Customer Reviews for

Red Rabbit

Average Rating 3
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

clever Clancy prequel

In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuse...
In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope┬┐s intimidation.

Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets.

RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Clancy I remember

I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimporta...
I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimportant retrospec of its characters, that it told you nothing about what the story line would be. Original Casey was terrific. I doubt that I will waste my time on any more of his books. There are hundreds of authors that you can depend on to write consistently, excellent , enjoyable books. I love to read and refuse to waste my time with schlock.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    clever Clancy prequel

    In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope¿s intimidation. <P>Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets. <P>RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    A comeback, of sorts

    After the hugely drawn-out 'Bear and the Dragon' (getting paid by the word, Tom?), 'Red Rabbit was practically a pamphlet. T.C. can really bring the reader into the lives of mundane people going about their daily grind in a way few others can. To find these 'peons' as main characters shows, to me at least, that there are no unimportant people, everyone can make a difference in the grand scheme of things. Having been a fan of his fiction since the 1st printing of 'Hunt for Red October' - am I that old? (yes) - I was glad to see him return to his strengths with this one. It's not as tight as it could, or should, be but certainly headed in the correct direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Skyflower

    Trys to stand still.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    An all right read. Clancy has done better.

    An all right read. Clancy has done better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Huh?

    I don't get why people are so disapointed with this novel. I thought it was great that we got out of the White House again and had a little fun. It wasn't his best, but nothing to complain about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Good if you're familar with Clancy

    This book lacked in true character development, but if you've read previous Clancy books, you'll understand better about the husband/wife team used in this book. I really enjoyed the idea and plot of this book, and, once again, Clancy really makes you feel what the Russians went through during the Cold War. Great spy book, but would we expect anything else?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Good

    I thought this book was pretty good, I mean I like all of Tom Clancy's novels and have been reading them for some time now. But I have to say though I think the best novel of Tom Clancy's was Rainbow Six, and I wish he would make it into a movie because I believe it would be great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Clamcy back to the Cardinal Days

    Red Rabbit is another clancy book that i thoroughly enjoyed. It is similar to cardinal of the kremlin in the ways of going back to espionage and CIA work in good old moscow on the subway. Ed Foley is the main character in this one and his CIA work is really fun to read. the rest is just average.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Red Rabbit a spy novel.

    I feel that this may be one of Clancy's most misunderstood books to date. If you are looking for tons of action go grab Without Remorse, but if you enjoy reading about espionage and counter-espionage placed during the Cold War you have come to the right place. The plot in Red Rabbit develops slowly, but masterfully as you learn about the Rabbit, in fact in the end of the book I wish we could have learned more. If you enjoy reading Robert Ludlum books you will enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    As always--OUTSTANDING!!!!

    Once again Mr. Clancy has written a gem. Definatly not a 'first' book to start your Clancy journey with. Those of us who are long time fans of Mr. Clancy will readily understand the book. Don't be discouraged by the nit-pickers who seem to delight in pointing out the inconsistencies. Sheesh---some people need a life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Red Rabbit

    Clancy's latest is a political drama and 'fictionalization' of real events with very little suspense and action until the end, but even that isn't very much and absolutely no military involvement so there's no detailed technical descriptions. I thought the book was great. It's a defenite improvement over 'The Bear and The Dragon' without so much material that should not have made the final cut. The only problem is that Jack Ryan seems to be in it for no other reason than to have Jack Ryan in it, so until the last few chapters he does nothing more than talk to British intelligence people and his wife. Oleg Zaitzev, the Red Rabbit who defects to the West with information on an assassination plot against the Pope, and the Foleys are the real main characters here, and I think it would have flowed a lot smoother had Clancy decided not to use Ryan at all, or maybe even have brought John Clark into the picture. There may be no suspsence but it still is fast paced and flows together nicely. I would not recommend this for first time Clancy readers however since this is such a drastic change of pace for the author, though that is one of the reasons why I liked it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    He's Back!!

    I really liked this one. I almost did not buy this because of the debacle that was The Bear and the Dragon. In Red Rabbit, Clancy does not get caught up in espousing his own political viewpoints (as in TBAD), but focuses instead on a historical event with a hidden story. The story moves along smartly as experienced by the likeable Jack Ryan and the Foleys. It finishes leaving this reader wanting more. Here's hoping that Clancy continues to go back in time to tell the Cold War stories that he does so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Great for building great arms (hardcover version only) while learing about international espionage

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is: 1) interested in the writing styles of Clancy, and 2) likes spy novels. According to Clancy, spying involves a lot of waiting around, and playing by mutually understood and unspoken rules which may give the aspect of a lull in the story, but I felt it made the story more realistic, and once the espionage hit full steam the previous lulls made the chase seem even more exciting. Although this book does not contain the all out war or other catastrophic world events that dominate many Clancy novels it does provide the reader with a window into the exciting and sometimes archaic world of espionage. I would agree with the previous reviewer that Clancy does harp on the benefits of American coffee/beef, but this serves its purpose of celebrating the differences of the many venues in the novel like how Ryan enjoys British beer more than American beer. I also enjoyed how Clancy interwove historical events into the plot line which made the book seem more plausible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    DO NOT BELIEVE THE NAYSAYERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you love a book that demands all your attention, if you expect characters to be well developed, if you love suspense and want an excuse to turn off the phone, TV, kids, etc, and turn on the voicemail, AND you're NOT afraid of an author's willingness to change pace and style, you'll love "Red Rabbit!" If you're a stodgy stick-in-the mud who has to have books spoonfed to you and can't stand change and could care less about character development don't bother. Tom Clancy is not afraid to speak through Jack Ryan, nor is he afraid of change. Obviously he's not afraid of the hard work of creating characters that are believeable and likeable. But a lot of people seem to want Sierra squared, Delta squared when it comes to Clancy and Ryan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Still Strong

    It seems lately that people have become bored with T.C.s recent writings. I do not know why this is. His attention to detail, and incite to a world we only see at a distance, makes his stories real. Why people find reading about a man with values tedious I will never know. I liked this book (as I like all his books,) and how we get more of a glimps of the man called Jack Ryan. In reading his books we gain a better working knowledge of the Government and the military, something, that at this day and age, we should really know more about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Mr. Clancy does it again!

    Well, Mr. Clancy has written another great book. All the plots come together nicely and all the characters seem to jump from the pages. I found myself unable to put it down. The only thing I had a problem with was the fact that as I was reading it, removing the Rabbit and his family from Russia seemed to take forever. I am not one for suspense. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    A great story, but . . .

    . . .again, Clancy loses the tightness of a cleverly designed tale by running on (and on and on) with dozens of pages of unnecessary--and often repetitive--dialogue between Jack and Cathy, Jack and the Brits, the 'spooks' in Langley, and even the KGB players. This would have been a fantastic 200-page book, because the basic plot and character development of the 'Rabbit' is so fascinating (plus the back story on Ed and Mary Pat Foley!), but I found myself routinely fast-forwarding to avoid pages of 'yap-yap-yap how was your day with the eyeballs, Cathy?' and 'Gee, Bob, why do you dislike Golden Boy Jack?' to get to the real story. And enough with the precious 'pshrinks' -- after 15+ years of Clancy's 'insider' remarks, I'm just after the plot now. With that said: Hey, Tom, how about a followup about THE RABBIT and his family, instead of another paeon to Jack Ryan? Now THAT would be a story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Typical Clancy, But........

    As with RED STORM RISING, the question has to be asked....Did Clancy read TOWER OF SECRETS about the defection of a KGB cipher officer and use that as the baseline for this new/old Ryan adventure? It sure reads like it! Other than the basic thought, I couldn't find any major glaring character errors in this one. It is a bit difficult for me as a reader to not think of Harrison Ford as Ryan and of the 'mid-life' adventures we have come to expect from this character....but placing a younger Ryan in the early 80's events was a good exercise in summer imagination for me. I do agree with the other reviewer who panned the non-relevant eye-surgery dialogue. All in all this has been a good one for the end-of-summer, Keep 'em coming !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Clancy's back in top form!

    Clancy's last 2 novels weren't quite as good as his previous ones but they were still good. Red Rabbit is like older Clancy novels and is a fast paced read even if they're is barely any action. But action isn't needed in this tale of what one man must do to keep his conscious clean. Red Rabbit is a great character like Ramius or CARDINAL and his motivations are clear and understandable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    Great Backstory, but...

    Not much 'thriller' in this one, seeing as he used real people, and real history. As usual, I loved the way he gets into the character's head and tries to explore the motivations. Sure miss the subs, tanks, and planes, though! And where was Clark during all this? Still, although certainly not my favorite Clancy, it deserves a place on the bookshelf, and in your lap. Try 'Without Remorse', also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3