Customer Reviews for

The Red Pony

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck A boy is given a pony to take car

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home ...
The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home to cover him up and bring him inside the barn. The horse gets very sick and the ranchhand tries many things to get the horse better to no avail.
He has to deal with the death of the pony as time goes on. Ranch life continues as an old man comes to stay as the house he was born is no longer there on the ranch. A new pregnant animal has arrived
at the ranch and a very difficult birth. The hardships of ranch life are forefront but there are good times, like when Jody's grandfather comes to stay for a week.

posted by jbarr5 on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book was good at the beginning but then towards the end the book got really bad it went off topic and worst of all there was no conclusion. this was probably the worst book i ever read in my life.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was good at the beginning but then towards the end the book got really bad it went off topic and worst of all there was no conclusion. this was probably the worst book i ever read in my life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Red Pony- Some books are great, this one isn't all that special

    The Red Pony is a dark and intense novel by John Steinbeck. The theme of the book is learning from mistakes and finding that the outcome of an event won't always be what you want. The main protagonist, Jodie must learn from his fault and discover how to cope with the sorrow and pain of a loved one. The author primarily uses foreshadowing to portray events that you know will happen, but don't expect them to occur a certain way. Overall, I would say that The Red Pony was rather a let down. I didn't truly dislike the book; it's more of the fact that I was disappointed. The story starts off fine, but then leisurely loses its pace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Worst Book I Have Ever Read

    I am a fan of John Steinbeck, but this fiasco could not even be called a book, and barely a story. It was more like a disjointed part of a book. The red pony died, then the black colt was born and never mentioned again. The old Indian rode off on Easter, never to be heard of again, and Grandpa came but the story stopped there. If this book could have been given less then one star, I would have given it that in a heartbeat. Why this story is deemed a classic is beyond me, and I would hope teachers in America would move onto some of the better more deserving classics. This was simply a waste.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    The Red Pony focuses on a young boy named Jody who is coming of

    The Red Pony focuses on a young boy named Jody who is coming of age a lot in the story. Jody is fond of horses, and is happy when
    greeted with a red pony one morning. He names the pony Gabilan, after the Gabilan mountains, which Jody is also takes interest in.
    The story as four sections - The Gift, The Great Mountains, The Promise, and The Leader of the People.

    Honestly, this story was a bit difficult to follow. The plot between sections changes. In one section the focus is on Jody and horses and
    in another, the plot focuses on Jody and exploration of the mountains.  I was expecting a bit more from Steinbeck as I really did enjoy
    "Of Mice and Men". The story starts out interesting, but as soon as it hit the second section, it went downhill for me. Perhaps if you enjoy
    stories with multiple plots you might like this book. For me, it wasn't too favorable.

    So no, I would not recommend this book, especially if you have trouble following stories with many things going on. However, if you do
    enjoy Steinbeck's style, you might want to give the book a shot... but even though I do enjoy Steinbeck's style and voice... I wouldn't read
    it again.

    Why did I choose two stars? I chose two because although it's not the best book I've ever read, it's not the absolute worst either. It does
    have Steinbeck's spirit, which I enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Red Pony by John Steinbeck A boy is given a pony to take car

    The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
    A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
    Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home to cover him up and bring him inside the barn. The horse gets very sick and the ranchhand tries many things to get the horse better to no avail.
    He has to deal with the death of the pony as time goes on. Ranch life continues as an old man comes to stay as the house he was born is no longer there on the ranch. A new pregnant animal has arrived
    at the ranch and a very difficult birth. The hardships of ranch life are forefront but there are good times, like when Jody's grandfather comes to stay for a week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    The Red Pony SUCKS!

    I found the book interesting, short, and sad!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Idk

    Havent read it....but need to read it for school......seems rlly good!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Check it out!

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Red Pony; John Stienbeck
    Title of review: Could be Better
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 2

    Introduction
    The Red Pony Is about a boy who wants a pony but the pony is hard to come by. The boys name is Jody.
    Description and summary of main points
    Jody wants a pony, but the pony wasn't the easiest thing in the world to possess with the Indians and the money to.
    Evaluation
    To my opinion the book was horrible but that's my choice. If you liked the book well I guess you like heart-breakers. I personally do not like how the pony died, that just didn't follow the plot. Well the story didn't have much of a plot but your know what I mean.
    Conclusion
    When the pony dies I just didn't get why. I mean the boy wanted the pony so let it live. Now you see why I don't think the story followed a plot.
    Your final review

    Overall I think the story jus needs to be better from cover to cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    A new Genre of Book

    Book title and author: The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
    Title of review: A new Genre of Book

    Well, obviously since the title is The Red Pony you have to get an idea of what it is about. The story is pretty much about the coming age of a boy who has several horses by his side during the process of growing up. This author's purpose was to get the message out that life goes fast. This book is an average book that gives a good message about life. Overall, this book is a young adult book.
    John Steinbeck is a Nobel Prize winning author. He wrote the great book, The Grapes of Wrath. I would like to let you know before I go into any harsh detail about this book that might enrage you I am basing this book off suspense and energy. This book describes how harsh things were a long time ago. For example the father yells at the kid a lot. One time he said, "Get out Mr. Big Britches, go on, get out," and the boy didn't even do anything.
    This book is strong on one thing- realism. It vividly describes or gives you a good idea of what life was like back then. It makes it even harder living in the wild west. There are minor of the book where it is suspenseful. If you're looking for an edge of your seat book, this is not it. If you're looking for a book that has hardships and rough times, this book is the one for you. This book lives up to standards in different ways. Books in this genre are pretty much similar to this book.
    This book is a good book and will not waste your time. Out of all this madness this book is slightly above average. This book will make you happy at some point. In others it will just be a downer. Again this book is realistic just like other books in its genre.
    I enjoyed reading this book. It was a good expierence. It might've been different but still good. This made me think, what would I have been like if I lived back then. I hope this review was usefl to you and it helped you make your decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not that great

    I was really disapointed with this book, considering it was written by IMHO one of the greatest authors of our time. The plot wasn't good, and the ending was very abrupt. It's a short read though so pick it up for yourself, you might like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    I know horses

    The Red Pony is one of those book that stands out for me because I know horses. My mom has a horse named Missy that is very much like Galiban and every time I go there I try to break her, but to little avail. This book tells the reader that even though you put much into something, it may later amount to nothing. I think that this concept actually strengthens a person to do even better next time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    The Red Pony Not That Great

    I personally didnt like The Red Pony that much it was mostley a repeating story and not recomended for children too much gore scenes. The thing I most liked was the the relationship he ended up having in the end and the things he sorta learned, bu other than that it was a pretty boaring story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Dont buy this book.

    All its about is some idiot who wants ti be a rancher and keeps whining and making wussy pouts. At th end h is 31 and he is still not a rancher and is now cryimg to his mommy that he wants to be a singer! How STUpID is that!.!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    :'(

    This clan is too inactive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Jasperpaw

    I should say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Mistypaw of DarkClan

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Lilywolf

    The mother pads in with Riverleaf and Commetstorm carrying Snapdragon's lifeless form into her special cave. Lying her gently on the clay floor, Lilywolf begins to dig. Silent tears fall from her whiskers and a sob chokes her throat. When she and her clanmates have dug a big enough hole, the tabby looks lovingly at her daughter. She remembers back to when she was a little kit snuggled into the curve of her belly. A cry of grief escapes her and she licks her daughter's cold cheek. "Remember what I said. I love you and will never forget you Snapdragon. I hope you are happy amoung the stars my little one." Carefully placing her into the grave with the help of Commetstorm and Riverleaf, Lilywolf's vision blurs as she covers her kit with dirt. When the grave has been filled, the mother walks out and quietly returns with some flowers. They are snapdragons. Placing the flowers for which her daughter was named on the new grave, the shecat lets her tears fall freely. Her baby was gone and she was not sure if she could ever forgive Barkstorm. But she would try for Snapdragon's sake. "We will take care of Fawnkit and Pinekit Snapdragon. They will grow up to be just as beautiful and lovely as you. And I will make sure they know how much you love them and what a good mother they had." With a final look at where her daughter lay, Lilywolf turns and pressing against Commetstorm and Riverleaf for comfort, sadly trudges home. ~ Lilywolf &hearts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Smokepaw

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Minnowpaw

    "I'm here!" Minnowpaw purred. (Just got on. My mom was making me put my sister to bed. Urg.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    The Cave of Old

    Among Horseclan teritory there is a large ivy collection on a stone. Push through the ivy at a spot you find yourself in a tunnel leading to an underground cave. The cats who used to live in this area lived in this cave and called it the Cave of Old. There is a small waterfall making a stream of water. Moss grows along the edge making perfect nests for 20 cats. Next to the moss is a diffrant tunnel leading to an herb garden with hunting areas just outside the clan teritory. Next to the herd tunnel there is large crake in tbe wall leading to where a med cat would be. Then in the middle of the cave is a large rock. On the side of it there is a hole big enough for a leader. The is like a stone ramp for a cat to climb up on to the rock. The place is wonderfull for a camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7