Customer Reviews for

The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5839 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3994)

4 Star

(1025)

3 Star

(432)

2 Star

(166)

1 Star

(222)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

109 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Riordan Does It Again

I am really thinking Riordan has found his niche. I have enjoyed the previous series, and this one is on par with its predecessor. The characters were great and just when you thought everything was going to be ok, something bad would happen. The way the author worked...
I am really thinking Riordan has found his niche. I have enjoyed the previous series, and this one is on par with its predecessor. The characters were great and just when you thought everything was going to be ok, something bad would happen. The way the author worked the characters into the story was great. You could always count on meeting a new god or major player just around the corner. I would highly recommend this to anyone pre-teen or above.

posted by bookomouse on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Widen Your Horizons

"The Red Pyramid" was a well-written book with lots of twists and turns, but it typically follows the same plot of Rick's last series, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Children find out that they have special abilities and get whisked into a world of gods and monster...
"The Red Pyramid" was a well-written book with lots of twists and turns, but it typically follows the same plot of Rick's last series, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Children find out that they have special abilities and get whisked into a world of gods and monsters, so what? It can get old very fast no matter how good the read...
Also I'm somewhat of an intermediate Egyptologist and I found that Rick gave the god's-especially Set-very stereotypical actions. Unlike the Grecian gods, the Egyptian gods are very hard to place into stereotypes due to the fact that there are less stories known about them. I think Rick is just trying to write what sells (like many others), but if he's a big enough author to be known world-wide, I believe he should broaden his view to appeal not only to his specific children's plot books.

posted by ZeniahAlukai on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    WHAT HAPPENED???

    OK, Rick Riordan is an amazing author with the Percy Jackson series. In 6th grade, our whole class got into the series. First, it started out as an assignment to hi-light good decribing words. then it became a role play. Later on it became a class read-alound book (i know what you will say...read alounds in 6th???). I love it and there is no doubt that Rick Riordan is a very good author.
    never mind, this book makes me doubt his writing ability. First, don't just go to a different set of gods because you succeeded with the firrst set. It is getting very cliche.
    ROLE PLAY
    "Do you like Percy JAckson?"
    "LIKE IT? i LOVE IT!"
    "I know, same here. He came out with a new book."
    "really? what?!"
    "The red pyrimad."
    "No way!!"
    "way. but geuss what it is about?"
    "What?"
    "Egyptian gods."
    "(sigh.) seriously? What is it about"
    "It is about 2 kids who dicover they have gods inside of them. now they have to save the world!"
    "BOO-RRING."

    Two series at the same time is not a good idea rick Riordan. Please Float away from the gods... I do like Saide though, but I can't remeber her brothers name even though I finished it yesterday. I love her cheekiness. I just wish there was no accent.Don't worry, i will read the next book but make sure it is worthy to be read. I don't want more flat characters.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    This book wont work properly

    Everytime i open it up it says im on page 0 and when i try to change pages i go back to my library, what do i do to fix this problem???

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Ok

    Couldnt hold my interest. Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series are MUCH better. Not the best book written by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Expected Way More!!!

    2.5
    I read the percy Jackson books and loved them! This book fell way short of them. This book was written from the two main characters points of view, each character wasn't developed enough to tell the difference when the chapter was about them, I found myself looking back at the start of the chapter to see who it was about or searching through the page looking to see what character was mentioned. The book also had so much going on throughout that lacked detail which made it very hard to get into the book and found myself dragging through it. The only plus is the ending was very good and the last couple pages leading into the next book make you look forward to the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    umm no

    It started off amazing but then got extremely boring and hard to follow. The Lost Hero was lots better. Read that instead, Rick stick to Greek Mythology

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    BUY PERCY JACKSON INSTEAD

    I loved percy jackson and heros of olympus!! This one was really slow and just didnt do it for me. If you havnt read percy yet, but that instead. If you have, your high expectations will NOT be met

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    I take it back!

    Pretty good. I decided to make it 2stars

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Oh No!

    I used to loved Rick's books. But what happened with this one is simply sad. The plot line is flat. Every thing the characters do is expected. No matter what happens, you aren't surprised. There isn't any style either. There's no variation in the dialogue, and the narration is the same no matter who is narrating. There isn't any description or language variation. It's an OK book for maybe first graders, but other wise I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    It was readable...

    The story line was interesting but the two main characters were just Ok. Don't think I would continue reading the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    I did not like it. SORRY

    I can't believe i did not like it. But, i just could not like it. I tried to read it 5 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    I loved Riordan's Percy Jackson stories, but my attention waned

    I loved Riordan's Percy Jackson stories, but my attention waned when it fell towards the Romans. I know it's not his writing that couldn't pull me in, so it had to have been the subject. I think that I'm too into the Greek Gods to really enjoy the other dynasties, whether it's Roman, Egyptian or Ming. I didn't enjoy this one enough to continue the rest of the series. That is, unless at some point the Kane's somehow find themselves taking on Zeus...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    To kkz

    Name is kara. Daughter of hera evil. Hair color orange. Eye ccolor green. Plz tell me if u use her i could giver u ideas thz if so respond to me at THE BADDLE OF THE LYBRITH at maymay thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Racer

    Hey-yo! I um.... haven't posted and I am not ever posting again (cept this post) so.... yeah. P.S. Read A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd!!! I read the ARC version and it was amazing!!! Read it now!!! And give me feedback on how you liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Parkers addvetues

    AAAAaAAAAaaaaaaaaaaAAAaaaaAaaaqaaqi am on fire yep the boys said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    I was excited when i got this book but i was dissapointed once i started reading. It could've been a lot better I think it gave to much details about every little thing and go boring very soon i also didnt know much about the egyptian gods so it was very confusing. If you dont know much about the egyptian gods i would reccomend you not to read it because it will get very confusing. But i am a huge fan of the heros of olympus and percy jackson!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Storyguy

    A little bump but okay i taught it could have a little more

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    review

    It sort of a good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    I dont know.i just got the book

    Its it good?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    I really thought this book was not anywhere near as good as the percy jackson series and i certainly wont be reading the next one in the series

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 17, 2011

    DID NOT LOVE IT !!!!!!!!

    I have been reading this book for a year-still not finished. I don't feel invesred in the lives of Sadie and what's his name. I'm going to force myself to finish this book before the end of July...... 2012. Wish me luck.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9