Customer Reviews for

Red Rabbit

Average Rating 3
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

clever Clancy prequel

In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuse...
In 1981 Pope John Paul II threatens Moscow and Warsaw that if the repressive government does not ease off the people he will resign his current position and return to his native Poland, causing an international incident. Hard line Soviet KGB leader Yuri Andropov refuses to sit idly by and accept the Pope┬┐s intimidation.

Historian Jack Ryan conducts research in England when the CIA and the British SIS recruit him as an analyst. Jack learns from a defector that Andropov plans to assassinate the Pope. Even for the Russian Bear that seems farfetched, but then again sending a confrontational message involving world affairs appears out of the ordinary for the Papacy. Still Jack needs to find confirmation that Andropov has decreed that Pope John Paul II must die. If he finds his evidence, the tyro spy knows he enters a realm that his entire life has not prepared him for in the slightest, as he must find a way to keep the Pope safe from the Soviets.

RED RABBIT is a clever prequel that places Jack at the beginning of his espionage career. By doing this, Tom Clancy enlivens his hero, yet keeps his core values consistent with the other novels. The story line is exciting as the rookie Jack seeks proof while engaging in a battle of wits though readers will wonder why the novice has such responsibilities with something of this magnitude. Still Jack is back doing what he does best, leading to the audience enjoyment of an old fashioned Cold War thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Clancy I remember

I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimporta...
I quit reading Clancy when he began to write with a committee. It's a though he was more interested in churning out books, selling games, etc. This book is over 600 pages long with about enough content to fill 200 pages. The first 300 pages were so padded with unimportant retrospec of its characters, that it told you nothing about what the story line would be. Original Casey was terrific. I doubt that I will waste my time on any more of his books. There are hundreds of authors that you can depend on to write consistently, excellent , enjoyable books. I love to read and refuse to waste my time with schlock.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Red Rabbit Review

    Red Rabbit
    By: Tom Clancy
    My name is Ronnie Haines, I'm 17 years old almost 18 in 2 months, why I picked this book is because I love war books and my dad has read it (he has all the Tom Clancy books) and he read some to me then I got into them and I started reading his books, why I'm writing this is because I'm a senior in high school but I have to make up some credits so I'm in a sophomore English class and the teacher is having us do a book review on the book we read.
    Red Rabbit is written by Tom Clancy. Tom Clancy is the popular American author of "techno-thrillers", novels of political and military intrigue and complex geopolitical themes mingled with remarkably accurate details of modern high-tech military hardware. He's also written several highly respected non-fiction guides to military history and hardware. Clancy himself turned 18 as Vietnam War casualties were mounting, but never served in the military. College students were exempt from the military draft, and Clancy studied at Loyola College before becoming an insurance broker. (http://www.nndb.com/people/504/000022438/)
    In the early 1980's long before we fought terrorist attacks, Vice Admiral James Greer was the President of the CIA, Jack Ryan was a Historian, Teacher, and recent ex-marine living in England, and he was researching a book, a series of deadly encounters with an IRA splinter group. And it just tells you about what he goes threw, the CIA, life.
    I would give it a 5 star rating, because it has great detail, it's a good book it would be had for a kid to read this but it's a good book to read if you're into war books.
    I really like the book, like I said above I love reading Tom Clancy's books and playing his video games, there always fun and interesting.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Red Rabbit

    I am from sweden and I have read the translation of this book. And i though it was great, not that much action, ok, but that isn`t everything. It did happen alot in it, and I can`t undestand all the bad reviewers. No, it is just as good as all the other clancy books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Fire Princessess Shadow

    Nite. I put my red dress on. Along with my crown and my red high heels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Handsome man

    Gtgtb. Nite

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    good spy novel

    Some think its slow. I think its more a espionage story with nuiance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Duskmoon

    Cums in her pus.sy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    HOP!HOP!HOP! rabbits jump

    Three rabbits jump along the forest hopping for their lives.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Rabbits

    Huge rabbits hop. Next clue. Treats poison and rat bites

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Cheetopaw

    Cheetopaw. "Heh, heh. I stink."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Softpaw

    "Do not. If u did y r we mates?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    Clancy @ his best

    I read Clancy's book & he's done it again. Another masterpiece. Jack Ryan is a skillful CIA agent, vice president & president

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Good Book

    I really love books on the time period from world warII too the fall of the soviet union. I haven't read much of this story (actually it was on c.d) but i heard a good two and a half hours and I really truely enjoyed it I think that I am going to go out and buy more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Red Rabbit

    This is a very good book. I see that you guys complaining because theres barely any action in it. Come on, it is as if the only good in a book is the amount of bullets fired. That is not true. I admit, there is not much action. So what? the book is very exiting and good written. You just can´t put it down. It is a very good book. And i mean it. This is Clancy at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Fine work by Tom Clancy

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first Clancy book that I ever read. I would recommend it to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Outstanding job, Tom.

    I found this book to be very entertaining, although it might have been a little slow at times, I thoroughly enjoyed it out of all of Clancy's novels. My personal favorites are the novels taking place during the Cold War era, involving spies, secret codes and what-not, this might be because of my Polish background. The reason some might disagree with me is because they probably expected what they see at the movies with, car chases and gun battles, but the Cold War wasn't all that. I am also amazed at the detail of Red Rabbit with the Russian lingo, I could swear that I was there. I do hope he releases a few more books takng place deep in Eastern Europe, Moscow, etc. And so what a few errors. Nicely done, Tom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    another great by Tom Clancey

    all i have to say is that this book was as great as i could have expected. Clancey was long over due for another great Jack Ryan book. as far as the timeline mix ups go i remember watching Clancey on a meet the author program on PBS in the early 1990's and i recall him saying something along the lines of the books not coming out in chronological order and that the timelines would hit and miss through out. now if you have read Clancey's previous Jack Ryan novels, either some or all, you will surely realize that they have always come and gone from the time line (clark and ryan meeting for the first time in sum of all fears & again meeting for the first time in cardinal--if my book titles are off i appologize). i guess the jist of what i am getting at is that this is once again Tom Clancey and the geo-political/military thriller at its best. Plain and Simple nobody and i mean nobody does like Clancey. He is the new God Father of the suspense/thriller novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Clany hater should say nothing at all.

    Writers, as we all know take pride in thier work. Mr. Clancy is certainly one of those writers. That's the reason why his books are so thick. You can't hate the man because he made a few time-line errors. Tom made an immence error in Debt of Honor, however that book was proclaimed by many as his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ALL OF THESE SO CALLED CRITICS WRITE A BOOK AND TRY AND SELL IT!!!!!!

    PEOPLE ARE HAVING A HARD TIME UNDERSTANDING THAT U NEED TO START SMALL AND WORK YOUR WAY UP (I DONT THINK RED RABBIT IS A GOOD STATER BOOK)(TRY RAINBOW SIX)ITS THE BEST!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    greatest clancy book ever !!!

    contrary to other reviews,I belive it is the best clancy ever written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Intrigue in London-Moscow-DC

    This book will be highly regarded by anyone who has traveled in Europe,is interested in foreign cultures, wonders how the three governments (US,Russia,GB) work behind the spy scenes, and who thought about successfully smuggling a defector out of Russia. Minute cultural items are dealt with by our hero Ryan and by all three governments in a precise, detailed manner necessary to explain the defection. It is not a shallow story for simple minds. Clancy's Red Rabbit is realistic, graphic, vulgar, intelligent, socially enlightening, factual, and demands an understanding of other cultures/languages/expressions/modern history. The more educated and traveled one is the more Clancy pleases us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3