Customer Reviews for

Red Light (Merci Rayborn Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting police procedural

    A sergeant in the Orange County Sheriff¿s Department, Merci Rayborn is a dedicated law enforcement official. She is an honorable person who believes her calling is to apprehend and bring criminals to justice. Although two long years have passed since a psychopath killed her partner and lover Tim Hess, Merci remains consumed with anger and guilt because he died protecting her. She is dating once again, going out with police officer Mike McNally, a kind person who wants to marry Merci and adopt her child. Merci cannot accept a permanent relationship. <P>Merci leads the investigation into the killing of high priced call girl Aubrey Whitaker. The homicide turns personal when Mike¿s fingerprints appear in the home of the deceased. Mike admits he had dinner with Aubrey the night she was murdered. Merci digs deep inside herself in order to find the fortitude to make the inquiries that will prove Mike¿s innocence, but each new clue points her towards the conclusion that her paramour is the shooter. <P>T. Jefferson Parker has written one of the better police procedurals of the first year in the new millennium. Fans of Ridley Pearson and Linda Fairstein will fully enjoy RED LIGHT because it is a novel that has as much heart as it does action. The heroine is a sympathetic character driven by emotional needs that the audience understands and empathizes with even though they will question some of her actions. The rich sub-plots add complexity to the fast-paced main story line. On a score from a high five to a low one, this book is a strong six. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Great Book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing, with good twists and turns. I couldn't put it down (and I loved the large print). I highly recommend this book. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Too complicated

    First, I couldn't keep the 2 cases straight and separate. Next, I just have no feeling and no compassion for the protagonist, Merci Rayborn. She wallows in self-pity and cares only for herself. When she does the right thing, it even seems bad and shallow minded. And please, give me good plotting and skip the political commentary. Too much unnecessary John Birch info. It didn't feel right it felt more scripted. If you buy this at the bargain price and you're on a transoceanic flight, it'll be great. You'll go right to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    " spellbinding "

    T.Jefferson Parker does it again! The master at his best. He creates such good stories, and great plots it's hard to put the books down. Merci Rayborn is a down-to-earth detective, not a superhero who wins at the end of the day. Treat yourself to some good reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Five stars are not enough

    There is a problem with this book. It was so spellbinding I could not get another thing accomplished till I had finished it. Please Mr. Parker hurry to write another sequel so we can find out what Merci does with her life. THE BLUE HOUR and RED LIGHT are not enough. Thanks for the wonderful read...Millie Atwell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    A POWERFUL NOVEL THAT DELVES INTO THE INTRICACIES OF LIFE, BETRAYAL AND REVENGE!

    In RED LIGHT, T. Jefferson Parker¿s sequel to THE BLUE HOUR, Sergeant Merci Rayborn of the Orange County Sheriff Department returns to investigate the murder of a prostitute. It¿s been two long years since the Purse Snatcher killed her partner and lover, Tim Hess, and the emotional pain and guilt still haven¿t gone away. Her father has moved in with her to help with little Tim, Jr. and to try and ease the fears that have overwhelmed her during the past twenty-four months. As she and her new partner, Paul Zamorra, dig deeper into the dead prostitute¿s life, the crime scene evidence starts to point to another police officer, Mike McNally, as the perpetrator¿a man she has been dating for several months. Merci doesn¿t want to believe that her lover could be the killer, but as the evidence begins to pile up, she soon realizes that there may be no choice but to take him down. If that wasn¿t enough, Merci is asked by her boss to take a look at a thirty-year-old case in which another prostitute was murdered. As she works on the second case, it soon becomes clear that the death of the two prostitutes may be connected and that higher-ups in the Sheriff Department could be involved. It won¿t be long before Merci will have to make a choice as to whether or not to betray her lover and to risk her life and career by going after the men who murdered a woman three decades ago out of greed and political gain. RED LIGHT is a powerful character study of a female police officer who must combat her own personal demons, while at the same time seeking revenge against those who murdered two women over a thirty-year time span. Merci will find herself in a position of not knowing whom to trust and will even begin to question her own judgment. Filled, however, with an inner strength and a dog-like determination, our heroine will throw caution to the wind and plow ahead in order to find the truth. At the end of this journey for retribution, Merci will finally discover that truth has its price and that betrayals may take years to heal and to forgive. T. Jefferson Parker has written a stark novel about life, death, and what it means to be a human being, demonstrating his unique gift at being able to create primary and secondary characters that live and breath¿characters that come alive in such a way as to draw the reader into the story as if they were actually participating in it themselves. All of his characters are flawed and must learn to deal with the obstacles that life throws at them. Some will succeed and others will not. The one theme that comes across so strongly in RED LIGHT is that we can¿t always do it by ourselves and must occasionally allow others to offer us a helping hand. It demands a certain element of trust and sometimes that¿s the hardest thing to give. RED LIGHT is not an action-packed novel, but rather a hard, poignant look at what it¿s like to be a woman who also happens to be a mother and a police officer and the choices that have to be made in a man¿s world. This novel will definitely leave you wanting more, and I hope Mr. Parker will bring back Merci Rayborn for at least one more outing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    Should be 10 stars

    On a scale of one to five I give it a 10. Best novel I've read in quite a while. This sequel to The Blue Hour has fine prose, is a great whodunit and most of all has terrific characterization. The mystery involves past and present crimes, but I found it harder to solve because I was so engrossed in the characters. They are very vividly drawn and beautiful in a strange way. I reread this advance copy, to see what I liked so much about it and realized it was better than I thought. I've really enjoyed every book Mr. Parker has written, but this is the best so far. I'd say it is just about perfect. This is a sequel and I would strongly encourage reading The Blue Hour first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1