Customer Reviews for

The Red Pony

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck A boy is given a pony to take car

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home ...
The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
A boy is given a pony to take care of. He still continues to do his chores and go to school. One day the ranchhand says it will not rain to leave the pony outside as the boy goes to school.
Problem is it does rain and the boy hurries home to cover him up and bring him inside the barn. The horse gets very sick and the ranchhand tries many things to get the horse better to no avail.
He has to deal with the death of the pony as time goes on. Ranch life continues as an old man comes to stay as the house he was born is no longer there on the ranch. A new pregnant animal has arrived
at the ranch and a very difficult birth. The hardships of ranch life are forefront but there are good times, like when Jody's grandfather comes to stay for a week.

posted by jbarr5 on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book was good at the beginning but then towards the end the book got really bad it went off topic and worst of all there was no conclusion. this was probably the worst book i ever read in my life.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Minnowpaw

    "I'm here!" Minnowpaw purred. (Just got on. My mom was making me put my sister to bed. Urg.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    The Cave of Old

    Among Horseclan teritory there is a large ivy collection on a stone. Push through the ivy at a spot you find yourself in a tunnel leading to an underground cave. The cats who used to live in this area lived in this cave and called it the Cave of Old. There is a small waterfall making a stream of water. Moss grows along the edge making perfect nests for 20 cats. Next to the moss is a diffrant tunnel leading to an herb garden with hunting areas just outside the clan teritory. Next to the herd tunnel there is large crake in tbe wall leading to where a med cat would be. Then in the middle of the cave is a large rock. On the side of it there is a hole big enough for a leader. The is like a stone ramp for a cat to climb up on to the rock. The place is wonderfull for a camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Snapdragon

    The very pregent queens thought sadly about her kits. They will know from birth. No. Yes. Sge lays in the messy nests curls into a ball hunger in her belly but to ddepressed to eat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Commetstorm

    Sadly pads home

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Get a pink iPad

    Kiss your hand three times, post this in three other books, then look under your pillow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A NOTE

    This is Tgymedust's sister. He's been griunded!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Wishbreeze

    Walked over to Velvetstar with Jay. "Need help mom?" She meowed.~Wish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Cinderwolf

    "A word, please?" Cinderwolf repeated, looking at Velvetstar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    IceEye and SootTail

    They pad in with fresh-kill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Jay

    He sat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    LeafSun

    She glanced up, her eye's flickered. "If course." She meowed shyly. "I'm Leafsun." Her one blind eye flickers with white. <br>
    ~•Leaf•~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Fawnsplash

    She padded out of the warriors den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Cedarstrike to Wolfsun

    "Okay," he meowed to Wolfsun, "thanks!" Cs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Blackfeather

    (Sorry i haven't been on much recently, guys! I just recently became addicted to Kingdom Hearts (i played it for over 10 hours straight without food, drink, or restroom breaks yesterday) and i lost access to a computer, which means no FanFiction, Minecraft, or the Sims 3, making me kind depressed... so, yeah. I'll try to be on more, though. Btw sorry if i interupted something important when i posted this!) ~Blackfeather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Minnowpaw

    "Yeah?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    S&D

    (Yeah...I have a friend who tells me that I can't keep secrets, but we all know it's the other way around...don't we all have a friend like that? Sigh...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Whispershade

    "Also, new camp's at 'dream pony' first result."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Cedarstrike

    Um... that wasnt Faithseed... cs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Socktail

    Socktail waited twitching his ears around nervously~socktail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Wolfsun

    She goes to dream pony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7