Customer Reviews for

Red Rain: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

Im not much of a reader, but I could not put this book down. I finished it in one week and was sad it was over. Looking forward to his next one.

posted by 8395148 on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

All I will say is I would have liked this novel a lot better if I was 13.

posted by 3327191 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Great book.

    Im not much of a reader, but I could not put this book down. I finished it in one week and was sad it was over. Looking forward to his next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommended for light horror reading.

    A fun easy read, definitely reminiscent of "Children of the Damned". I'd like to see this author dig deeper into the darkness of his adult psyche, let's see what original horror is in his mind. The story is well written and carries you easily along with a nice little twist at the end. I'll be looking forward to the next book, I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Ok

    All I will say is I would have liked this novel a lot better if I was 13.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Love it!

    I can't wait until his next book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Grown up goosebumps! Thanks R. L. Stine.

    I read many Goosebump stories back in the day, and still encourage young readers to try them. This was a fun read. Revenir, revenir, revenir. Once I started, I couldn't stop reading. Stayed up at night reading like I used to with the Goosebump stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was super excited when I had seen that R.L. Stine was writing

    I was super excited when I had seen that R.L. Stine was writing adult fiction. I was an avid reader of his Fear Street series in high school. When I got the chance to review his latest, Red Rain, I couldn’t say no.

    Lea Sutter has survived Hurricane Ernesto on the island of Cape Le Chat Noir and found two orphaned angelic looking twin boys, Daniel and Samuel, who lost their family. She immediately feels the need to be their mother and bring them home to her husband, Mark, and her children. Mark is a renowned child psychologist whose latest book has a lot of parents gunning for him. Once situated the twins began their devious plans to “rule the school”. Mark is immediately unsettled with the children and feel that they are taking his wife away from him. The twins decide that they need Mark out of their way so they kill several people that could be linked to Mark in order to frame him.

    Let’s just say the only unique party of this book is the intriguing island that Lea was on. I had high hopes after reading about this island that the dead and the living coexist. Lea also witnesses a ritual that men commit suicide and then brought back to life. Once Lea leaves the island that is the end of it. Nothing really ties back to it. We already know the twins are evil and it is no secret when the murders are committed who were behind it.

    Red Rain is full of gore as a good horror book should have but that is about it. It did not have a scare factor at all and personally the narrator wasn’t my cup of tea. It was just like any other horror book I have read before. Every now and then Stine threw in a sex scene that felt forced and a “have to” for it to be considered an “adult” book. The police detectives were not very intelligent and seemed to be typical for what you would find in a standard horror novel.

    Still, if you are a diehard R.L. Stine reader then you will enjoy the trip down memory lane in his latest gruesome creation.

    (Audiobook was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I grew up reading R.L. Stine. He writes such great horror that I

    I grew up reading R.L. Stine. He writes such great horror that I couldn't get enough of him when I was in elementary school and junior high. I read as many Goosebumps as I could and then moved on to the Fear Street novels! Looking back now they're probably pretty cheesy but R.L. Stine definitely installed himself as one of the great middle grade horror writers! So when I heard that he was writing a horror for adults, I knew that I absolutely had to read it!

    The basic plot of Red Rain is that Lea is a travel blog writer and she goes to a little island off the coast of South Carolina. While she's there, a hurricane hits and she ends up taking home twin boys whose parents died in the storm. When they get to Long Island, horrible things start happening and the whole town goes a little crazy. Even though I really enjoyed the story, it's not a mystery to try and figure out what's happening or who is killing people. It's revealed right in the beginning who the twins really are and what their intent is. I enjoy a good horror novel when I have no idea who is behind the murderous and anyone who jumps out could be the killer! But there is still a twist in the end that's revealed which I didn't realize until I was almost finished with the book.

    Even though I really liked the book I didn't like that the murderers were these twelve year old twins. I understand that they're pretty unsuspecting and that the adults in the novel would never have guessed that these innocent looking boys are killing people but I thought it was just kind of weird. And I didn't like their accents. They were supposed to be these white boys with blonde hair and blue eyes but they sounded Jamaican! So that kind of threw me off! I also didn't like that the story changed from so many perspectives. That's just a personal preference though.

    Red Rain is a great horror novel to read around Halloween time! I give Red Rain 4 hearts because even though the story was a little weird, it still has all the blood, guts and gore that I'm looking for in my horror novels!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Return to Fear Street

    Not a bad horror novel but, then, not great either. The book is fun if not a bit cliche. The twist I didn't see coming but should have. Reading this is like watching a decent horror movie on Fear Net. The book does hold your interest as you try to figure what these twins are about but the other characters are rather flat. Plot is okay. The book is probably most fun for fans of the old series Fear Street. There's a familiarity there and the book reads fast. Like most of Fear Street, however, Red Rain is just not good enough to stick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Awsome book

    This booj is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Outpaw

    Sat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    I'll agree with the 5 readers, who actually read, that gave this

    I'll agree with the 5 readers, who actually read, that gave this book a 1 star. Anyone who could give this anything more than even 2 stars clearly does not have very much reading under their belt. The writing was weak, the storyline and subplots are laughable, by the end of the book the only reason I kept reading because I was just in too deep not to finish but sadly the ending was the worst part. one of the reviews on the book cover reads "the undisputed master of fear" by steve berry. -_- if you ever find a book cover with a review from steve berry do yourself a favor and put it down, the only thing scary about this book is how much time I wasted on it.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    As with a lot of other adult readers, I grew up on Goosebumps. W

    As with a lot of other adult readers, I grew up on Goosebumps. When I first heard of this book, I was excited to read an adult Stine novel (I had previously read Superstitious and loved it). Unfortunately, Red Rain is terrible. I'm only on page 86, and already I've noticed how poorly written this book is. The sentences start and stop too abruptly, which is a sign of a bad writer (or, perhaps in this case, a writer who was trying too hard to write something good... and failed). Now, I'm not a writer, but I've read MUCH better than this. Hell, even the Goosebumps books were more well written! I wish I could get my money back but I had purchased the book a while ago and it's too late for a refund. I just hope by the time I finish it I won't feel brain dead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great book

    Aside from the first thirty pages, I finished this book in one day. It was so good and kept my attention. I couldn't put it down. I loved his goosebumps books when I was a kid and now I love his adult book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I agree with another reviewer: R.L. Stine should stick to childr

    I agree with another reviewer: R.L. Stine should stick to children's books. I was looking forward to a good horror story, but the writing was mediocre. Sorry I wasted my time on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Go back to writing for teens

    Not worth the time it took to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I was a big fan of R.L. Stine as a kid and was excited to see he

    I was a big fan of R.L. Stine as a kid and was excited to see he had written an adult novel. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I was not scared at any point in the book. The storyline was weird and the only thing "adult" about the book was the sex scene and the gore. It wasn't a bad book, but definitely not up there with the other adult suspense/thriller writers. He is a good storyteller for the younger readers, but sorry to say I won't be reading any future adult books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Lightkit

    *little ehite kit walks up* is this a clan?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Rainclaw

    I want to join rain clan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    So sad to be disappointed

    R.L Stine was my favorite author growing up. I was so sad this turrned out to be a such a dissapointment. I have to say sadly the first few chapters ruined it for me. As a girl born and raised in North Carolina, who has been tbrough multiple hurricanes, my experiance made this book hard to even get into. First of all, the Outer Banks are in NC not SC. Secondly the incorrect use of the word "ya'll" really bugged me. It means "you all" not "you" we aren't just a bunch of uneducated idiots down here. Also the whole hurricane experiance is laughable. I grew up on a small island on the coast of NC and when a hurricane comes, everyone evacuates. So these graphic scenes described in the book are completely ludicrous. I hate to hate it, but come on Stine, if you are going to write for adults, you have to do your research!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    An adult novel.......?

    Take a longer goosebump book, throw in some cursing and sex...viola. you have a goosebump book with an adult edge. I was hoping for a koontz or a king and instead got a campfire story for girl scout cadets. At the first mention of magic hands and hurricanes. I knew the whole book. I was disappointed. I had expected better. Better luck next time Mr. Stine, I doubt if I purchase your next adult book, but I wish you all the bes

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3