BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Rabbit

Average Rating 3.5
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

clever Clancy prequel

In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuse...
In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope┬┐s intimidation.

Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets.

RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Clancy I remember

I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimporta...
I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimportant retrospec of its characters, that it told you nothing about what the story line would be. Original Casey was terrific. I doubt that I will waste my time on any more of his books. There are hundreds of authors that you can depend on to write consistently, excellent , enjoyable books. I love to read and refuse to waste my time with schlock.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    clever Clancy prequel

    In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope¿s intimidation. <P>Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets. <P>RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Red Rabbit Review

    Red Rabbit
    By: Tom Clancy
    My name is Ronnie Haines, I'm 17 years old almost 18 in 2 months, why I picked this book is because I love war books and my dad has read it (he has all the Tom Clancy books) and he read some to me then I got into them and I started reading his books, why I'm writing this is because I'm a senior in high school but I have to make up some credits so I'm in a sophomore English class and the teacher is having us do a book review on the book we read.
    Red Rabbit is written by Tom Clancy. Tom Clancy is the popular American author of "techno-thrillers", novels of political and military intrigue and complex geopolitical themes mingled with remarkably accurate details of modern high-tech military hardware. He's also written several highly respected non-fiction guides to military history and hardware. Clancy himself turned 18 as Vietnam War casualties were mounting, but never served in the military. College students were exempt from the military draft, and Clancy studied at Loyola College before becoming an insurance broker. (http://www.nndb.com/people/504/000022438/)
    In the early 1980's long before we fought terrorist attacks, Vice Admiral James Greer was the President of the CIA, Jack Ryan was a Historian, Teacher, and recent ex-marine living in England, and he was researching a book, a series of deadly encounters with an IRA splinter group. And it just tells you about what he goes threw, the CIA, life.
    I would give it a 5 star rating, because it has great detail, it's a good book it would be had for a kid to read this but it's a good book to read if you're into war books.
    I really like the book, like I said above I love reading Tom Clancy's books and playing his video games, there always fun and interesting.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Not the Clancy I remember

    I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimportant retrospec of its characters, that it told you nothing about what the story line would be. Original Casey was terrific. I doubt that I will waste my time on any more of his books. There are hundreds of authors that you can depend on to write consistently, excellent , enjoyable books. I love to read and refuse to waste my time with schlock.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    A comeback, of sorts

    After the hugely drawn-out 'Bear and the Dragon' (getting paid by the word, Tom?), 'Red Rabbit was practically a pamphlet. T.C. can really bring the reader into the lives of mundane people going about their daily grind in a way few others can. To find these 'peons' as main characters shows, to me at least, that there are no unimportant people, everyone can make a difference in the grand scheme of things. Having been a fan of his fiction since the 1st printing of 'Hunt for Red October' - am I that old? (yes) - I was glad to see him return to his strengths with this one. It's not as tight as it could, or should, be but certainly headed in the correct direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Into the Rabbit Hole of reading

    First off, I am 14, I have been into Tom Clancey's literature for 4 years now, ever sicne I read his books on Netforce 4 years ago. Red Rabbit was a very itneresting book, not as much Espianauge as in Rainbowsix, but a great title, though it has some weak points in it, it is still very well done and has its own strong points throughout the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Red Rabbit

    I am from sweden and I have read the translation of this book. And i though it was great, not that much action, ok, but that isn`t everything. It did happen alot in it, and I can`t undestand all the bad reviewers. No, it is just as good as all the other clancy books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Stardust bio

    Name:is really snowclaw
    Gender:female
    Mate: none but wants one
    Looks:all white with black flecs and blue eyes
    Personality: brave, smart, fierce, fiery, pretty and gentle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    RabbitTribe

    Dear reader, <br> ____ I have always had a love for all animals great and small, and a fantasy that they are a as civilized as, if not more than, us. We just misunderstamd them, and they us. Please think deeply of my stories. <p> In a land of happiness, eight rabbit tribes fought over the best food and the least wolves. <br> There was FlightTribe, ShadowTribe, IcyTribe, FuzzyTribe, WonderTribe, MysteryTribe, LightTribe, and SufferingTribe. MoonTribe lived in the sky. <br> "Natali, Gofuun, Adaken, Fikip, Rose, IcyTribe gather!" Called the tribe king, Aebon. Natali, the queen, quickly hopped next to him. <br> "IcyTribe must welcome twelve new bunnies." The queen picked up the bunnies one by one, the first was a black one with a white splotch on his face. "This shall be Nightare." The second was an all white girl with long fur. "This shall be Cloud." The third was a brown boy. "This shall be Gavtert." The fourth was another brown boy with a white tail. "This shall be Gear." The fifth was a small, creamy, runty girl. "This shall be Little." <p> And so on. The tribe king started speaking: "ShadowTribe and FuzzyTribe has been caught foraging our food! We have allowed FuzzyTribe, but ShadowTribe is outrageous!" The IcyTribe were prepared to start singing the warsong. <br> "We will organize a war party. Dieu, Kister, Frosst, Snaek, you will be going to attack ShadowTribe." The queen bellowed. <br> "Now!" Roared the king as Dieu, Kister, Frosst, and Snaek ran out of the safe haven. <p> They left the icy hills and headed for the ShadowTribe territory. It was dark and in the middle of a creepy forest. Dieu was starting to hum the warsong, which the whole group broke out into singing at the top of their lungs. "It the frost and the snow, <br> hiding from sight, <br> Lives many a life! <br> Protecting the hills our ancestors forraged, forraging for food we must." Then it got louder. <br> "In the frost and snow! <br> Hiding from sight! <br> Lives many a life! <br> Even when we loose lives to the ice and cold, <br> we survive... <br> WE CAN NEVER BACK DOWN!" Then it was a roar. <br> "IN THE FROST AND SNOW! <br> HIDING FROM SIGHT! <br> LIVES MANY A LIFE! <br> We may be small but we keep strong, <br> Zo zooh, <br> Zo zooh, <br> We pretect our ancient land, <br> Evil like you will not stand, <br> Zo zooh, <br> So run away while you can, <br> We are hoping with anger!" Then it was a booming echo <br> IN THE FROST AND SNOW!! <br> HIDING FROM SIGHT!! <br> LIVES MANY A LIFE!! <br> ZO ZOOH <br> ZO ZOOH <br> RUN OR HIDE OR PERISH <br> WE WILL NOT LET YOU STAY! <br> GO AWAY, <br> OUR KING DOES NOT LIKE YOUR COMPANY!" And the song went on, a musical masterpiece to show who's boss. <p> Soon enough they found a ShadowTribe patrol party. <br> It was a writhing mass of biting and scratching, and eventually the ShadowTribe patrol ran away, the IcyTribe with barely any wounds, minus Snaek's body. <p> (five likes to continue!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Sir Harekit of Thistleclan

    Name: Hairy. Nah, Tobuscus. Nope, Its Harekit! &#10023 Age: 4 moons. &#10023 Looks: a light brown tom with a white belly, paws, muzzle, and undertail. His eyes are blind green. &#10023 History: Unknown. Was adopted by Firestar &#10023 Family: Adopted mother- Firestar. Adopted siblings- Too many to count XD &#10023 Crush: Spottedkit....shhh! &#10023 Anything else: Ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Fernkits bio

    Name: fernkit <p>
    Gender:female <p>
    Age: 4 1/2 moons <p>
    Appearence: dove grey with a black ear, back paw and tail tip. One of her eyes is mosdy green and the other is a very light blue <p>
    Personality: gentile, kind and always trying to make others happy <p>
    Crush: thunderkit <p>
    Mate: no <p>
    Kits: no <p>
    History: was adopted by firestar from the orphanage. Before that its unknown <p>
    Family: <p>
    Adoptive mother- firestar <br>
    Biological mother/father- unknown <br>
    Older brother- lionpaw in jay clan <br>
    Older sister- sharkfang in beachclan <br>
    Aunt- morningbreeze in dayclan <br>
    Other: ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Flameclaws bio

    Name flameclaw age 58 moons ( thats middle aged not old old is 90 moons ) apperance large dark ginger tom with blue eyes personality kind understanding but ferice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Foxkit aka wonder woman

    Name: diamound sword
    [======:::::::::::::::::::::>
    No no im awesomeness Mc.awesomepants ugh i forgot..:3
    Age: 4 moons
    Looks: ginger kit whit paws and white tip tail, fluffy fox tail blue eyes.
    Personality: exciting loves to test lifes limits and stands out a lot, ver sly and clever, whrere did your wallet go :D
    Theme song: Chandelier by -sia

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Bio Of Sir Thornkit XIII

    Name: Starts with a T, ends with a -hornkit.<br>
    Age: 4.5 moons.<br>
    Gender: Male.<br>
    Personality: Typical kit-- nosy, energetic, trusting, yet occasionally has strange dreams. Has an amazing memory.<br>
    Appearance: Sleek, thick gray coat that gradually becomes black about mid-leg to his paws, making him look like he is wearing boots.<br>
    Kin: Unknown, he is Firestar's adopted kit.<br>
    Theme Song: "Arise" by Flyleaf(Normal Life), King Dedede's Theme from Kirby: Triple Deluxe and Battle! From Pokemon Mystery Dungeon(Both In-Battle).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Firestar's Bio ♡

    Age: 22 Moons. <p> Gender: &female <p> Rank: Leader. <p> Look: Red with a white spot on her chest. Sky blue eyes. <p> Crush: None. <p> Mate: None. <p> Kits: Nope. <p> Personality: Obeys warrior code, respectful, smart, kind, happy, loyal, friendly, likes having fun and is fun. Defensive of her clan and family. Loves kits. Can be serious. Clever and sweet. <p> History: Ask! <p> Kin: Unknown. <p> Sibilings: I was the only one. <p> Friends: I always thought of Moltenstar as my friend. <p> Other: Ask!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    FadingEcho's Biography

    Name- FadingEcho
    <p>
    Age- 16 Moons
    <p>
    Gender- Shecat
    <p>
    Rank- As<_>sasin
    <p>
    Pelt- She is a tall, slender, and sleek light silver shecat with darker silver markings along her back and tail, limbs, face, and ears. Like tiger stripes. She has white paws and chest.
    <p>
    Eyes- Dark, murky blue eyes that refect the stars, even in the day. (Not godmodding. She was born with it.)
    <p>
    Personality- Meh. You know. She can be stubborn or very headstrong at times, but she is gentle to all kits of every clan. She would love some of her own. She is courageous in battle and isn't af<_>raid to kick some mousebrained butts!
    <p>
    Background- She was born in Dawnclan. Fadingkit. Anyways, she was apprenticed by Risingstar, who taught her to be a skilled ki<_>ller. She later fled to Ashclan, apprenticing Sandpaw and Seapaw. This means she is eligable to be a deputy. She left Ashclan after a great friend had di<_>ed of cancer (in rl. Astrid...) Afterwards, she's wondered a while, stumbling upon Thistleclan.
    <p>
    Likes- The taste of Rabbit, Wind, Running, RAIN, Freedom, and Justice.
    <p>
    Dislikes- Unloyalty, Distrust, Tr<_>aitors, FISH, and Bloodclan.
    <p>
    Themesong- Back to Life by Evanscene (Normally) and Rise by Skillet (Battle!!!)
    <p>
    Signature- Eh. Working on one right now.
    <p>

    <p>

    <p>

    <p>

    <p>


    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    Btw, I REALLY want the deputy position. If I don't get it, that's alright, too. But I'm super active, super friendly, super smart (quiz me!), and super eligable for this position!
    <p>
    Why are you still here?! Go away and press the X button to your upper right!?!?!?!?!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Fire Princessess Shadow

    Nite. I put my red dress on. Along with my crown and my red high heels.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Handsome man

    Gtgtb. Nite

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    good spy novel

    Some think its slow. I think its more a espionage story with nuiance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12