Customer Reviews for

Red River

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

History in America

This book is most refreshing, It was hard in the beginning to get through, but once I finish the first part it was on and running. It just show you with determination that you can accomplish what you want, I love the part how the third generation started the school. W...
This book is most refreshing, It was hard in the beginning to get through, but once I finish the first part it was on and running. It just show you with determination that you can accomplish what you want, I love the part how the third generation started the school. We must teach our children so they will know where they came from and where they are going. What's so wonderful that I read this book when Obama is the first african american elected to run for democratic president of the United States. I love this book Lalita Tademy did a wonderful job with both books, I seen myself and my ancestors in both of these books Cane River, Red River. Thank you so much Lalita I will buy both books for my library to keep encouraging me to look for my ancestors. 'my roots'

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

NOT CANE RIVER

If you're reading this book to read another Cane River, don't. It's a bit lacking in character development and plot. I admire Tademy and her dedication and research, but left me wanting more. I'm not sorry I read this book, but I would not necessarily recommend it.

posted by katz27 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Deeply Moving and Humbling Reading

    This is a well-written story with a lot of life lessons in it. The way these characters, in their time and place, learned and taught these lessons to each other is stunning, from my vantage point as a privileged 'majority' member of American society. Without romanticizing or sentimentalizing the struggles depicted, I say that if I were Ms. Tademy, I would be bursting with pride at my ancestors' faith, courage, love, love of life, endurance, and intelligence. I liked Cane River, and I will look forward eagerly to Ms. Tademy's next work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    ┬┐Colfax Riot,┬┐ which was not a riot at all but a massacre

    History and fiction intertwine to create an engrossing story.. Lalita Tademy left the corporate world to research her family history. In her latest book, Red River, the accomplished author shares the true story of the ¿Colfax Riot.¿ She successfully intertwines history and fiction to educate and entertain the reader. The setting is Colfax, Louisiana, 1873. The Civil War had ended years before, and the ¿colored¿ had been given their freedom. In many ways, it was a freedom in name only. There was still a lot of hatred between white and black. The Southern Democrats had been voted out and the Republicans in. The black men banded together to guard their town. They gather at the courthouse to defend their rights. The White League, a group of vigilantes, determined to regain control of the government and attack the courthouse, brutally murdering the men protecting it. The ones that surrendered were hung. Two white men and over one hundred black men were killed. Sam Tademy and Israel Smith survived they are the ancestors of Lalita Tademy. The story does not end there it continues on spanning three generations, sharing a tale of survival, triumph, and growth. Sam carried through with his dream to have a school for the black children in Colfax. It took hardship, tears, and work but he met the challenges and succeeded. Red River by Lalita Tademy is a must read for all Americans, for we take for granted our right to vote. We have become lazy and complacent. Ms. Tademy successfully tells the heartbreaking story of the ¿Colfax Riot,¿ which was not a riot at all but a massacre. I liked this book it has educated me to a piece of history that I knew little about. It has reminded me that men fought for the rights I take for granted. The first part of Red River, is very sad and has much violence. The second half offers hope and optimism. Red River is not an easy read it will stir the emotions of the reader. The narrator is Polly, I would have preferred that the book be told first person. I found I had to concentrate on the words while reading this book, it is written in the manner that Polly would have talked. This would be a fine addition to a library, or to as a gift to a history buff. Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 11/07

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Very vivid, moving story

    I read Cane River in two days, this took me longer to get through the beginning chapters, it moves a little slower but she builds anticipation as you continue to read. Her descriptions were so vivid and emotional I couldn't read for long periods of time (as I did Cane River). Lalita Tademy is a wonderful story teller, and her second novel is great story worth telling!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Great Generational Historical Fiction

    This left me wanting to know more about the heroic Tademy family and their struggle to bring education to African American children in the South even while fighting to survive. I was drawn in by the rich character development and felt that the interspersing of real historical documents helped to place the events in world history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Great Read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I've read Cane River and greatly anticipated this novel. I read it and enjoyed it tremendously. It is a great look into history and a wonderful motivational force for all who believe they are struggling. I highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1