Customer Reviews for

Red Riding Hood

Average Rating 4
( 607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awesome!

This book was nothing short of amazing. It quickly captures the mind and draws it in, leaving no room for anything else. I so very hope the movie goes hand in hand with this book...except the ending, which even though good, left me fuming and aghast...Still it was aweso...
This book was nothing short of amazing. It quickly captures the mind and draws it in, leaving no room for anything else. I so very hope the movie goes hand in hand with this book...except the ending, which even though good, left me fuming and aghast...Still it was awesome and it made you think and ponder who could the wolf be...until the very end of the book: Seriously.

posted by -MetalHeart- on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

What a rip-off! Where's the final chapter?

I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been...
I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been based on the screenplay.

Imagine my surprise when I turn to page 330 and instead of reading the final chapter, all it says is- "Is this truly the end of Valerie's story? Visit Redridinghoodbookdotcom to find out." Feeling irritated, I follow the directions, only to find that nothing will even be put up for another FORTY DAYS!

What the heck (and a lot of other bad words I can't put here)! So, I paid $10 for a book that has no ending? Everytime I want to read it in the future (when they finally deign to post the final chapter apparently), I'll have to read 329 pages and then go online to finish it?

This is really infuriating!! I would have at least appreciated SOMETHING on the cover or at the beginning stating that the ending would be online, rather than buying a book presuming that, gee, it will have the ending. After all, every other book I purchase always seems to come with one.

Don't waste your money buying this. Just see the movie when it comes out. Then at least you hopefully will get an ending, although at this point, I'm not counting on it. We'll probably have to go to youtube after we get home from the theater to see the ending.

posted by emacat on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a rip-off! Where's the final chapter?

    I was pleased to see this book arrive, and started reading it at the first opportunity. While it isn't one of the best, most well-written books I've ever read, the premise is interesting, and I liked that it was likely to be very close to the upcoming movie, having been based on the screenplay.

    Imagine my surprise when I turn to page 330 and instead of reading the final chapter, all it says is- "Is this truly the end of Valerie's story? Visit Redridinghoodbookdotcom to find out." Feeling irritated, I follow the directions, only to find that nothing will even be put up for another FORTY DAYS!

    What the heck (and a lot of other bad words I can't put here)! So, I paid $10 for a book that has no ending? Everytime I want to read it in the future (when they finally deign to post the final chapter apparently), I'll have to read 329 pages and then go online to finish it?

    This is really infuriating!! I would have at least appreciated SOMETHING on the cover or at the beginning stating that the ending would be online, rather than buying a book presuming that, gee, it will have the ending. After all, every other book I purchase always seems to come with one.

    Don't waste your money buying this. Just see the movie when it comes out. Then at least you hopefully will get an ending, although at this point, I'm not counting on it. We'll probably have to go to youtube after we get home from the theater to see the ending.

    57 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    the last chspter is online? why would i pay 10 dollars for an incomplete book?

    ?

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    had high expectations...was a let down.

    it was repetative and didnt really explain the reasoning behind some of the characters behaviors. i expected more, since seeing the movie trailor but now im not sure if i even want to see the movie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    no last chapter sooo not woth the money

    i just dont understand why these people think im going to pay money for a book that isnt compleated and expect to get good sales.NEWS FLASH PEOPLE THIS IS A RIP OFF

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Bad

    Bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A VERY GOOD BOOK!! BUT WHERE IS THE BONUS CHAPTER??

    WHEN WILL THE BONUS CHAPTER COME OUT?!?!?!?!?!
    I am very pissed right now.......it has already been a year of waiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Super

    I luv it when they have sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Arg...

    I knew this movie was coming out and i thought it would be a good idea to read the book, i liked it up until the end which was ruined not just by the fact that you had to look up the ending, but also because after looking it up the ending just felt disconnected from the rest of the story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    what a waste!

    i just borrowed this book from the library and decided to check and see if the bonus chapter was still there. of course it isnt. wth?? i waited to long i guess. way to go Sarah Blakley-Cartwright. brilliant idea. =(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    So good so far

    I love the book so far!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Big Disappointment!!

    I'm with pretty much everyone else that gave reviews on here. I was majorly peeved to get to the end of the book only to find out I had to go online to read the last chapter. The book wasn't written that well to begin with. I found myself bored with it at times. It's kind of a waste of money to buy this book especially for people with no internet access...what are they supposed to do. They really should've thought that one through before releasing this. I DO NOT recommend this book at all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Dissapoiting

    The beggining drug on and on after a few minths i still havent finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Poorly written =/

    The storyline itself was good... But as i was reading i felt as though i was skipping scenes in a movie or something...
    When parts of the story started to make sense and get the slightest bit interesting, the author got lazy and decided leave out the big chunks of detail. it was very confusing, but not in the way a good book would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    hey

    did you know who was the werewolf?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Not worth the read.

    I hope the movie is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Wow, what a waste!

    I should have paid better attention and I would have realized that this book was based on the movie, not the other way around. It felt like a pre-teen was watching the movie and then narrating it to me. There was no "back story" that needed to be filled in, as the foreward claimed. It was simply a director that saw how much money was made off the Twilight series (which was marginally better written) and thought it would be a good idea to have a book to accompany her latest movie. The book was poorly written, the point-of-view changed with no warning or explanation, the last chapter is posted online instead of in the actual book...I finished it because I was so mad at getting duped, I wasn't about to not finish reading the book (which would have added insult to injury). If you are a juvenile girl who thought that Twilight was well written (as opposed to an interesting diversion) and should make the "100 best literary works of the century" you will probably love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No Ending???? What a rip off!!!

    Really? No last chapter? Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ughhhhhhhhh

    I bought this because the movie trailer looked awesome...... BUT the book was horrible and it has NO ENDING!! I cant beleive I paid for this book. I want my $ back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ugh!

    My expectations were pretty high but I just wasted $10 on the worst book! I wish i could get my $ back. Very hard to follow the story line. Never really sure what the author is trying to say! At least I will save $ and not see the movie! I wish I could give zero stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    this book was bad DO NOT BUY

    this book sucked, there is no ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3