Customer Reviews for

Red Mist (Kay Scarpetta Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

good book

I loved reading this book. it's very entertaining & well written. did not disappoint.

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Another horrible one in the Scarpetta series!

After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read so...
After the last two, I swore I wouldn't purchase another P. Cornwell novel. Well, I did hoping this would be better than the past three. It wasn't. Reading this was torture. What happened to Kay? Does Patricia Counwell even write these books anymore? Go back and read some of the older ones. You'll know what I mean.

posted by KC19 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Sigh

    Many of her books are well written, but lately the characters are just too depressing.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am dissappointed in the way that Kay Scarpetta's character is developing in this series . . .

    I never thought I would say that I am through with reading about Kay Scarpetta, but that is exactly how I feel at this point. I wish the author would revisit her earlier books in this series and the way they were written. I feel that things started going south for the Kay Scarpetta storyline after her FBI husband's death was faked (in an earlier book) and everyone in Kay's inner circle knew, except her. I am uncomfortable with the dysfunctional, melancholy feel Kay's stories have now. How are the readers ever supposed to believe how accomplished and professional these characters are supposed to be, when they can't even handle their own personal relationships? The book before this one wasn't even that good, but now it is being addressed as a central there in this story. I could only get through about 1/3 of this book before I gave up on it. . . . so disappointed.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    DOA

    This book is not up to the level of older Kay Scarpetta novels! There are so many repetitive descriptions and thoughts in this book that it seems like Ms. Cornwell had a quota to meet and never mind how it made the story flow, or not flow, as long as she made her word count! The last couple of Scarpetta books I've read have been this way; sorry to say but I won't be reading any more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    not the Kay of old

    What happened to her-this is no fun to read-I used to love sitting down with one of her books and not being able to put it down-not this one--maybe I'm not in the right mood!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Patricia Cornwell has fallen into the trap of "telling what

    Patricia Cornwell has fallen into the trap of "telling what happened" instead of "showing what happened". Her ideas are still interesting, but as a reader I want to experience things with the characters and not just be told how they figured it out, after the fact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Pure torture. I was very disappointed with Port Mortuary but th

    Pure torture. I was very disappointed with Port Mortuary but thought maybe it was a transitional book to move her stories in another direction. Unfortunately, Red Mist is just a continuation of the same depressing, self-serving world of Kay Scarpetta. I used to read through her books without stopping. Now I have to force myself to read a chapter. I can no longer stand any of the major characters. And it seems as if everyone in the world is out to get Scarpetta. Her earlier books were more focused on the cases with a little of the personal mixed in to give the characters some depth. With the past 3-4 books, it seems as though the character has become the focus and the cases are a secondary afterthought. I no longer have any desire to read Corwell's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Ok

    I expected better from Cornwell. Just seemed like she rushed through writing this and really didnt put alot of thought into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Sadly disappointed....

    Up until now, I have read every book in the Kay Scarpetta series and never once was I disappointed and unable to finish them within days. It took me almost 3 weeks to finish this one. The characters seem to be stuck in a permanent depression, while the storyline was good it took too long to play out and lacked the usual high intensity theme Cornwell normally exhibits in her books. I can only hope this was a one time occurrence and will not be a sign of the future books to come. I look forward all year to a new Scarpetta release and hope next year meets my expectations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have read almost all of Ms. Cornwell's books. This one was the

    I have read almost all of Ms. Cornwell's books. This one was the most tedious of reads and I could not even finish it. This is my problem and not the Authors. I am sure she put a lot of work into the book but it did not grab me like her other books. Again not her fault and others may like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    The recent novels lack personal development and characterization

    The recent novels lack personal development and characterization. It is as if some ghost writer were being employed. I keep reading her stuf because it used to be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Too bad

    Its was a disapointment it took a while for finish this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Way too slow......

    I've never taken so long trying to read one of her books! Boring!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Still slow

    Very slow read did not get exciting until the last two chapters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    DISAPPOINTING

    Was a bit disappointed. It was a slow read and somewhat repetitive. I gave it a try through page 200 and decided to call it quits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Red Mist

    Slow reading and kind of boring, definitely not cornwell at her best. After 18 + scarpetta novels, kay felt really "old"to me.benton, lucy, and marino seemed just like last minute additions...none of the principals in the book had much depth; seemed like none of them had "moved forward". BUMMER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3