dead Sexy Dragon, I still liked it overall. However, I found Red Hot Dragon to be much more enjoyable.

    The difference between Dead Sexy Dragon and Red Hot Dragon to me is that I felt the relationship between Griff and Avani was more fleshed out. I felt as if the author took more time in this story to build on Griff and Avani's relationship. Although, I do have to argue that Griff and Avani's relationship was still a bit rushed. They got together rather quickly and for that I wished there would have been more of a buildup to it. Yet, there was an emotional connection between Griff and Avani that I didn't get from Stig and Cora from Dead Sexy Dragon. With that, it made all the difference and is what pushed the rating higher for me as Griff and Avani's story was not only sexy, but there was more of an emotional depth to their story.

    While I did enjoy Red Hot Dragon, there is a minor criticism from me. I felt that for such a short book (novella) this story had a little too many sex scenes in it. It didn't overpower the story per se, but I thought some of the sex scenes could have been devoted to more of the emotional elements of Griff and Avani's relationship.

    Other things that I should mention about Red Hot Dragon is that Griff and Avani were wonderful characters, the pacing was quick, the chemistry was sizzling and the sex was hot. Also, although this is the second in the series, it can be a stand alone read.

    In conclusion, Red Hot Dragon was an easily enjoyable read. Any reader looking for a fast-paced and sexy paranormal romance should pick up Red Hot Dragon by Lolita Lopez. This was an exciting story all around. I'm certainly looking forward to more of these sexy dragon shifters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I would read again

    I started this series a few weeks back and I really enjoyed the first story. I enjoyed this one as well. Good character development and go plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    It is not as heavy on the paranormal as perhaps some would like,

    It is not as heavy on the paranormal as perhaps some would like, but Red Hot Dragon is the perfect choice if you are looking for a fast, super-sexy read with a little out of this world element. Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on Wordpress.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Deliciously dragon! Oh dear lord. I pretty much drooled all ove

    Deliciously dragon!

    Oh dear lord. I pretty much drooled all over the first book in the Dragon Heat in my review, and the second installments totally did not disappoint. Red Hot Dragon is the story of Griffin Cadogan, Welsh Red thunder make, and Avani Monroe, last of the Naga line. Their relationship begins as a deal – Grif is the only shot Avani has at having a child to continue the Naga gifts.

    Of course four days locked up together during synced up mating cycles changed that plan a bit.

    The romance in Red Hot Dragon is well-built and given a decent opportunity to grow considering the length of the story. Grif and Avani are likeable and true, and there’s no unnecessary relationship drama between the two. Just lots of sex and some outside forces trying to get in the way of…well, sex.

    There were one thing about this novel that I didn’t like – it’s not completely stand-alone. The drama going on outside the relationship is touched upon but left completely open-ended. I assume the story of Mad and Ivy will be continued in the next book, but the way they were introduced and then discarded without more information was blunt. It didn’t make me want to stop reading the series but it did keep the book from getting a higher rating.

    I gave Red Hot Dragon four stars. Just like the first book in the series, Dead Sexy Dragon, this story is a must read for any shifter-romance lovers who don’t mind their books a little steamy. I’ll be watching for the next installment in the Dragon Heat series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great story -- once you start you won't want to put down!!!! Th

    Great story -- once you start you won't want to put down!!!! The series itself is a must read that has left me excited for the next book. It is a paranormal romance book with enough action to make you wish for your very own dragon!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Red Hot Dragon is Lolita Lopez's second book in her Dragon Heat

    Red Hot Dragon is Lolita Lopez's second book in her Dragon Heat series. Each story can be read as a standalone book but the stories do feature recurring characters.




    In Red Hot Dragon, dragon shifter Griffin Cadogan is approached by fellow shifter Avani Monroe with an offer to help him through his heat if he agrees to have a baby with her. Avani is the last of the dragon serpent shifters so Griffin is hesitant at first but eventually agrees. Sparks fly, romance ensues and an interesting plot follows. I really enjoyed this story. Conflict was interesting, introduction of new characters was great. Highly recommend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I am really enjoying this series! They are hot and have a good s

    I am really enjoying this series! They are hot and have a good story line. Looking forward to the next story in the series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Sexy and dangerous

    This was a great story, I had concerns because it was short, but what a ride! The characters were great - sweet, sexy, slightly damaged and brave enough to embrace chance and change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    More enjoyable than the first book. The series is picking up spe

    More enjoyable than the first book. The series is picking up speed.

    Avani Monroe is the last on her kind after the systematical eradication of her mother's rare and unique line, the Naga, by the Knights. In a last ditch effort to save her bloodline, she has a daring proposal for her enemy whose line is most compatible to hers. Any offspring they might have could result in that child inheriting her Naga gifts.

    Griffin Cadogan is devoted to the Brotherhood of the Green Hide and his duty of protecting all dragons from the Knights. Seeing his friend Stig with his new mate has stirred a similar longing in him. But his duty is a dangerous one and he won't subject his mate and children to the dangers of his job. When Avani and asks him to help her by having a child with her, he's appalled and intrigued at the same time. Neither is looking for a commitment, however he only agrees if they do things on his terms. But a lot can change in nine days.

    I enjoyed this second book in the series more than the first. It had a lot to do with the maturity of the characters and how they communicated with one another. When the blood feud between their families was mentioned, I worried at first that that would be the main obstacle or source of drama that would overshadow what they were trying to accomplish. Thankfully it wasn't really an issue. Since they had to spend their mating cycle in seclusion, they got to know one another in more ways than the biblical sense. Once they realized that feelings for one another were beginning to surface, I loved that they voiced those feelings instead of trying to hide them or talk themselves out of wanting more out of their arrangement. It may have been a little predictable that something would force Avani to embrace and use her serpent form, but it was nice to see her fight alongside her man rather than be one of those females who had to stay behind for her own safety. I love confident heroines and heroes who support them rather than coddle them. The sub plot involving Ian Maddoc hinted at something more dangerous than sneak attacks from the Knights so I am really looking forward to his story. If you're looking for a sexy dragon shifter romance, then this series is for you.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher for the purpose of an honest review. The views and opinions expressed in this review are my own, and in no way represent the views or opinions of the publisher/distributor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Oh, Mrs. Lopez... you got me. You totally won me over with your

    Oh, Mrs. Lopez... you got me. You totally won me over with your Dragons.

    The other book got dropped a star because I felt Stig wasn't quite Alpha enough for me. I mean, he was hot, but I thought there could have been more 'brutish' behavior for a reclusive dragon shifter.

    Then Lolita goes and gives me Griffin. We met him, kinda sorta in the first book. I would like a bit more interactions with the supporting cast in previous books, just so we get this rumbly in our tumbly for them in future books. Book one just made me want to snog the living day lights out of Ignacius ( Think that is the spelling) He has one eye, is scarred, is very icy, but has this big ole' marshmallow heart.

    Ok, enough about that. Let's talk about Vonny and Griffin.

    Vonny comes off as an ice queen.

    But you like her anyways because the chick has gumption.

    Who doesn't like a chick with gumption.

    After the knights eradicated nearly her whole family, she's been on her own and made a good life for herself. Being successful and kinda lonely, she realizes its time to have a child. But a child that can keep on the family line.

    So, she does some research and lookie their Griffin has some Naga blood in his family tree. So what does an independent woman do. Why she approaches said hunky dragon shifter, right after he's been sexy rolling around a fighting ring with another sexy dragon shifter and says. "Hey, I need us to hump during our mating cycles so I can get preggers."

    Now, before you get a judgy on her, hear me out.

    She wants to go this alone.

    She wants to be a single mother and be the parent, hers never were to her.

    But Griffin ain't having none of that.

    If he's gonna make a baby with the ice queen, he's gonna be a good parent.

    Now, I gotta give him credit for that. Its commendable.

    So thus begins the baby making process. This book had more smexy scenes than the first one, but yikes they were yummy.

    Griffin is more demanding and Alpha than Stig, and Vonny turns out to be this really clever, yet loving woman.

    Then all hell breaks loose and the dang Knights show up. Lopez gives up more on that back history, she digs deeper into some shady business with the Brotherhood, and totally does a great lead in, into book three. (July Ms. Lopez... really? You're making we me wait until JULY!)

    Anyways, Vonny has been holding back her Naga (a crazy cool snake like water serpent) with meditation and fasting. Well, when her mate is threatened, Vonny gets shifting and it is so effing OFF THE HOOK!

    What I think I love most out of this series is that Lolita is allowing the women to be the heroes essentially in the big fight scenes. She's giving them a sense of power. Not just with them being kick butt and acting like amazon warrior princesses. But they are smart, vulnerable, clever, and they can save their men just as well as their men can save them.

    She truly locked onto what a 'strong female lead is' people think most women are 'strong' because they can beat up boys and shoot a gun and just go balls to the walls. No one stops to think that a strong woman, is a smart woman, and that is what Lolita has done.

    JULY!!!!!! JULY!!!!!!!! *DIES*

    *I received a copy of this book from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Harpoon click on this

    This is blackfeather. I want to start an assassin school. Can you help me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Harpoon

    "Buisness partners huh? Prove yourself. Go hunt a kit or a cat and drag it here."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Heather to All

    Go to tom leeven t have fun

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Codey

    He gave her a confused look

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1