Customer Reviews for

The Red Pony

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I know horses

The Red Pony is one of those book that stands out for me because I know horses. My mom has a horse named Missy that is very much like Galiban and every time I go there I try to break her, but to little avail. This book tells the reader that even though you put much in...
The Red Pony is one of those book that stands out for me because I know horses. My mom has a horse named Missy that is very much like Galiban and every time I go there I try to break her, but to little avail. This book tells the reader that even though you put much into something, it may later amount to nothing. I think that this concept actually strengthens a person to do even better next time.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book was good at the beginning but then towards the end the book got really bad it went off topic and worst of all there was no conclusion. this was probably the worst book i ever read in my life.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Red Pony by John Steinbeck A boy is given a pony to take car

    The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
    A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
    Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home to cover him up and bring him inside the barn. The horse gets very sick and the ranchhand tries many things to get the horse better to no avail.
    He has to deal with the death of the pony as time goes on. Ranch life continues as an old man comes to stay as the house he was born is no longer there on the ranch. A new pregnant animal has arrived
    at the ranch and a very difficult birth. The hardships of ranch life are forefront but there are good times, like when Jody's grandfather comes to stay for a week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    A new Genre of Book

    Book title and author: The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
    Title of review: A new Genre of Book

    Well, obviously since the title is The Red Pony you have to get an idea of what it is about. The story is pretty much about the coming age of a boy who has several horses by his side during the process of growing up. This author's purpose was to get the message out that life goes fast. This book is an average book that gives a good message about life. Overall, this book is a young adult book.
    John Steinbeck is a Nobel Prize winning author. He wrote the great book, The Grapes of Wrath. I would like to let you know before I go into any harsh detail about this book that might enrage you I am basing this book off suspense and energy. This book describes how harsh things were a long time ago. For example the father yells at the kid a lot. One time he said, "Get out Mr. Big Britches, go on, get out," and the boy didn't even do anything.
    This book is strong on one thing- realism. It vividly describes or gives you a good idea of what life was like back then. It makes it even harder living in the wild west. There are minor of the book where it is suspenseful. If you're looking for an edge of your seat book, this is not it. If you're looking for a book that has hardships and rough times, this book is the one for you. This book lives up to standards in different ways. Books in this genre are pretty much similar to this book.
    This book is a good book and will not waste your time. Out of all this madness this book is slightly above average. This book will make you happy at some point. In others it will just be a downer. Again this book is realistic just like other books in its genre.
    I enjoyed reading this book. It was a good expierence. It might've been different but still good. This made me think, what would I have been like if I lived back then. I hope this review was usefl to you and it helped you make your decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A NOTE

    This is Tgymedust's sister. He's been griunded!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    LeafSun

    She glanced up, her eye's flickered. "If course." She meowed shyly. "I'm Leafsun." Her one blind eye flickers with white. <br>
    ~•Leaf•~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Fawnstep

    (What!?)••Fawnstep}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Thymedust

    ((Yeah. I have secrets too, and i tend to keep all secrets. My Friend thinks i can't keep secrets for life...well, i can.)) <br>
    •~&#8366hymedust~•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    A great novel for all people who admire Steinbeck's work

    Although I had never read any of Steinbeck's books,I personally enjoyed The Red Pony. It had a very simple plot and simple theme which was very easy to follow. The young boy Jody started at the age of 10 and matured through the book. I think Steinbeck did a good job of showing how Jody changed through different experiences that he went through. One of the hardest things he went through was losing something he loved deeply. Another lesson he learned is not to trust anyone 100%. No one is perfect. Any young adult would find this book interesting mainly because they are going through changes in their life as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Red Pony -- good book

    This was a really good book but the way John S. formated the chapters really confused me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Great Book!

    Great book I had to read it in english and loved it. I highly suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Excellent!

    This book was excellent! I reccommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Not to be taken lightly

    This book was really sad! I didn't think the Red Pony would die! I also didn't like the father or Billy Buck. But it had a good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Not as Bad As it Looks/Sounds

    'The Red Pony' was a good book. I had to read it for our summer reading program and i enjoyed reading it. the description was veryy good. the author (i 4gethis name) used very good descrption to help the readers understand the symboism better. overall, i think that this book was a worthwhile read and im happy that our school forced me to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Short and Sweet

    This was a very interesting book. I never really knew what would happen next. This book had some really interesting parts and also some really disgusting parts. This book had the parts needed to entertain the reader while also making the reader feel the love between the main character and the pony. Some of the things that happened between the character and the pony made the me feel just how much loosing an animal, that was close to me, would really mean to me. I think this is an excellent book for the young adult reader. Read this book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    The Red Pony Shock

    it's great book, you should read it sometme!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    THE RED PONY

    I found The Red Poney a great book! Infact I did a report on it! Yes there were some sad parts to it! Like The Red Pony Gabilan! Then Tom got Rosie's Colt! I enjoyed the book and I would Defintally GIVE IT A TRY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    The Red Pony rocks

    The Red Pony by John Steinbeck is a wonderfull tale of a struggling family in the 1920s. This is my favorite book by Steinbeck for many reasons: the setting, the charicters, and the many plots. The setting as described by Steinbeck, is very specific and interusting. When I closed my eyes I could easily see the farm. I also enjoyed the charicters in this story. they were easy to relate to and interusting to read about. The thing I enjoyed most, though, about The Red Pony, was the many short plots that took place throughout the book. They were to the point, and allowed the reader to experience more than one story. Overall it was a fun and exciting book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2