BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Mist (Kay Scarpetta Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 651 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

good book

I loved reading this book. it's very entertaining & well written. did not disappoint.

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Another horrible one in the Scarpetta series!

After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read so...
After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read some of the older ones. You'll know what I mean.

posted by KC19 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 654 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Boring and so very disappointing. Kay's continual angst-driven d

    Boring and so very disappointing. Kay's continual angst-driven drivel made this a very tough read. Lucy was more wooden than ever. Benton = cuckold. Marino's character is a shell of previous books. I was a huge Scarpette fan. No longer. Total waste of my time and money. I will most likely never buy another Cornwell book. She has sold out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No guts

    Don't get me wrong, i love kay scarpetta, patricia corwell's have always been good so i just automatically bought it. Well, i'm sorry that i did because it was long, dull, and the entire book consists of kay. i won't ruin it for anybody by pointing things out but benson and lucy and about 20 pages to them and they did little or nothing for the story. All it was basically was a medical textbook, so many medical terms, hey must've filled half the book. i'm sorry to say i would not buy this book again, so she better make her next one good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    scarpetta has been better

    PC seems to have just gotten wordy or maybe its me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Better this round

    This book was much better than Port Mortuary. I was relieved that it was better but the Scarpetta series is not as good as the earlier books. I hope that the next book will be more like the earlier ones. I will continue to read Patricia Cornwell but am definitely broadening my authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    great book

    kay scarpetta is my all time favorite character. this book was a bit wordy but up to cornwells style. would love her to go back to the scarpetta of old tho

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Not as good!

    I am disappointed in this book, first it tells the plot of the previous book which I have not read yet. It was slow moving and it did'nt hold my interest as well as her previous books have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Never again

    Wish the original version of Cornwell's characters would return. Can't stand these angry, disfunctional, ridiculous facades. You've lost this reader Ms. Cornwell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Ok

    I expected better from Cornwell. Just seemed like she rushed through writing this and really didnt put alot of thought into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Was Hoping

    I am a huge Scarpetta fan, but the last four books have been disapointing! I was hoping that this one would be a winner. Unfortunately Patricia Cornwell has lost her touch! The earlier books in the series were so captivating and worth the read! I cannot believe she write these last few books. Terrible....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Red Mist

    Not the page turner that some Scarpetta books are. Not the worst of the series, but far from the best. Slow moving but I didnt figure it out till close to the end. Not sure I like the brooding, emotional Scarpetta.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Red mist

    Am a huge fan of the scarpetta novels, but the last two have been disappointing. Over half of the book was just background and at that can,t imagine ever getting up to speed if i hadn,t read all the others. The last 60-70 pages were good, but its 355 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Awful!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was looking forward to reading a new Patricia Cornwell book. Hoped it was better than her last two. Very disappointed. Ended up skipping through to get to the end which was dreadful. Never going to buy another of her books. Awful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Fair, not great

    Last 3 books have this series in steep decline...perhaps this one raised it back up a bit, but to be honest, the first couple of chapters had me checking to make sure it was really Cornwell authored. Totally not the Scarpetta voice I remembered. Middle to end were a bit better, but it just was kind of meh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Not my favorite

    I am a huge fan of the Scarpetta series, but this book moved so slowly it is my least favorite. I thought it was a snoozer!! Maybe because I couldn't stay awake while reading. Sad because I love these characters! The story line did pick up about three fourths through the book then ended. If you are a fan, you'll probably read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Slow

    Worst book by this author so far Very slow and disappointing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Red Mist by Patricia Cornwell

    This was an interesting, well planned book. Over the years, having read many, if not all, I have seen Ms. Cornwell's writing style change. She is very intense with the facts, but for some reason, I feel her ability to tell her story is not quite as clear. I hope her next book will flow more freely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    awful

    One of her worst books. Very hard to get through. When did Kay get so whiny and annoying

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Sadly disappointed....

    Up until now, I have read every book in the Kay Scarpetta series and never once was I disappointed and unable to finish them within days. It took me almost 3 weeks to finish this one. The characters seem to be stuck in a permanent depression, while the storyline was good it took too long to play out and lacked the usual high intensity theme Cornwell normally exhibits in her books. I can only hope this was a one time occurrence and will not be a sign of the future books to come. I look forward all year to a new Scarpetta release and hope next year meets my expectations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Cornwell is coasting!

    I agree with the other reviewer who wondered if this book had actually been written by P.Cornwell. It seems to consist of: --scraps from Port Mortuary --300+ pages of what seems to be a series of lectures disguised as dialog --scraps from Port Mortuary. The end. Did I mention Lucy and Benton AGAIN hovering over the story in a fancy helicopter for 250+ pages? What a waste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Enjoyed the book..little slow getting started, but ended well. Typos...

    There was a typo on every 1st paragraph on every new chapter in my ebook for Kindle. Very strange. I am sure they have people that read these before they are released to market. Just sayin..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 654 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 33