Customer Reviews for

Red Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is awesome!!!! it's inspiring, adventurous and suspenseful. I felt bad for angelina!!!! :' anyone who likes ben mikealsn has to read this book!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Red Midngight Review

Red Midnight is an exciting adventure, historical fiction blend. Ben Mikaelsen the author strongly portrayed the horrors that a Guatemalan child and his sister must deal with. Ben Mikaelsen was born in Bolivia and there he had to deal with the prejudice of being white. ...
Red Midnight is an exciting adventure, historical fiction blend. Ben Mikaelsen the author strongly portrayed the horrors that a Guatemalan child and his sister must deal with. Ben Mikaelsen was born in Bolivia and there he had to deal with the prejudice of being white. As soon as he moved to America he had to deal with the comments that insulted the way he spoke English. From this he decided that he was going to become a children¿s book writer and express the truth in the world. With this he decided he was going to become a writer when he was 13 the themes of this book are caution and diligence. Each of these themes is strongly demonstrated because of the hardships and past that Santiago must live with. Diligence is shown when Santiago in his cayuco (canoe) and thinks all he can really do is double-check everything to keep him and his sister from death. . ¿I do no know what will happen tomorrow, but today our world is the ocean and the cayuco.¿ (Pg. 89) He must stay completely focused on the task at hand and still manage to occupy his 4-year-old sister. Santiago must always be cautious as well because he doesn¿t know whom to trust or not. After all it was the government that destroyed his village and took everything from him except his sister. This novel can remind all of us that our lives may be prosperous at some time but we should always think of the people that don¿t have equal opportunities. Other databases have had their opinions on the book for example at (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0PBX/is_4_36/ai_111165594) they felt that it was a very good adventure book and is a interesting child¿s book but it really wasn¿t very realistic. I feel like this was a well-written and deep book that could spark the interest of young readers but this book was lacking in factual evidence. I would most definitely recommend this novel.

posted by Bush_Man on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Red Midngight Review

    Red Midnight is an exciting adventure, historical fiction blend. Ben Mikaelsen the author strongly portrayed the horrors that a Guatemalan child and his sister must deal with. Ben Mikaelsen was born in Bolivia and there he had to deal with the prejudice of being white. As soon as he moved to America he had to deal with the comments that insulted the way he spoke English. From this he decided that he was going to become a children¿s book writer and express the truth in the world. With this he decided he was going to become a writer when he was 13 the themes of this book are caution and diligence. Each of these themes is strongly demonstrated because of the hardships and past that Santiago must live with. Diligence is shown when Santiago in his cayuco (canoe) and thinks all he can really do is double-check everything to keep him and his sister from death. . ¿I do no know what will happen tomorrow, but today our world is the ocean and the cayuco.¿ (Pg. 89) He must stay completely focused on the task at hand and still manage to occupy his 4-year-old sister. Santiago must always be cautious as well because he doesn¿t know whom to trust or not. After all it was the government that destroyed his village and took everything from him except his sister. This novel can remind all of us that our lives may be prosperous at some time but we should always think of the people that don¿t have equal opportunities. Other databases have had their opinions on the book for example at (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0PBX/is_4_36/ai_111165594) they felt that it was a very good adventure book and is a interesting child¿s book but it really wasn¿t very realistic. I feel like this was a well-written and deep book that could spark the interest of young readers but this book was lacking in factual evidence. I would most definitely recommend this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is awesome!!!! it's inspiring, adventurous and suspenseful. I felt bad for angelina!!!! :' anyone who likes ben mikealsn has to read this book!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    A great book woven with Latino culture.

    I was looking for a young adult literature book to read with my Spanish class that would incorporate some of the culture and/or history of Spanish-Speaking countries. I was more than pleased finding this book. There was excitement, sorrow, failure and triumph. My students were riveted with the chapters and never wanted to stop reading. This is a wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

     i wanted to read this book again 

     i wanted to read this book again 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    Great experience so, interesting.

    Great experience so, interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Amazing read

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Very good book

    This a really nice book. I would reccomend it for very actiony people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Red Midnight

    Ben Mikaelsen's book Red Midnight is a great book about this teenage boy named Santiago and his four year old sister Angelina trying to survive a war in Guatemalaby heading to the United States by sailing in a kayak. Santiago wakes up and the morning and guerilla soldiers attack his village and Santiago's mother tells him to get out and leave with his sister to safety.Santiago tries to escape with soldiers everywhere shooting at anything that moves. Santiago and Angelina run for their lives until they go to their uncle Ramos's house to see if they can use one of his kayaks to escape the fierce attacks by the soldiers. Santiago and his sister learn to sail the kayak and they sail off at sea with the large risks by sailing in shark infested waters and the days of painful heat that they have to travel hundreds of miles to be safe and to start a new life in the United States.I think that the book was great and I could not put the book down. This novel will fill you with questions of what will happen next.I truly reccomend Red Midnight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    wow!

    this book is pretty cool...its really really good.READ IT!! its all about survival...and ben portrays the hardships of survival really well...its as if hes actually had to survive..i am all into survival tales and this one was really good..i tried to write a book about survival and it sucked and i tried so hard so ben is truely gifted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    The best book i have ever read

    U HAVE TO READ IT! IT LIKE A MOVIE THAT U ARE AT THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT THE WHOLE ENTIRE TIME!! Ü IT IS REALLY THAT GOOD!! Ö

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    A book that feels so real

    I have just finished this book. I totally understand how Santiago feels because I'm Hispanic. Come on. Read this book. You are in for an exciting adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Ben Mikaelsen is more than just an author....

    Ben Mikaelsen is more than just any ordinary author. He has time to reply to your e-mails. And he publishes books every once in a while. His last book published in 2001 called Touching Spirit Bear has really inspired myself. This book is more than inspiring. He owns a bear named Buffy who is 700 pounds and lives in Montana. Yeah the news is already out..... I am looking forward to him. I've already read 3 of his books, on two I got autographs signed by him. Go Ben. I already knew this was coming from a friend who had joined a club with Mikalesen about everything about his new book. The only thing I didn't know was the titles, and what the book was about. I have 2 words for Ben. Go BEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1