Customer Reviews for

The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5773 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3943)

4 Star

(1015)

3 Star

(428)

2 Star

(166)

1 Star

(221)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Riordan Does It Again

I am really thinking Riordan has found his niche. I have enjoyed the previous series, and this one is on par with its predecessor. The characters were great and just when you thought everything was going to be ok, something bad would happen. The way the author worked...
I am really thinking Riordan has found his niche. I have enjoyed the previous series, and this one is on par with its predecessor. The characters were great and just when you thought everything was going to be ok, something bad would happen. The way the author worked the characters into the story was great. You could always count on meeting a new god or major player just around the corner. I would highly recommend this to anyone pre-teen or above.

posted by bookomouse on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Widen Your Horizons

"The Red Pyramid" was a well-written book with lots of twists and turns, but it typically follows the same plot of Rick's last series, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Children find out that they have special abilities and get whisked into a world of gods and monster...
"The Red Pyramid" was a well-written book with lots of twists and turns, but it typically follows the same plot of Rick's last series, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Children find out that they have special abilities and get whisked into a world of gods and monsters, so what? It can get old very fast no matter how good the read...
Also I'm somewhat of an intermediate Egyptologist and I found that Rick gave the god's-especially Set-very stereotypical actions. Unlike the Grecian gods, the Egyptian gods are very hard to place into stereotypes due to the fact that there are less stories known about them. I think Rick is just trying to write what sells (like many others), but if he's a big enough author to be known world-wide, I believe he should broaden his view to appeal not only to his specific children's plot books.

posted by ZeniahAlukai on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5867 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 294
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Riordan Does It Again

    I am really thinking Riordan has found his niche. I have enjoyed the previous series, and this one is on par with its predecessor. The characters were great and just when you thought everything was going to be ok, something bad would happen. The way the author worked the characters into the story was great. You could always count on meeting a new god or major player just around the corner. I would highly recommend this to anyone pre-teen or above.

    96 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!!

    I must say Rick Riordan has a great start for a new series. If you just loved his Percy Jackson series then you will love this new series! The Red Pyramid is easy and fun to read, plenty of adventure to enjoy and laugh's in this book.I can't wait for the next book in the series. Great book for the young and old!

    76 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    He did it Again!!!!

    The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles Series #1) was just an astonishing, well-written book. This book is full of magical pages that holds your breath until the end. Sadie and Carter make a great and idealistic replacement for all-star Percy and Annabeth. Sadie and Carter as siblings go through mythological adventures trying to stop the evil to rise. Rick Riordan, you did it again!!!
    I would recommend this to every Percy Jackson fan because it holds you and you can't stop reading. Author Rick Riordan uses his creativity to form a fictional story, with great characters, about Ancient Egypt. The unexplainable adventures takes you to Egypt to present-day New York.
    I would also recommend other wonderful books written by the indistinguishable author. These books include "The 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones" which brings you to another fascinating adventure. Also the upcoming series :"the Heroes of Olympus: The Lost Hero"
    So once again I dare you to read just a wonderful book :"The Red Pyramid" and find out by yourself how great is it!!!!

    46 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Received it as a gift- I loved every minute reading this.

    45 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    Told by two perspectives, the reader will have a more diverse sense of what the siblings are thinking. Has the same charm as Riordan's other series, but with pounds of egyptian sugar. The main characters had such depth, that children could relate to how they were thinking.

    Finished the book in two days, it's so hard to put down, and soon enough, everyone will be dying during the interim until the sequel.

    The genres of this book are: fantasy, adventure, some mystery, and romance.

    34 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Si

    I NEED THE HOUSE OF HADES I ALREADY HAD A TINY TEMPER TANTRUM BECAUSE IT HASN'T COME OUT YET I NEED IT NNNNOOOOOWWWWWW!!!!!!



    TAP YES IF YOU AGREE!!!!

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REALLY Good!! - A Must Read!

    Though not as good as the Percy Jackson books, this book is highly recommended! The story line, and action are both amazing. As well as reading this for fun, it's educational. Riordan somehow managed to mixed a great book, with a great learning experience that's hard to forget! VERY GOOD!

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rick Riordan never fails!

    It seems that Mr. Riordan has a new trick up his sleeve. I was blown away by The Olympians series and was just thrown off my feet by the next series. The Red Pyramid is humorous, exciting and feels is so real. You will not be disappointed in this book. I completely recommend it! You have got to read this!

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    IS A GREAT BOOK

    This is the first eBook i got for my Nook and I was not disappointed. I highly recommend this book! Especially if u enjoyed "The Lightning Thief" books. You will not be bored i assure you. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat. :)

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Received as a gift- I enjoyed every minute reading this

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Widen Your Horizons

    "The Red Pyramid" was a well-written book with lots of twists and turns, but it typically follows the same plot of Rick's last series, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Children find out that they have special abilities and get whisked into a world of gods and monsters, so what? It can get old very fast no matter how good the read...
    Also I'm somewhat of an intermediate Egyptologist and I found that Rick gave the god's-especially Set-very stereotypical actions. Unlike the Grecian gods, the Egyptian gods are very hard to place into stereotypes due to the fact that there are less stories known about them. I think Rick is just trying to write what sells (like many others), but if he's a big enough author to be known world-wide, I believe he should broaden his view to appeal not only to his specific children's plot books.

    17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Red Pyramid

    This was a great book and I recommend it to anyone who liked the Percy Jackson books. I admit I wasn't all too excited about the whole Egyptian mythology thing, but it turned out that I really enjoyed it in the end. However, I do not think the character Carter was very developed. I wanted him to be like Sadie or Bast who really drew me in and were very developed. At the end of the story, it didn't feel like he was one of the main characters, if you know what I mean. Other than this, I thought it was a great read and I loved it.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I could NOT put it down!

    Hello, I'm a 24 year old male and I'm addicted to Rick Riordan middle-school-novels. I am a huge fan of Percy Jackson, and was very excited for Sadie and Carter to make their ways into my heart. I stayed up until 3:44am Central Time, waiting for the email to tell me that the e-book I had purchased was now ready for download. And I started reading then and could not put it down!

    The story was so inviting, and just like the Percy Jackson series, taught me so much about mythology (and what I can learn for comparing to to modern day myths and folklore.) Rick Riordan knows his stuff, and you can tell that he spends an awful amount of time researching his stuff. I am so impressed with his writing.

    I was glad that it didn't remind me of Percy Jackson. And could NEVER picture a clashing of the two. Too many gods and ancient myths flying around would not be aesthetically pleasing. But separate, Percy or Sadie & Carter are amazing. You will not be disappointed in this book, adult, teenager, or child.

    The only thing I can think of to complain about is knowing how my son will complain when I only read him a chapter a night! I know he'll want more just like I did!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    What a GRADE A book is like!!

    This book killed it for me. The action was very good so was the story. The book is a little bit slow paced at the start of the book. Highly recomend!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    O.M.G

    I am totally speachless from this book. I personally luuuvvv Rick Riordan, and I think all of his books were great, but this was the best one of all( series I mean ). I love the Egyptian mythology, finally something that is not all about Percy Jackson ( I luuuuuv those books by the way). This also kinda helped me with my home studieng on Egypt( parents, arnt they so nice, I already have 8 hours of school and only 4 hours of sleep , but did you really have to add in 4 hours of studieng for each subject). I usually read books this big in like 2 days. But with this book, it was so interesting, i read it in 5 days ! Everyone should read. Awsome book. Thank you Mr. Riordan.

    YAAARRR TO ALLL!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Red Pyramid

    I'm a HUGE Percy Jackson fan, so I was super excited about this. I was just SLIGHTLY disappointed by this book. Just four small criticisms:

    1) In the first Sadie chapter, I think Riordan may have laid on the British thing a little too thickly; I was always aware of it, but it got better toward the end of the book.

    2) The author gave a lot of information at once for the reader to take in, so I found it a little confusing at times.

    3) Some parts failed to capture and hold my interest in their monotony, but again, it got better toward the end.

    4) It reminded me a little of the first Children of the Lamp at times, a book I didn't enjoy very much.

    Personally, I'd rather see the Percy spinoff series as opposed to this, but I'm not picky when it comes to Rick Riordan :) I think he's a great author and very much deserves all the success he's gotten.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    could have been better

    i think this book could have been better. i mean for a project we had to choose a fantasy book but after reading it a little bit it gets boring. the begining starts out good but then the whole storyline gets really boring. i dont think we need to know every little tiny thing sadie and carter do. all im saying is that this book could be better.

    9 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Tale of Myth and Magic!

    "The Red Pyramid" is the first installment in the Kane Chronicles and is written by Rick Riordan, author of the best-selling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Action-packed and full of twists and turns, this is a fantastic read which keeps the reader on the edge of their seat from the very first page! Egyptian mythology comes to life in this book, but it does not at all repeat Percy Jackson, which centers around Greek mythology. The main characters are boy-and-girl siblings, and the book is written in first-person, so every two chapters it switches whose point of view it is in. This provides a unique style which keeps the reader fully entertained. After finishing this book, all readers will eagerly await the release of the second book in this new, exciting series! "The Red Pyramid" combines action, humor, suspense, and mystery into a wonderful tale of myth and magic sure to captivate everyone who reads it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was very good! It is about Egyption gods, one trying to take over the U.S.. Carter and Sadie Kane have to stop him from taking over the country. Anyway, the book is lengthy, but if you like it, you will finish it quick. I didn't realize how long it was until the end!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    Good enough for me.

    Overall, this was a pretty solid book. Of course the writing and the story is a bit simplistic, but it is a book meant for a younger audience. Despite that, I thoroughly enjoyed the read. I blazed through it in about three days. This was do to the combination of it being a fairly easy read, and the story pushing me along. I think it was a good start to my summer reading, and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series when it comes out.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5867 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 294