Customer Reviews for

Red Planet

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    A Heinlein Classic

    One of Heinlein's juvenile stories, I read it as an adult and was completely captivated. Great story telling.

    We need more Heinlein eBooks!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    RED PLANET IS A GREAT ADVENTURE IN IMAGINATION!!!!

    I read this story in junior high school and loved it. It has been over fifty years since I read it and I must say I enjoyed it even more this time! I liked the cover of the first edition because it showed the two main characters and "Willis" seeking shelter inside a large martian plant! That image stayed with me. This new cover is confusing and cluttered! Red PLanet is early work by Heilein and his writing style is crisp and clear and the conversations down to earth. His descriptions of mars and the various earther colonies are brillant, and by using the imaginary canals on the planet, he solved the transportation problem quite easily. This is pure fantasy, based on great scienctific facts known in the 1940's and 1950's, and is a most enjoyable read. I would encourage young people to read it and to lose themselves in the joys of pure imagination! A great book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Awesome

    It was a wonderfully written book. It was very good and I read it within two days, reason being I couldn't put it down. It was a very exciting book with a great plot. If you like science fiction novels you'll love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    CLASSIC JUVENILE HEINLEIN FOR ALL READERS

    General Heinlein: Tom Clancy, David Webber, and Stephen King all credit Heinlein as thier mentor. More need not be said about the three decade all time Sci-Fi Grand Master, but this. If you haven't read Heinlein, you haven't yet lived. First Sci-Fi to Movie, perennial Best Seller (30 Million in print ten years ago!) Never off the shelves in even the poorestly sci-fi stocked book store, you can't go wrong! This adventure is about a youth being raised on Mars (As best Science knew it then -- RAH's science and engineering is ALWAYS right!) and is a rollickin good adventure tale of a few school mates discover a plot that threaten the colonist's welfare and face multiple dangers heading it off. Then again there are the Martians. Enjoy -- I haven't re-read in years, but I envy you the first experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    The auther

    I loved it! It was a great number of pages and caught my intrest. I made a story but b and n erased it. Now im writing a story in my journal. Please continue! I totally loved the detail and story line. Awesome job!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Mistystar to Kingsfoot about his story

    Wow. I mean WOW. That's really good!!! The names are great (even though cats don't know what griffions are, but it's still cool. One of the cats in one of my fanfics was named Pandablaze :P) and the descriptive writing is great! Continue! I want to see what happens to Quickpaw and Firepaw and if Earthstar survives!!!!!! :OOO (Can you also read and rate my story at "Field of Gold?" It's named Twoleg of the Clans. Thanks in advance!)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Fangdusk

    AWESOME!!! Totally continue! That story is amazing! (Read mine at Fields of Gold all results, too, please! Dauntless is Book One, and Defiant- which I'm still working on- is Book Two. Book Three will most likely be called Plagued.)
    -Fangdusk
    (Kingsfoot wrote that, write? My Nook doesn't show headlines.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Auther of mudshadows path ( call me blackfrost! ;) )

    Oh. Mah. GOOOOOOOOOOOOD. That wuz epic! X3 AMAZING detail, good names for the cats ( i really like ashwood! Dats a cool name :P ) i hope you continue! | read my story at mud all results! |

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    R

    D

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    A true Sci-Fi classic

    very well written.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Don't Abandon the Grand Master!!!

    Red Planet was commendable, yet lacked the entertainment and penetration of Starship Troopers, Space Cadet, and Stranger in a Strange Land. Due to the difference in style and age of Heinlein compared to Asimov and Clarke, I would maintain that he does deserve the Grand Master designation, yet I caution you to be selective with his novels. The military science fiction novels are generally more entertaining, while preserving that contentious philosohy that his uniquley Heinlein.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Amazing Adventures on Mars & Willis, Too!

    A real adventure book. Great for boys. There are the frozen canals, Willis, Jim-Boy, the Colonial Government, and the Martians appear! As someone said, Robert A. Heinlein is always right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    Great Book Some of His Best Work.

    Join Jim on the first Colony of Mars. When Jim finds a strange alien lifeform and decides to keep it his life goes haywire. He finds out information that puts his family in danger and must trek across the Planet surface. definatley keeps your intrest and intruges your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3