BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Seas under Red Skies

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent sequel

Great follow up to the first book. Different enough to be fresh, familiar enough to be comfortable. Definitely reccomend.

posted by 3600205 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the first one

Ever seen one of those bank heist movies where Person A is working for Person B, they both want to get rid of Person C but Person C wants them to kill Person D. On the other hand Person E and F have other plans for Person A and B, and then Person G was the one really al...
Ever seen one of those bank heist movies where Person A is working for Person B, they both want to get rid of Person C but Person C wants them to kill Person D. On the other hand Person E and F have other plans for Person A and B, and then Person G was the one really all behind it? you with me so far? yeah that's what I thought. You had to really pay attention in this novel to get everything all straight. Red Seas Under Red Skies continues the adventures of Locke and Jean. Word to the wise: Read The Lies of Locke Lamora first. You have to, to get the understanding of everything. Not that this book will help you understand anything at all either. Mind you, I rather liked The Lies of Locke Lamora. It was pretty good. Then I decided to read this one, thinking it's just as good. I was a bit disenchanted. Not only did the book really drag, but it was just so long winded that I noticed I was putting the book down a lot and reading other things and finishing them. It wasn't until I realized that I can't renew the book anymore that I decided to actually finish this book. I don't understand why it has to be 500 pages for this book. You could have condensed everything and make the book about 350 pages max. I found that in this book, you had a lot of fast paced action, and then for about 40 pages you get slow events where you just felt like putting the book down. Then it goes back to some action, and then more flatness. The whole entire book was like that except the ending.

What I liked about the novel? I was attached to Locke in the first book and he was still entertaining and funny here. Being a cat lover, I loved the little incidents with the kittens and with Regal the kitten and Locke. That was cute! More new characters were introduced in this book which was fine. It kept the book interesting for a moment until the static flatness started all over again.

Eventually I ended up skimming a lot of the book in the last 200 pages. I just got fed up with this whole thing and wanted to get to the bottom of the plots and sub plots and see where this series is headed. At least the ending had some excitement although it wasn't worth reading through 500 pages to get to the last four to find some good stuff.

From what I heard, it's going to be another 5 or so books after this one? I just hope they turn out more exciting than Red Seas Under Red Skies.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Excellent sequel

    Great follow up to the first book. Different enough to be fresh, familiar enough to be comfortable. Definitely reccomend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lynch does it again!

    Scott Lynch has done it again! He has brought me to the world of Camorr and left me wanting so much more. The adventures of Locke Lamora continue in this fantastic sequel. While at times Lynch's plot seems to get a bit convoluted, it definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat. The depth of Locke's character as well as the others make them feel like real people. The storyline of grand larceny and revenge are fantastic! This is quite the page turner, and I eagerly await the continuation of Locke's story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Con artists Locke Lamora and Jean Tannen plan to swindle the renowned gambling house, Sinspire. Tight security makes any attempt futile and cheating breaks the first commandment, which if caught also means break the felon¿s bones as death is the response to the worst crime anyone can commit.----------------- However, Locke and Jean feel they have a perfect scheme so they are in the city state of Tal Verra completing their final preparations. However, someone knows what the two thieves plot to do and is determined to insure they not fail but are caught. Let the games begin because Locke and Jean will not allow an unknown adversary prevent their latest caper from succeeding.-------------------- Locke and Jean are quite the pair as these bold con artists work on a scheme that seems impossible and made even more difficult by their enemy. The fast-paced story line is at its best when the two thieves, their opponent, and the casino staff work towards a final altercation even as the audience expects the antiheroes to succeed (need to read to see if they actually do), but not know how they can pull off the ploy. Although there are well written epic sea battles with pirates, that sidebar feels like an intruder as this fantasy belongs to the scam.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Very much recommended!

    This is a great stand alone book, although it is the follow-up to Scott Lynch's book "The Lies of Locke Lamora" and I think it fares better if you've read that book first. "Red Seas Under Red Skies is full of interesting, well-developed characters, takes place in a fascinating world, and is an example of exciting and skilled storytelling. A very fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Wonderful

    Amazing sequel! I couldnt put it down and anxiously wait the nexr!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Awesome adventure!

    One of the best adventure books I've read. It had me laughing out loud and teary eyed at parts. I loved all the characters and Locke and Jean were better than the dynamic duo! I can't wait to read his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Vh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    To e

    Res three is a book called sea to sky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Echosong & co. to Winterkit

    (Go to res three.) She watched Winterkit gently. (How old are you / is she?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Great read

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    absolutely love this series.  love the unique story line, love t

    absolutely love this series.  love the unique story line, love the wit, humor, characters.  intelligently written.!
    one of my top favorite series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Even better than The Lies Of Locke Lamora. Could not put this bo

    Even better than The Lies Of Locke Lamora. Could not put this book down. Read in two long sittings. Great descriptions Great Characters and an awesome plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Abby

    Love and miss you forever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Bo

    Hey im on miss you too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    To stacy

    I u wanna explore the world of forbidden lov to another woman go to "moans" result one ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Adam

    I pull your shirt off and i ramm my monster up ur pus.sy and start thrusting hard and fast already vummi.ng "oh you will be punished you dirty sl.ut"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Loved it

    '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Wow

    I loved the first book, Locke and Jean are now two of my favorite characters. Their moral is gray and they wear it well. The plot twists and surprises kept me wanting to read more! I can't wait for the next book to find out what's next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Awesome

    Love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Great book

    A great follow-up to the first book. Readers get to experience another great story in a completely different part of the same world. Funny like the first book and just an all-around great read. Waiting impatiently for the next book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6