Customer Reviews for

Red Riding Hood

Average Rating 4
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awesome!

This book was nothing short of amazing. It quickly captures the mind and draws it in, leaving no room for anything else. I so very hope the movie goes hand in hand with this book...except the ending, which even though good, left me fuming and aghast...Still it was aweso...
This book was nothing short of amazing. It quickly captures the mind and draws it in, leaving no room for anything else. I so very hope the movie goes hand in hand with this book...except the ending, which even though good, left me fuming and aghast...Still it was awesome and it made you think and ponder who could the wolf be...until the very end of the book: Seriously.

posted by -MetalHeart- on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

What a rip-off! Where's the final chapter?

I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been...
I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been based on the screenplay.

Imagine my surprise when I turn to page 330 and instead of reading the final chapter, all it says is- "Is this truly the end of Valerie's story? Visit Redridinghoodbookdotcom to find out." Feeling irritated, I follow the directions, only to find that nothing will even be put up for another FORTY DAYS!

What the heck (and a lot of other bad words I can't put here)! So, I paid $10 for a book that has no ending? Everytime I want to read it in the future (when they finally deign to post the final chapter apparently), I'll have to read 329 pages and then go online to finish it?

This is really infuriating!! I would have at least appreciated SOMETHING on the cover or at the beginning stating that the ending would be online, rather than buying a book presuming that, gee, it will have the ending. After all, every other book I purchase always seems to come with one.

Don't waste your money buying this. Just see the movie when it comes out. Then at least you hopefully will get an ending, although at this point, I'm not counting on it. We'll probably have to go to youtube after we get home from the theater to see the ending.

posted by emacat on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a rip-off! Where's the final chapter?

    I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been based on the screenplay.

    Imagine my surprise when I turn to page 330 and instead of reading the final chapter, all it says is- "Is this truly the end of Valerie's story? Visit Redridinghoodbookdotcom to find out." Feeling irritated, I follow the directions, only to find that nothing will even be put up for another FORTY DAYS!

    What the heck (and a lot of other bad words I can't put here)! So, I paid $10 for a book that has no ending? Everytime I want to read it in the future (when they finally deign to post the final chapter apparently), I'll have to read 329 pages and then go online to finish it?

    This is really infuriating!! I would have at least appreciated SOMETHING on the cover or at the beginning stating that the ending would be online, rather than buying a book presuming that, gee, it will have the ending. After all, every other book I purchase always seems to come with one.

    Don't waste your money buying this. Just see the movie when it comes out. Then at least you hopefully will get an ending, although at this point, I'm not counting on it. We'll probably have to go to youtube after we get home from the theater to see the ending.

    57 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WAIT UNTIL AFTER THE MOVIE COMES OUT!!!!

    I read through this book and it is SO good and a really fast read too, but honestly it was so unfair that they waited until the movie came out to release the final chapter. Honestly, makes me pretty upset but after they release the final chapter I say definitely pick the book up! I would have given it more stars but since I have to wait for the ending they have to wait for the rest of the stars =]

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    the last chspter is online? why would i pay 10 dollars for an incomplete book?

    ?

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Awesome!

    This book was nothing short of amazing. It quickly captures the mind and draws it in, leaving no room for anything else. I so very hope the movie goes hand in hand with this book...except the ending, which even though good, left me fuming and aghast...Still it was awesome and it made you think and ponder who could the wolf be...until the very end of the book: Seriously.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Awesome

    Awesome book. Just as good as the movie. Recommend seeing both cause the movie actually extends the story in the book. Totally changes the classic tale. Absolutely love it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    had high expectations...was a let down.

    it was repetative and didnt really explain the reasoning behind some of the characters behaviors. i expected more, since seeing the movie trailor but now im not sure if i even want to see the movie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    A different twist to a old fairy tale.

    The book is not the fairy tale I remember as a kid. However, this book did keep me reading the book from start to finished in one sitting. It was very engaging. However... Being an animal lover, I didn't like the animal sacrifice, but I suppose it's better than human sacrifice. What I really didn't like is that it ends with no clear cut indication of who the wolf is and you have to go online to read the final chapter. I seriously hope this is not a new trend in books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I recommened this book :)

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Red Riding Hood, Catherine Hardwicke
    Title of review: Red Riding Hood
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    Red Riding Hood is a beautifully written book with love, mystery, and death. It takes you to a new world full of lust. One of the purposes of the book is to show that love will conquer all. This book was amazing; it was one of the best books I have ever read. Always keeps you guessing who is the wolf and what they want.
    Description and summary of main points
    Valerie not knowing what she wants is caught up in her sister’s death. Trying to figure out herself was hard enough, now trying to find out who the wolf is was even harder. Her friends and neighbors turn on her. Knowing that she is the only one who can talk to the wolf and it doesn’t just want anybody, it wants her. With peter and Henry’s competition for her heart she finds herself torn between who she loves.
    Evaluation
    The book explains its purpose and achieves everything it was suppose to. Quotes in the story like, “What she saw made her stomach lurch, almost brought her to her knees. The dark apparition emerging from the snow brought her back to life, yanked out of her surrender. She staggered backward a few steps but could not move no further. It was…” The moments in the story were ever lasting in my thoughts.
    Conclusion
    From the beginning of the book till the end, my thoughts were racing. Who is the wolf? Who will Valeria choose? Was her choice right? In the last few pages of the book everything is explained. Never wanting the book to end, but it does. I would have never wanted it to end better. This book is one of my favorite books of all time.
    Your final review
    Red Riding Hood was a great book. It had everything you could ever hope for in a book. Love, mystery, conflicts; I could never forget the mystery and emotion put into this book. The thought put into this book was remarkable. Finding out who the wolf was, was complex. You will never get your head out of the book until the last word of the last page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    AMAZING

    I recomend this for a 12yearld old kid but im only 10 i could read this book 100000000 times its so good and never gets boring i only wish we could bo more stares than just 5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Pretty good

    The book was really amazing and the fact that Cathrine Hardwick helped write it or whatever got me really excited because i was a BIG twilight fan. Anyways, the characters felt soooo real to me. I did not purhase this through my nook, but i had gotten it in paperback before. The only problem with this book was that after i read and paid for it, i had to go online and download a bonus chapter which actually did not work so i had to go try it on a different computer. In my taste, when you go to a bookstore and BUY a book, you should not have to do anything else but read it. I know people are like "but dont you wanna see what comes next" or " but were you not surprised" or even " but its soo original to mix technology with books" for me, its more like...if you could take time to put it online, you could take time to write it on paper. I do not want to attract any haters but THATS HOW I SEE IT!!!!!! Other than that the book was pretty awesome!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Ehhh....

    I was not overly impressed. I had to make myself finish it. I wanted to read it before watching the movie. Well, since they say the book is usually always better than the movie, I wont be rushing out to see this. I can wait for the video! A let down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Last Chapter??

    So when will the next chapter come out? Will it be sent to us or are we going to have to buy that?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I loved this book so much. It's a quick and easy read that captures you from the beginning. I could not put this book down and I'm counting down the days until I can finally read the last chapter. That's a bit annoying, but I hope it's worth the wait. If you love books with mystery and romance, then this book is for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2015

    Not worth it.

    The only thing that was actually good about this book was that the ending was a surprise. I was certainly surprised when I had to go online to read the last chapter! Other than that, I was immensely disappointed in this. I didn't feel any connection to Peter. In fact, I spent the whole book hoping that Valerie would change her mind and choose Henry. I hoped that Peter really was the wolf and that they would have to kill him. All of the characters were fairly bland. It probably didn't help that this book reminded me of The Village, a movie that I hate. Perhaps I'll try watching the movie to see if it changes my opinion. All in all, I thought this book was absolutely not worth the money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Red Riding Hood

    This book was written with incredible detail and thought, but I think that the book's best quality is the way the characters change and evolve thoughout the book. In books, when the characters at the end typically talk about how they're a "changed person," in this case they really aren't kidding. Towards the beginning of the book, I found myself constantly routing for Peter and wanting the "downfall" of Henry. But by the end, you've pretty much seen all of the characters flaws and mistakes, as well as their good qualities. At some level, you end up routing for everybody, even the people who are evil. But also, you really can't quite tell who's good and who's evil, supporting the theme that maybe there is a midway point between being just good and just evil. I really thought this took a great author, so I give all of my highest respects to the author for what I consider an incredible feat. This book pretty much pulled every emotion our of me - unfortunately including some disappointment. I thought the ending was a little predictable, and random. But if you have any doubts about reading this book, put them aside and read it anyways because it exceeded every expectation I had for it, and is well worth the read.














    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Good

    The movie was better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Red riding hood

    I have seen the movie and i cant wait to read the book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Red Riding Hood will make you howl for more

    This book was over all amazing! I love the thrill and horror that was mixed thought it. There is romance (for all the fans out there) and blood and guts all jammed into that little book. I would recommond this book for ages 11 and up because of one part in it. I read it when i was in 6th grade and i was fine. I wouldhave given it a five star review if they didnt make you read the final chapter online. If anyone is writing another book like this i would advise you not to make people wait for the final chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    ?

    Is this worth reading?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    no last chapter sooo not woth the money

    i just dont understand why these people think im going to pay money for a book that isnt compleated and expect to get good sales.NEWS FLASH PEOPLE THIS IS A RIP OFF

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31