BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Red Queen

Average Rating 3.5
( 850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(225)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

terrific historical biographical fiction

As a child, Margaret Beaufort felt she was destiny's darling and planed to remain pious while pushing the cause of the red Rose of Lancaster. However, her mother rudely awakens her by informing her she is a worthless chip off the old block of England's military command...
As a child, Margaret Beaufort felt she was destiny's darling and planed to remain pious while pushing the cause of the red Rose of Lancaster. However, her mother rudely awakens her by informing her she is a worthless chip off the old block of England's military commander in France; and therefore will be sent to Wales to marry some lord older than her parents. She is quickly widowed at thirteen and forced to marry again. This time she has a son, whom she names Henry after the king. To keep him safe she sends him away but pledges him to the daughter of the White Rose rival York family. Widowed and married this time to Lord Thomas and knowing her son is ready to take the throne from the usurper, Margaret executes a coup.

This is a terrific historical biographical fiction as queen of the sub-genre Philippa Gregory provides her fans with another strong female royal (see The White Queen and The Other Boleyn Girl). Filled with intrigue, murder and betrayal while occurring for the most part in the second half of the fifteenth century, Ms. Gregory focuses this time on a female dynasty maker as Margaret Beaufort proves to be the matriarch of the Tudor line.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointing Read

I have been a huge Phillipa Gregory fan and I was deeply disappointed with The Red Queen. Although the character Margaret is accurately portrayed as unappealing and unlikeable there did not appear to a believability to the storyline which was extremely dragged out. I ...
I have been a huge Phillipa Gregory fan and I was deeply disappointed with The Red Queen. Although the character Margaret is accurately portrayed as unappealing and unlikeable there did not appear to a believability to the storyline which was extremely dragged out. I found it hard to stay interested and a bit of a lazy read.

posted by NaomiMT on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    too Slow, repetitious and a Tad Boring

    Book 2 in "The Cousin's War" trilogy

    The second book in the series brings Margaret Beaufort, the heiress to the red rose of Lancaster to life. Narrated in her words, she tells her story commencing at the tender age of nine and continues into adulthood including her three marriages. She details her bitter struggle to ensure that her son, Henry Tudor, triumphs as King of England.

    The running theme throughout the book is Margaret's belief that she is another Joan of Arc, dedicated to her religion and loveless marriages in the pursuit of power. She feels personally abandoned by God and cheated out of her rightful position by her rivals but believes God's will is for her son Henry to lead the house of Lancaster to victory and eventually be crowned King and she will do anything to reach this goal.

    Having enjoyed previous novels on the Tudor dynasty, I was looking forward to reading the role Margaret played in the continuous struggle for power and the barbaric methods used, a time when allegiance was here today, gone tomorrow.... Ms. Gregory's simplistic prose made it easy to follow the scenes and historical figures but unfortunately the storyline pacing is slow, repetitious and a tad boring. There are too many pages describing Margaret's ego and obsession with religion to the point it is a turn off. She is depicted as a cold, ambitious and unpleasant person but she must have had a conning side to live long enough to see her son reach the highest position in the country.....Reading became tedious as the story progressed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Recommend

    I'm a History major studying to be a History teacher, and the Elizabethan era is my specialty. So one would think I would love Philippa Gregory and her historical novels, especially as the majority of them are based during that exact time. However, I've started to realize how the author really tends to vilify the historical heroines of her books. I think she really seems to dislike powerful women. Almost none of the women she writes about have endearing characteristics. In the several books in which Elizabeth I appears, she's made out to be a weak, mindless whore, completely controlled by men and unable to make any decisions without a man taking the lead and telling her what to do. And in this novel, the heroine is completely and totally unlikeable. She is narrow-minded, arrogant, and completely self-absorbed. It's hard to form any sort of attachment to her, and when you don't particularly care about the heroine, it's hard to get into the book--even as a historical novel, in which you already know the ending if you know History at all. Honestly, I couldn't even finish the book. I really did try to get into it, but I didn't enjoy a single word.

    If you want to read decent Philippa Gregory, I recommend the Wideacre trilogy. Those are her only books that I've genuinely liked. The rest of them I could take or leave, and this is probably my least favorite of hers so far.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I didn' t love it

    Philippa Gregory is one of my favorite authors but this is one of my least favorite of her books. I did not like the main character at all. In the Wideacre series I was completely rooting for the main character even though she was not a very nice person. Unlike the main character of his book she was exciting at least. This novel definitely lacked the romance and excitment I always enjoy in Gergory's books. The lead character was boring. If you are a Gregory fan already, read it just to see for yourself if not please do not make this the first of her novels you read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I'd give this one a pass.

    I will give Gregory 2 stars for the historical research. However, I must say that I resented having to spend so much time with a women who I disliked very much. From her narrow-minded view of God to her over-developed sense of her own special nature, she was a person I would not want to spend 5 minutes with. Each time she seemed aware of another person's virtue and humanity, I would hold out hope for her. But she disappointed each time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    DID NOT LIKE THIS BOOK

    I liked The White Queen, and I have really enjoyed everything written by this author, but I did not care for this book. The main character is one of the most unlikeable characters I've ever come across. She was downright irritating. I limped through to the end of the book because I paid for it, but I was relieved when I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Worse than any other Gregory novel

    This is by far Philippa Gregory's worst novel to date. There are plenty of historical inaccuracies, but that's typical of one of her novels and so I don't feel it's right to expect any more from Gregory. However, Lady Margaret's obsession with Joan of Arc is mentioned so often it becomes redundant, not to mention odd since most English people of the time hated her and she was not canonized as a saint until about 450 years after the book takes place. The character is unlikeable and the book moves slowly. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Gregory has done better work than this

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Twilight" for the Tudors

    I picked up this book because I thought it would be a fun diversion from the academic books I have been reading on the period encompassing the Tudors and the War of the Roses. It quickly became annoying. Margaret Beaufort has been turned into a caricature of a religious psycho whack-job. The author does stick to many known historical facts, but she takes many more liberties when it comes time to fill in the gaps, embracing the conspiracy theories that sprouted up later. The style is along the lines of a romance novel but dumbed down for the mass market. I suppose if you want a quick read and you accept that is historic-based FICTION, it's harmless enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5