BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Mist (Kay Scarpetta Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

good book

I loved reading this book. it's very entertaining & well written. did not disappoint.

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Another horrible one in the Scarpetta series!

After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read so...
After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read some of the older ones. You'll know what I mean.

posted by KC19 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Another horrible one in the Scarpetta series!

    After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read some of the older ones. You'll know what I mean.

    41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    JUST DISMAL.

    I have read all of the Scarpetta novels but must confess that after reading the confusing mess that was Port Mortuary I said I would no longer read them. Well, of course I bought and read Red Mist. Never again. The 4 main characters (Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy, Marino) no longer have any redeeming qualities. None. They have become so very unlikable that it is easy to understand that in every recent book someone is trying to kill one of them; I would to. They live in an insular world of their own and nobody is allowed in, lest that person somehow contaminate their brilliance and beauty.
    The writing and plotlines have also become dreadful. As another reviewer put it, it seems that Scarpetta...and ONLY Scarpetta....... has to save the world in every novel. So THIS time I really mean it when I say I won't be reading any more P.Cornwell novels. Good riddance, for heaven's sake.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Sigh

    Many of her books are well written, but lately the characters are just too depressing.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    I loved reading this book. it's very entertaining & well written. did not disappoint.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Everytime!

    I have read every one of her books, and will continue to do so in the future. No matter the price. Always worth the price. I just hate to have to wait.

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Best book in a while...

    After reading Port Mortuary, I felt like either there were unanswered questions or I just didn't like the book enough to care that I didn't get it. Red Mist answers all the questions left from Port Mortuary and plainly explains what happened in that book. Written in the first person again, thankfully this time Kay actually has more interaction with other people and it's not 500 pages of long technical narratives and her suspicions that never get resolved. That said, the Scarpetta books aren't as great as the earlier ones and recurring themes are becoming apparent - such as constant paranoia and someone trying to frame Kay for crimes. I also figured out the ending very early in the book - it was almost too obvious. So, I'm going with 3 stars, better than it has been, but not as good as it was in the beginning.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am dissappointed in the way that Kay Scarpetta's character is developing in this series . . .

    I never thought I would say that I am through with reading about Kay Scarpetta, but that is exactly how I feel at this point. I wish the author would revisit her earlier books in this series and the way they were written. I feel that things started going south for the Kay Scarpetta storyline after her FBI husband's death was faked (in an earlier book) and everyone in Kay's inner circle knew, except her. I am uncomfortable with the dysfunctional, melancholy feel Kay's stories have now. How are the readers ever supposed to believe how accomplished and professional these characters are supposed to be, when they can't even handle their own personal relationships? The book before this one wasn't even that good, but now it is being addressed as a central there in this story. I could only get through about 1/3 of this book before I gave up on it. . . . so disappointed.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Why?

    Why do I keep reading these books??? I keep saying that I won't but then I read another one with hopes it will be better than the last, but it never is! Patricia.Corwell has changed her writing/style so much since her earlier books and I have no clue why. This book was not good. Her writing is annoying and pretentious. Think I'm finally done.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Absolutely Love this series!!

    I can't wait to read it! I have read all the books in the series and was commenting to a friend today and discovered she has started reading the series. When she showed me a list with "Red Mist" listed as "2011" I screamed and thought I had missed the hardcover edition :)!! This is a MUST READ series no matter the price! The only down side... I'm a fast reader and will be done in two (lazy) days.

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Do yourself a favor, and gift yourself by reading Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta series.

    I have never been disappointed in any of Ms. Cornwell's books. She is a master, and implore anyone who hasn't yet, to start reading the Scarpetta series from the beginning, otherwise it's like going into a movie at the end. Happy Reading!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cornwell's Dismemberment of Scarpetta seems... Reversible?

    The last few Scarpetta novels have seemed like an exercise in futility. The characters I grew to love from my favorite crime novelist seemed to disintegrate with the turn of each page. The plotlines were just so god-awful: not cheesy, by any stretch... just all-too-human, mired in heavy subject matter, with seemingly no purpose. Even the "resolution" to the past few novels just felt hollow. Each story worked together to destroy whatever positive feelings I had for any of the characters. I've always liked Lucy, Benton was just "whatever", but Scarpetta, and most of all, Marino... I can't believe Ms. Cornwell went there with his character (in Book of the Dead). It's like the author just began to... hate them all. The feeling of totally stifled rage, and shrewish lashings-out was pervasive in every book. Scarpetta was no longer a strong, powerful woman, but a whiney, "why me" personality. It seemed like Ms. Cornwell wanted to tear each of the characters apart. It was, in a word, painful (both to read and to process). So, starting this novel, it was more of the same. I liken this book to riding a rollercoaster where the first 40% of the novel was riding up the incline at the start of the coaster... only it felt like it would never end... endlessly droning and droning... the absolute opposite of everything I love about Patricia Cornwell's writing. (At this point, you're probably really starting to wonder if I mis-rated my review...) Then, it's like the dam broke and it all began rushing back. Why I liked her writing so much. Why I liked the characters so much. I finished the second half of the book in only a few sittings. For the first time in several novels, at the end, I felt... hope... for the future... for all of the characters, and most of all, for a return to what made Ms. Cornwell the household name she is. That, and there was resolution... not total, but still some resolution nonetheless. I just hope she can finally realize that she doesn't have to torture her characters (and the rest of us, for that matter) to make her novels interesting. We loved them both before she ever went down that road.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    An Enjoyable Read

    Red Mist by Patricia Cornwell was hard for me to put down. I found it intriguing. Scarpetta is still searching for clues as to why her deputy, Jack Fielding was murdered. A prison inmate seems to have some new information. Berger and Marino seem strangely ¿different¿ from what she remembered. There are many fascinating twists, hair-raising scenes and great and compelling characters. An enjoyable read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    DOA

    This book is not up to the level of older Kay Scarpetta novels! There are so many repetitive descriptions and thoughts in this book that it seems like Ms. Cornwell had a quota to meet and never mind how it made the story flow, or not flow, as long as she made her word count! The last couple of Scarpetta books I've read have been this way; sorry to say but I won't be reading any more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    tmathson

    Witout a doubt, Ms.Corwell has a unique talant for the forensic side of the grisley deaths that end up in her morge. I think that what makes her writing so seductive to the reader, is her ability to bring the vunerable personalities of Marino,Benton& Lucy into the mix.What a complex set of people each with ther own burdens to bear. Like alot of readers,I to followed Ms. Cornwells "Scarpetta" series.Might I suggest that your local library should have any of thses books avaiable to you [at no charge] on audio,hardcover and downloading onto an ipod. Check out these resources fellow readers.Until then,don your green scrubs, those bone need boiling!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    DISAPPOINTMENT

    I'VE READ CORNWELL SINCE HER BEGINNING BUT I AM SERIOUSLY DISAPPOINTED IN RED MIST. IT IS A MISHMASH OF A STORY, SEEMINGLY WITH NO CONTINUITY AND CERTAINLY THE WORST ENDING OF ANY BOOK I'VE EVER READ. THIS IS THE LAST OF CORNWELL FOR ME.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Very Disappointing

    This book is really bad. It is just a repeat of the last theme and is just plain boring. I am sorry that I pre-ordered it. I should have waited for the reviews. She should have quit while she was ahead

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Hype Only

    I quit reading her books awhile back because of the "f-bombs" but now it will be because the character has become too unlikeable.

    The author spins the plot until it is completely without reason! Pretty pathetic.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Another in the ongoing saga

    The story moves along but is a bit strained with villains popping up and down. To my view it makes little sense if one hasn't read "Port Mortuary." As with many of the Scarpetta series it depends on a deus ex machina for its ending.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    so disappointed

    after the last Scarpetta outing - Port Mortuary - i knew the character was corrupted beyond redemption - the only writing involves Kay talking to herself and telling the story. What happened to the clues, the discovery, the plot twists, and the hidden story lines? After the first Scarpetta novel i read i slept with the lights on for a week...now, i fall asleep reading them. Obviously, Patricia Cornwell has resorted to writing for the sake of writing and not to tell the story...i am done with this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    LOST

    If it had not been a Kay Scarpetta novel I would not have finished this read. Way too much past history and too much internal struggle. After all these years only Benton has maintained any wisdom and his is rather tedious. The plot was lost in all internal struggles of everyone involved. Ilove you Kay, but you lost your way on this one. Come back to us soon.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33