Customer Reviews for

Red Rabbit

Average Rating 3
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

clever Clancy prequel

In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuse...
In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope¿s intimidation.

Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets.

RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Clancy I remember

I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimporta...
I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimportant retrospec of its characters, that it told you nothing about what the story line would be. Original Casey was terrific. I doubt that I will waste my time on any more of his books. There are hundreds of authors that you can depend on to write consistently, excellent , enjoyable books. I love to read and refuse to waste my time with schlock.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Into the Rabbit Hole of reading

    First off, I am 14, I have been into Tom Clancey's literature for 4 years now, ever sicne I read his books on Netforce 4 years ago. Red Rabbit was a very itneresting book, not as much Espianauge as in Rainbowsix, but a great title, though it has some weak points in it, it is still very well done and has its own strong points throughout the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Not as good as Red October or most of his books but I still read

    Not as good as Red October or most of his books but I still read it.

    Hooker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting premise, but not very exciting.

    I liked that Clancy finally decided to use the Pope as the subject of one of his political thrillers, but Russian defectors was a subject that Clancy covered already. I also did not like that there was a significant drop in the action in the middle of the book and Jack Ryan had a smaller role than the other books. If anyone wants to read a pair of great Jack Ryan books, pick up Debt of Honor and Executive Orders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    It's Alright

    I think Clancy knows his stuff if he can write something that goes along with history so closely. I mean, sure, pretty much no action is in the book, but I think that's what he [Clancy] was trying to do: to show you he could write a best-seller without blowing up Denver or smashing an airplane into the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Jack Rabbit

    For fans of Jack Ryan's escapades (of whom I am one) this novel gives some interesting background on his earier history. But I must confess to getting pretty overdosed on Jack Ryan's overload of accolades. Man he's got every honor and a 'babe' (as he himself says) of a wife. I think I like Clancy better when he writes non- fictionally about war, cold or hot.<br><br>This was a page turner, but, like Micheal Crichton, Clancy missed a chance to connect with a younger generation of readers. This book, like his others and those of Crichton, seem to me to be aimed at Baby Boomers. Apparently, even when young, Ryan had it made. I recently discovered some more youthful military fiction in a strange place: Dinosaur Wars, by Thomas Hopp. In this book and its sequel, Counterattack, there is some great military action where our tanks and planes battle a force of space invaders. But the military is quite well researched and deals with younger, more modern soldiers: a tank commander named Vic Suarez, an Apache helicopter pilot and others. Quite realistic action, and the heroes are young soldiers yet to prove themselves. That makes for some great page-turning excitement. Clancy ought to read Hopp before trying another politico- military thriller. He might deliver more thrills then, with more relevance to younger, non-Boomer readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Could Have Been Better

    This is definitly not one of Clancy's best books. The plot is very slow and predictable. I think he may have rushed through writing this book, and the Cold-war plot is getting worn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Was Clancy informed about history and geographic?

    There had been better books from him and I´m used to mistakes when he is using german words. But this time, there had been some things you will find with only one look in a dictionary! The spelling of the austrian family is "Habsburg", not "Hapsburg" and in Budapest, you woke up 2 hours LATER than in Moscow. For the next book, Tom Clancy should get better information. But in generall, it was a good book. Also good to understand if english is only a foreign language for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Repetitive

    The story and setting were good, Tom could have done less reinforcing of facts. It began to make me feel as though he had written the book for folks with memory issues. I also had a big problem with the fact that an ex-Marine, current intelligence officer, and all around pretty smart guy would be talking to his wife about classified material over an insecure phone line. It happens, but Jack should know better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Jack Ryan to the rescue?

    I just finished Red Rabbit and found it modestly entertaining at best. There was very little in the way of a big "Clancy" payoff at the end and the characters seemed a little predictable. I'm not really sure why Clancy wrote this one. It doesn't really make Ryan a more compelling character especially since he has only a supporting role. All in all, a pedestrian effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    A Nice Little Story

    This is not, as some would have you believe, a terrible book. The story, while admittedly devoid of the devilish plot twists of other Clancy novels, is still gripping. The anti-Soviet propaganda is grating at times--after all, it's the 21st century, the Soviets have been gone a long time, we all know they were bad, condemning them takes too much energy. But the book still has some sparkle. The Russian defector is an engrossing character, and it's fun to watch Jack Ryan's rise to prominence in the CIA. Still, it's a long read-- perhaps the abridged audiobook would be a better bet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Clancy getting out of tuch

    This book is about 275 pages to big, and the resurch is not up to par. He Tom Clancy might have a lot of help from our intelegence and military communities of thing is not cleared for but when it comes to the British, he lacke in information. The Louis XIIi is not a brandy its Cognac, most bacon served in the British Embassies and Post's overseas are from Denmark. But we would proberly not have had a book if Mr. Clancy new how The Swiss Guard is organized. And most of all when the Ambassador to the US in the one with a Rolls Royce how can and employee in Roma drive amore expensive Bentley. A disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    Come On Tom!

    Clancy seems to be laying off on his good writing techniques. Although not a real 'page turner' is was what I would call a 'pleasant read' but definitely not primo Tom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    OK but below par

    This book occurs early in Ryan's career making it a diffcult story to write as everyone knows the history of Ryan and most of the main characters at the CIA from all the books he has written occurring later in time. Clancy has done a good job of squeezing it in, however, since this has happened in the past and is not significant enough to discuss in the future, the scope and importance of the situation had to be on a smaller scale so it is not much of a story and it is almost lost in his detailed telling. Also some sentences and a couple of paragraphs seem to be repeat multiple times - better editing should have been done. The main story is the KGB wants to kill the pope and the subplot is the Foleys starting their Moscow tour as head CIA there and trying to get out a supervisor in the KGB's main encryption group, whose main reason for leaving is that he was assigned to handle the communication for killing the pope and disagrees with it. It is a good story but below par for Clancy - I would have been really disappointed if I had paid the premium cover price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Plot with no obstacles

    The two adults at our house have read every Clancy novel, so we were eager to buy Red Rabbit. It is not a bad book, but Clancy did not put any obstacles on the path to successful defection, and therefore it seems just a little weighted on the "good guys' " side. Other than that, the book is a good story, as are all Clancy yarns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    OK, but not good.

    Clancy should've done something a little more action packed, but it's all right. Ryan is not as smart as in HFRO, but he's developing his instinct. It would be nice to read up on why Rainbow got started, but maybe we'll wait until the next term of Ryan's Presidency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    An entertaining read, but not his best work

    Somewhat slow to start off and unfortunately very predictable, this novel is still an entertaining read for the end of summer. The true Clancy fans will be able to look past the abundance of pages and enjoy the story for what it is. It will not go down as one of the greatest novels by this author, though. Oh, and RAMFELDT@BELLSOUTH.NET, I will glady send you the $3 refund you are worked up about, but please promise me you will use it to purchase a dictionary (and PLEASE use it) before trying to critque any other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Clancy needs a better editor

    This may not be fair to the person actually in charge of editing the book. Who knows how much actual input he/she could give Clancy, who has a reputation as a bit of an egotist. The plot is intriguing and the story compelling, but it is bogged down in too much useless and/or repetitive dialogue. Does the reader have to be reminded every 50 or so pages that "Ryan is an ex-marine and therefore can handle himself", "Ritter hates him", or that "Cathy is an eye surgeon who cuts into peoples eyeballs" Spoiler Warning... Clancy needs to flesh out his characters more. I was disappointed that there was no examination of how Rabbit's wife just accepted that her husband took her and her family away from her country, everything she knows and doesn't breath a word of complaint or concern. Actually I don't think she speaks a word of dialogue after the actual defection. I love Clancy's work, but the Red Rabbit is not up to his usual standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    What book did the GOOD reviews read?

    Suspicious how all the reviews got excellant all of a sudden. I've read all his books but this was a real clunker. Repetition ad nauseum. Cutting on eyeballs - Jack was a marine and can take care of himself - pshrink(talk about jarring you out of the story) - juvenile dialogue between most of the characters(CIA, agents in Russia, etc.) The last 100 pages could have been distilled down to about 10 pages of good writing. Get a good editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Not vintage Clancy

    The book itself is entertaining, however the plot line is very thin. I usually look forward to his books, because they start with a couple of seamingly separate plot lines that converge during the book. This is too straight forward of a story. Much like his netforce "Beach Reading" type books. I hope his next book is a more intricate novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Take A Pass On This One

    These are not Tom Clancy's best days. I was woefully disappointed with "Red Rabbit". Anything to make money is what this mainly is. It's too late for me. They already have my money. But, my advice to everyone else is, take a pass on this one and wait for Clancy's next one, which I'm sure will have to be good in order to save face. While you're waiting, I would recommend reading Bowden's "Blackhawk Down" for a heavy-but-enjoyable read, or Remick's "West Point:..." for a light-and-enjoyable presentation of serious information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2